Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Sat Apr 19, 2014 8:49 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 9:10 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 8:00 pm
Posts: 42
Location: Sweden
I installed vncserver to be able to run graphical applications on my LS1 and view them on another computer using vnc.
Everything worked well when logged in as root, but when logged in as a less privileged user, I could not start xterm.
It took quite a while until I found the answer (googled a lot), so I thought I post here if someone else gets into the same problem:

The problem is that a file in the /dev directory (/dev/ptmx) has the wrong permissions.

Permission was 777. It should be 600! So all you have to do is:

chmod 600 /dev/ptmx
while logged in as root.

--
Hans-Göran


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2005 5:20 pm 
Offline
Regular Member

Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2005 7:33 am
Posts: 401
Location: United States of America
Thanks :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 10, 2009 1:58 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 10:24 am
Posts: 6
same problem for me on linkstation live 500gb running freelink, but chmod doesnt seem to do the trick, any other idea?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:35 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 10:24 am
Posts: 6
found something:

chmod 666 /dev/ptmx
chown root.tty /dev/ptmx

but now i get:

open ttydev: Permission Denied


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 10, 2009 6:12 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 4:34 pm
Posts: 5330
Location: Cologne, Germany
Here's what it looks like on my box:

crw-rw-rw- 1 root root 5, 2 2009-04-10 19:01 /dev/ptmx

_________________
HG · Debian squeeze
Linux Kernel 2.6/PPC (and more!) for Linkstation/KuroBox/HG/HS/Terastation from http://hvkls.dyndns.org


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 10, 2009 11:05 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 10:24 am
Posts: 6
hmm xterm still not working, but ive installed aterm and that one works now (also didnt work before i did chmod 666 /dev/ptmx
chown root.tty /dev/ptmx)

still thx though


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2009 3:06 pm 
Offline
Betatester
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 4:38 pm
Posts: 941
Location: England
frontalot wrote:
Thanks :)


That name rings a bell :o

Didn't know we had posts this old... 8-)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
cron

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group