Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Sat Nov 22, 2014 4:24 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 117 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2009 9:09 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 1:15 am
Posts: 2606
Hmm... I can't see your image, but I the fact that the processors are identical is good to know.

If the boards are essentially identical, then uboot should be transplantable.

I wonder if the SATA setup is the same as on the LSProV2? (v2 is different from the V1...)


EDIT : ahha ... http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/content/ ... 9/170/1/6/ I see now what you were pointing to...

I can't see anything that looks like a candidate for attaching a JTAG header to. You?

_________________
LS1 (foonas, nfs, Tranmission & p910nd print server, Firefly for my Roku)
LS-HG500 (Lenny)
Various LS-Pros v1,v2 (unbricked w/ serial & jtag)
KuroPro, LS2 & KuroHG (foonas)
Working on davysweather.dyndns.org lately...

=> wooohooo!
wooohooo!
Unknown command 'wooohooo!' - try 'help'


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2009 10:28 pm 
Offline
Regular Member

Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 10:56 am
Posts: 709
nope cant see one


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2009 2:52 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7702
Location: Austria, Vienna
damn work. it occupied me completely .... i still haven`t soldered the jtag port.

_________________
LS1 (2.6 kernel, foonas svn1062, 750 GB, UBoot 1.2) & LS Pro (FreeLink/jtymod/GenLink, changes all the time)
Thx to all donators!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2009 6:25 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7702
Location: Austria, Vienna
so is this LS Pro UBoot build available somewhere? i would like to test it on my boxes now.

_________________
LS1 (2.6 kernel, foonas svn1062, 750 GB, UBoot 1.2) & LS Pro (FreeLink/jtymod/GenLink, changes all the time)
Thx to all donators!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2009 10:42 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 1:15 am
Posts: 2606
bender! good so you see... :)

you mean the netconsole uboot for lspro?

_________________
LS1 (foonas, nfs, Tranmission & p910nd print server, Firefly for my Roku)
LS-HG500 (Lenny)
Various LS-Pros v1,v2 (unbricked w/ serial & jtag)
KuroPro, LS2 & KuroHG (foonas)
Working on davysweather.dyndns.org lately...

=> wooohooo!
wooohooo!
Unknown command 'wooohooo!' - try 'help'


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2010 7:08 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 12:42 am
Posts: 66
Yes. Where is it? u-boot with netconsole? How do I know if it is already running on my LS-Pro v2?

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 08, 2010 3:34 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 2:46 am
Posts: 5
+1 on the new uboot. Can someone also please update the wiki since it references a file that is no longer available. I marked it with "BAD LINK BELOW". The URL is http://buffalo.nas-central.org/dev/Netc ... 318.tar.gz but it is not available, and the /dev directory is non-existent.

davy_gravy has a uboot here but it seems outdated perhaps? File dates show Dec 2008, and talk in this forum seems to indicate something much more recent.

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2011 8:53 pm 
Offline
Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 2:45 am
Posts: 84
Location: eu/fr/35/rennes
I am curious about lsproduo support ? anyone tested ?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2012 2:59 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 12:45 pm
Posts: 10
Location: United Kingdom (Great Britain)
A Long time since anyone did any work on the LS_GL u-boot but I am wanting to get a more recent kernel and thus need to update u-boot.

I have been working on the DENX u-boot version 2012.04 for a few weeks and finally got a clean compile for a proposed LS-GL u-boot. I used the LaCie edminiv2 version as a basic source as it uses and Orion5x SoC though the memory layout and PHY are different. I compiled an a Sheevaplug which uses a Kirkwood. At present, the object code will fit a 256KB Flash though I guess upgrading to 512KB is not impossible - I have some SMT reworking tools.


Since there is not a detailed memory map of the LS-GL/LS-DHGL I am wondering what the requirements are. Flash starts at 0xffffc000 but is only 256KB long. DRAM starts at 0x00000000 and is 128MB long. Any thoughts about memory allocation?

I also need to know the I/O allocations of devices, in particular PCI and I2C (used for RTC and the AVR).

I plan to start debugging using OpenOCD on the sheevaplug and an Amontec JTAG adaptor. I have already tested this device with the target test LS-GL. I have three Version 1's.

Any input would be welcome at this late stage! If I get everything working, I will donate the sources (standard u-boot with two new files so far with a modification to the board config file) and object to this site.

FYI: I use several Sheevaplugs for PBX, Network Management, Surveillance; Three Guruplugs for Network Routing, DHCP/DNS and I have a couple of Cubox'es for later graphic work. I have a LS-CHL and a LS-XHL for a Security server and Media Server respectively. I am intending to update the LS-GL's as these are internal mail servers and thus not heavily performance demanding.

Thanks in advance


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2012 3:18 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 10:48 am
Posts: 26
you my get this informatiom out of the original u-boot sources from buffalo

that you require


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 23, 2014 12:42 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 5:39 pm
Posts: 73
Location: HK
davy_gravy wrote:
...will work on making sure this is all just right for stock firmware, as well ... test this in both boxes for another week or so, code in persistent commands/scripts for:

- setting foonas booting env vars & hdd boot after a tftp-switch done
- restoring default/stock booting env vars (maybe different scripts for V1 and V2) done
- keep-alive when no hdd is found done
- & anything else you all request... (whatever is feasible)

need to document which env vars need to be changed in order for it to work in both V1 and V2 for the stock OS, but this will have to wait until my extra hdd arrives...


would anyone be interesting in adding flash/NAND support for 256MB flash in the KuroPro?

I just tested your Netconsole_enabled_UBoot-beta_4-12-08-1318.tar.gz today on my LS Live v2 with stock OS. I can get into U-Boot upon system reboot at 192.168.11.150, however, after LS Live v2 fully boot into stock OS I found the IP address being changed to 192.168.11.145. I figured out that MAC Address of the Ethernet port actually being changed to a very odd number:

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:00:00:00:51:81
inet addr:192.168.11.145 Bcast:192.168.11.255 Mask:255.255.255.0

I can connect to U-Boot via nc using 192.168.11.145:

>nc -u -p 6666 -v 192.168.11.145 6666
HS-DHGL2B4 [192.168.11.145] 6666 (?) open

but it disconnected as soon as I press the enter key, is this normal?

The most strange behavior is that upon reboot and between it fully boot into the OS, MAC address of the Ethernet port seems able restore to it's original value, I can only use nc to connect U-Boot via 192.168.11.150 during this short period of time. Any idea what's going wrong with the change of MAC address value after using your new U-Boot and how to fix it? Many thanks!

Current U-Boot settings:
Code:
=> version
version

U-Boot 1.1.4 (Apr 12 2008 - 11:43:20) Marvell version: 1.12.1 - TINY + DG's Netconsole
=> printenv
printenv
bootargs=$(bootargs_base) $(bootargs_root)
baudrate=115200
loads_echo=0
ipaddr=192.168.11.150
serverip=192.168.11.149
rootpath=/nfs/arm
cpuName=926
CASset=min
MALLOC_len=4
bootargs_end=:::DB88FXX81:eth0:none
buffalo_ver=BOOTVER=1.09
build_time=11:43:12
initrd=initrd.buffalo
kernel=uImage.buffalo
bootargs_base=netconsole=6666@192.168.11.150/,@192.168.11.149/
bootargs_root=root=/dev/sda2 rw initrd=0x00800040,15M panic=5
autoload=no
stdin=nc
stdout=nc
stderr=nc
netmask=255.255.255.0
ncip=192.168.11.149
nc=setenv stdin nc;setenv stdout nc;setenv stderr nc
ser=setenv stdin serial;setenv stdout serial;setenv stderr serial
envfoohdd=setenv bootcmd 'ide reset; ext2load ide 0:1 0x00100000 /boot/uImage; setenv bootargs netconsole=6666@192.168.11.150/,@192.
168.11.149/ root=/dev/sda1 rw ;bootm 0x00100000'
envfooem=setenv def_tftp 'tftp 0x00800000 uImage_em ; setenv bootargs netconsole=6666@192.168.11.150/,@192.168.11.149/ root=/dev/ram
0 rw ; bootm 0x00800000'
fooboot=ide reset; ext2load ide 0:1 0x00100000 /boot/uImage; setenv bootargs netconsole=6666@192.168.11.150/,@192.168.11.149/ root=/
dev/sda1 rw ;bootm 0x00100000
foobootem=tftp 0x00800000 uImage_em ; setenv bootargs netconsole=6666@192.168.11.150/,@192.168.11.149/ root=/dev/ram0 rw ; bootm 0x0
0800000
keepalive=micon -0x01 -0x35
envreset=protect off fffff000 ffffffff ; erase fffff000 ffffffff ; protect on fffff000 ffffffff
def_tftp=tftp 0x00100000 $(kernel);tftp 0x00800000 $(initrd);setenv bootargs $(bootargs_base) $(bootargs_root) $(buffalo_ver) tftpbo
ot=yes;bootm 0x00100000 0x00800000
ethaddr=00:00:00:00:51:81
ethact=egiga0
enaMonExt=no
enaFlashBuf=yes
enaCpuStream=no
ethprime=egiga0
bootdelay=3
disaMvPnp=no
overEthAddr=no
usb0Mode=host
usb1Mode=host
filesize=4DC3E0
force_tftp=1
bootcmd=tftp 0x00100000 $(kernel);tftp 0x00800000 $(initrd);setenv bootargs $(bootargs_base) $(bootargs_root) $(buffalo_ver) tftpboo
t=yes;bootm 0x00100000 0x00800000

Environment size: 1921/4092 bytes
=>


Regrades
Samson

_________________
LinkStation Live V2, Stock Firmware: 1.20-0.76 Japan w/EXT3 root-fs & JFS Data Partitions


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 21, 2014 9:32 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 2:04 pm
Posts: 13
OK, sounds like you got functioning u0boot for ks-pro/live.
I have a Kurobox/Pro which I put a u-boot on and now I can't get into the console to do anything.
Here's a capture of what happens:

Code:
Orion1   CPU =  Low

=== KURO U-Boot. ===
 ** LOADER **
 ** KUROBOX BOARD: KURO_BOX  LE (CFG_ENV_ADDR=fffff000)


U-Boot 1.1.4 (Jun 20 2008 - 18:17:26) Marvell version: 1.12.1 - TINY + DG's KuroPro Netconse

DRAM CS[0] base 0x00000000   size 128MB
DRAM Total size 128MB
[256kB@fffc0000] Flash: 256 kB
Addresses 20M - 0M are saved for the U-Boot usage.
Mem malloc Initialization (20M - 16M): Done
NAND: 256 MB

Soc: 88F5182 A2
CPU: ARM926 (Rev 0) running @ 500Mhz
Orion 1 streaming disabled
SysClock = 250Mhz , TClock = 166Mhz


USB 0: host mode
USB 1: host mode
PCI 0: PCI Express Root Complex Interface
PCI 1: Conventional PCI, speed = 33000000
Orion1   CPU =  Low


I am hoping to use JTAG to get this back up and useable.

I don'f get any indication about setting up the network:

"Net: egiga0 [PRIME]
Using 88E1111 phy"
so I'm alittle concerned my copy is broken.

Coule someone make a version for a Kurobox/Pro and point me at it, please?

Regards, Herb


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 117 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 4, 5, 6, 7, 8

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group