Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Thu Jul 19, 2018 6:46 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2009 3:30 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2009 1:03 am
Posts: 13
Firstly Hi to all of you on the forum, this is my first post & was hoping that one of you may have seen this issue & know a possible fix. I have just increased the size of my / partition using pmagic live CD with this guide, http://buffalo.nas-central.org/wiki/Res ... ic_live_cd , & my LS2 boots fine, I've also installed various software which works ok but the /dev/hda3 is not mounting at boot & the Disk full LED constantly flashes, I can manually mount /dev/hda3 to /mnt/hda & it works fine, my samba shares are all ok & I can read/write data fine but I obviously would like the /dev/hda3 to mount correctly at every boot, not sure if my fstab needs tweaking (I dont think it does) but any help/advice would be much appreciated. I have also ran the echo -n XXXX > /dev/ttyS0 command to turn the LED off but its not ideal to keep doing it at every boot, thanks in advance.

Paul.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2009 7:13 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 4:34 pm
Posts: 5332
Well, you've got to provide more information, "mount" and /etc/fstab.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2009 12:26 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2009 1:03 am
Posts: 13
Thanks for the response Andre, Here's my fstab which is the same as it was before I ran pmagic,

# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
/dev/hda1 / ext3 defaults,noatime,errors=remount-ro 0 0
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
/dev/hda2 swap swap defaults 0 0
/dev/hda3 /mnt/hda ext3 defaults,noatime 0 0

I have also checked the avr_evtd to see if that was ok & it seems fine, not sure if that could cause this issue but I was just trying to eliminate a few things, any advice appreciated thanks.

Paul.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2009 7:05 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 4:34 pm
Posts: 5332
Anything strange when you run dmesg or mount? Are you sure /etc/fstab has got "\n" linebreaks?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2009 3:14 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2009 1:03 am
Posts: 13
Andre, Thanks again for your response, I've ran dmesg & this is some of the output that might be relevant?

EXT2-fs warning: checktime reached, running e2fsck is recommended
VFS: Mounted root (ext2 filesystem).
kjournald starting. Commit interval 5 seconds
EXT3-fs: mounted filesystem with ordered data mode.
VFS: Mounted root (ext3 filesystem) readonly.
Trying to move old root to /initrd ... failed
Unmounting old root
ext3: No journal on filesystem on ide0(3,3)
EXT2-fs warning: mounting unchecked fs, running e2fsck is recommended

I've also ran mount & I'm not sure if /dev/hda3 should be ext2 I thought it was ext3 as shown in fstab, if so can I just run mkfs to convert it to ext3?

~# mount
/dev/hda1 on / type ext3 (rw,noatime,errors=remount-ro)
proc on /proc type proc (rw)
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,gid=5,mode=620)
usbfs on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (rw)
/dev/hda3 on /mnt/hda type ext2 (rw)

Thanks Andre.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2009 3:36 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2009 1:03 am
Posts: 13
Andre, I fixed it. I just ran /sbin/mkfs -t ext3 /dev/hda3 & rebooted, hda3 mounted & the flashing LED is gone, I must of formatted the partition as ext2 in pmagic DOH! oh well school boy error. Thanks for pointing me in the right direction & One last question if I can, I would like to move to a 2.6 kernel but I'm a bit worried about bricking my LS2 again (must of bricked it about 10 times now) so is there real benefits in upgrading the kernel as what I really want to do is run Apache2 a bittorrent client & maybe a Media server so I think I can achieve most of this without the 2.6 kernel Although I have not managed to get the Bittorrent working as yet, Any thoughts appreciated. Thanks

Paul.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2009 5:19 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 4:34 pm
Posts: 5332
Can't help you much with kernel 2.6 for the MIPS, sorry. I would go with UBoot. Whether you need a new kernel or not --


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2009 6:09 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2009 1:03 am
Posts: 13
Thanks Andre I'll take alook at Uboot, cheers.

Paul


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited