Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 4:37 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 8:39 am 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 8:24 am
Posts: 4
Hi all!

I recently got a used LS Pro Duo LS-WH2.0TGL/R1, bought two new identical 2TB Seagate disks and trying to revive NAS.

But no success so far. The problem how i see it is in the failure to format disks (either they are too big or incompatible with NAS).
Following the procedure described here http://buffalo.nas-central.org/index.ph ... om_scratch with partition rebuild option enabled it fails with error 0xFFFFFFFFFE.
This is a timeout error, isn't it?
After that error a disk exam shows the partition table is created, but filesystem (corrupted ext3) is created only on the first primary partition sdX1.

Is there a way to fix this problem?
Can I format and install an OS directly on disks and just plug them onto my NAS?

P.S. I run installer from a VirtualBox windows guest via bridged network adapter.


Last edited by fuzebest on Sat Feb 19, 2011 12:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 9:30 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:39 am
Posts: 2604
You don't use 4k sector disks, do you?
Otherwise you will fail.
I don't think the kernel of the old orion5x boxes
can handle 4k sectors.
Maybe someone else knows for sure?

_________________
Please do not use private mail (PN/M) to ask questions. Use the proper forum instead. (me)

If there is no verified backup of a dataset, the dataset, by definition, is unimportant. (c't 2012)

RAID (no matter which level) never ever substitutes a backup. (me)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 9:39 am 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 8:24 am
Posts: 4
Thanks, kenatonline!
No, these are ST2000DL003 - regular 512b sectors.

Here is the fdisk info:

Code:
Disk /dev/sdb: 2000.4 GB, 2000398934016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 243201 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x00000000


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 2:06 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:24 am
Posts: 2692
Drive specification ST2000DL003
Formatted capacity (4096 bytes/sector)*
2000GB

http://www.seagate.com/docs/pdf/datashe ... _green.pdf


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 20, 2011 9:30 am 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 8:24 am
Posts: 4
Oh.... sorry, i missed this obvious fact.
Looks like the only option is to install the 3rd party firmware manually.

Could you hint me which one supports 4k sectors and this NAS model?
Thanks!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 20, 2011 10:28 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:39 am
Posts: 2604
Debian Squeeze.
According to the release information, the debian installer can
handle orion5x based Linkstations.

_________________
Please do not use private mail (PN/M) to ask questions. Use the proper forum instead. (me)

If there is no verified backup of a dataset, the dataset, by definition, is unimportant. (c't 2012)

RAID (no matter which level) never ever substitutes a backup. (me)


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 11:34 am 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 8:24 am
Posts: 4
Thanks kenatonline! I should thought about Debian in the first place.

But I have faced another disk problem with Debian.
All the steps up to "Partition disks" go fine.
The step partition disks show a funny window "this is an overview...." with only two options - "undo changes" and "finish partitioning"... but I did nothing to partition the disks!
The result is predictable - "finish" leads to an error message - "no root defined", "undo" - just hands... well, it is not an expected, but anyway.

Am I doing something wrong yet again?

Thank you!

Also I have noticed after NAS boots the Squeeze kernel it shuts down disks (or put them into a power saving mode). Is it an expected behaviour?

the dmesg fragment
Code:
[    3.130482] sata_mv sata_mv.0: version 1.28
[    3.141679] sata_mv sata_mv.0: slots 32 ports 2
[    3.167739] scsi0 : sata_mv
[    3.182345] scsi1 : sata_mv
[    3.193761] ata1: SATA max UDMA/133 irq 29
[    3.197992] ata2: SATA max UDMA/133 irq 29
[    3.555904] ata1: SATA link down (SStatus 0 SControl 300)
[    3.905912] ata2: SATA link down (SStatus 0 SControl 300)


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 5:08 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:39 am
Posts: 2604
Sorry, but I have not used the new Debian installer myself, nor do
I own a LS Duo to test it.
Maybe someone else can help?

_________________
Please do not use private mail (PN/M) to ask questions. Use the proper forum instead. (me)

If there is no verified backup of a dataset, the dataset, by definition, is unimportant. (c't 2012)

RAID (no matter which level) never ever substitutes a backup. (me)


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2011 9:49 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2010 7:44 pm
Posts: 25
This sounds exactly like the problem I have been having with the LS Duo and 2x WD20EARS drives.

I will watch with interest as I have been trying to sort this out for months now, and no luck.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2011 2:02 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2011 1:56 pm
Posts: 8
Came across this issue
http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=612168

Looks like the problem I have. Awaiting for the maintainer's patch.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2011 2:16 am 
Offline
Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 2:45 am
Posts: 105
Location: eu/fr/35/rennes
http://packages.debian.org/changelogs/p ... /changelog

seems fixed :

* Add support for Buffalo Linkstation LiveV3 (LS-CHL). Closes: #612168
* Add support for Buffalo Linkstation Mini (LS-WSGL).
* Add support for Buffalo Linkstation Pro/Live (orion5x).


will it also support lspro duo ?


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2011 1:40 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2011 1:56 pm
Posts: 8
Unfortunately no.
I had no luck running these netboot images.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 20, 2011 12:33 am 
Offline
Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 2:45 am
Posts: 105
Location: eu/fr/35/rennes
what about those at bottom of

http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=590105


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 21, 2011 3:02 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2011 1:56 pm
Posts: 8
the prodigy7 kernel works fine, I was able to run the telnet console and login.
But this is it.

The root filesystem archive is missing as described in the forum thread.
viewtopic.php?f=50&t=20893


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 29, 2014 4:09 pm 
Offline
Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 2:45 am
Posts: 105
Location: eu/fr/35/rennes
For who ever cares ....

I confirm debian works fine ... I have updated his config files and shared a booting disk image

I wish I can contact p7 ? is anyone here able to contact him ?

_________________
URL: http://rzr.online.fr/q/lsproduo

Hardware: lsproduo2 aka LS-WTGL/R1 (3) | LS-W1.0TGL/R1-EU | MainBoard: MVYAKE4-BA
|
OS: Debian/GNU/Linux jessie armel | Linux: 4.3.0-orion5x-lsproduo2+

Firmware-Orig: LS-WTGL-V3_FwUp_309

PM me to test : debian-8-armel-lsproduo2-20151104rzr.qcow2 ( http://db.tt/gn5Qffd6# )


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited