Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Sun Jul 22, 2018 7:31 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 98 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 57 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 12:49 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 1:15 am
Posts: 2606
Will try after work today.

Thanks for the tip.

_________________
LS1 (foonas, nfs, Tranmission & p910nd print server, Firefly for my Roku)
LS-HG500 (Lenny)
Various LS-Pros v1,v2 (unbricked w/ serial & jtag)
KuroPro, LS2 & KuroHG (foonas)
Working on davysweather.dyndns.org lately...

=> wooohooo!
wooohooo!
Unknown command 'wooohooo!' - try 'help'


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 3:48 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 1:15 am
Posts: 2606
OK. the proverbial ray of hope. or maybe even umpunity at an unexpected level. It rebooted fine in 2.6.

mindbender wrote:
the flash partitions were always read only while in 2.6.


I'm going to try to flash this in 2.4, if it will still boot into 2.4.

_________________
LS1 (foonas, nfs, Tranmission & p910nd print server, Firefly for my Roku)
LS-HG500 (Lenny)
Various LS-Pros v1,v2 (unbricked w/ serial & jtag)
KuroPro, LS2 & KuroHG (foonas)
Working on davysweather.dyndns.org lately...

=> wooohooo!
wooohooo!
Unknown command 'wooohooo!' - try 'help'


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 9:27 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 1:15 am
Posts: 2606
The good news!

mindbender wrote:
i am quite sure that your box is still working after a reboot. you will have to turn it off before sending it to kuroguy anyway.

i personally would just reboot the box.....i think it is still working as normal.


score a point for mindbender!


The bad news. ;) I probably will boot into 2.4 (I have a old Western Digital 3GB that I installed FreeLink on) and try it again later this evening. It worked so smoothly on the KuroHG. I am willing to roll the dice again.

Whooda thunk it!?

_________________
LS1 (foonas, nfs, Tranmission & p910nd print server, Firefly for my Roku)
LS-HG500 (Lenny)
Various LS-Pros v1,v2 (unbricked w/ serial & jtag)
KuroPro, LS2 & KuroHG (foonas)
Working on davysweather.dyndns.org lately...

=> wooohooo!
wooohooo!
Unknown command 'wooohooo!' - try 'help'


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 9:43 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7703
Location: Austria, Vienna
you just should boot to 2.4...

you can do this by editing /etc/default/boot_new.sh.
modify the NO_START-variable from 0 to 1....you will use UBoot itself for loading the 2.6 kernel anyway later.

then it should boot to 2.4 after reboot.

i am sure you have write access to the flash then.
if you really flashed your HG before there shouldn`t be any other problems.

_________________
LS1 (2.6 kernel, foonas svn1062, 750 GB, UBoot 1.2) & LS Pro (FreeLink/jtymod/GenLink, changes all the time)
Thx to all donators!


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 10:25 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 1:15 am
Posts: 2606
I forgot the control phase of andre's bootloader - you are right....
mindbender wrote:
you can do this by editing /etc/default/boot_new.sh.
modify the NO_START-variable from 0 to 1



mindbender wrote:
if you really flashed your HG before there shouldn`t be any other problems.


mindbender, a question: did you read kuroguy's post here - "Somebody correct me, but aren't OpenLink and FreeLink just modified soft-firmware..." If the answer to his question is basically yes, then are any of us really flashing when we use the Buffalo Updater to install those two modified packages? Of course, if I understand correctly, the Buff Updtr does infact update the stock firmware that Buffalo provides, right? It isn't just a softfirmware hard drive change, is it?

_________________
LS1 (foonas, nfs, Tranmission & p910nd print server, Firefly for my Roku)
LS-HG500 (Lenny)
Various LS-Pros v1,v2 (unbricked w/ serial & jtag)
KuroPro, LS2 & KuroHG (foonas)
Working on davysweather.dyndns.org lately...

=> wooohooo!
wooohooo!
Unknown command 'wooohooo!' - try 'help'


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 10:59 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7703
Location: Austria, Vienna
kuroguy of course is right with the assumption that OpenLink & freelink are only soft-firmwares....they are the hddrootfs....but both share the same flash firmware (firmimg.bin).

the firmware updater definitely updates the firmimg.bin also. the reason why i am thinking this is because most of the hg-bricks even resulted in flashing the stock firmware. no custom firmware could be blamed for that...it was just a bad flash chip...

if someone was able to flash a hg with any firmware he knew he had a good one.

in my opinion you have a working HG as you already flashed openlink/freelink to it.

_________________
LS1 (2.6 kernel, foonas svn1062, 750 GB, UBoot 1.2) & LS Pro (FreeLink/jtymod/GenLink, changes all the time)
Thx to all donators!


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:07 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 1:15 am
Posts: 2606
OK. I had rebooted into 2.6 once, just to see if everything was "alive". Everything seemed fine.

I flipped the switch on Andre's bootloader and
Code:
# NO_START controls the bootloader (0=activated, 1=deactived) 
NO_START="1"

now after rebooting, I can't access it via network. I believe that it is booting, but I can't find it on my network.

I''ve looked in 192.168.11.x and 10.0.1.x . My network scanner is not seeing it. I've tried turning off every other device and even connecting it to my machine directly.

I don't think it is bricked - but acting very oddly now.

EDIT:

I now have noticed something odd. When it boots (or seems to after pwering up) I hear the normal chatter of the hard drive adn the power light becomes solid, for perhaps 1 minutes. Then the power light starts the slow blink, looking like sleep mode is enabled. Is this normal ,or is it bizarre behavior? After about 10-15 blinks, it becomes solid green again.

???

_________________
LS1 (foonas, nfs, Tranmission & p910nd print server, Firefly for my Roku)
LS-HG500 (Lenny)
Various LS-Pros v1,v2 (unbricked w/ serial & jtag)
KuroPro, LS2 & KuroHG (foonas)
Working on davysweather.dyndns.org lately...

=> wooohooo!
wooohooo!
Unknown command 'wooohooo!' - try 'help'


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2006 5:14 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 1:15 am
Posts: 2606
Alright. I have confirmed that my flash is in fact good. I got it into EM mode, flashed it w/ the original stockware 1.61 that it came w/ and tested it - fine. At that point I knew the flash was fine.

Flashed (well, installed to the hard drive - nothing really gets flashed here) it w/ freelink and stopped at the 2.4 kernel.

Then I followd the plan above to flash w/ uboot and the firmimg.bin that was pointed out above. When I rebooted I just got the slowly blinking power light - no other activity whatsoever. I thought it was dead. Then I read up about the slow blink that U-boot uses, and saw LInuxnotincluded's mention of default ip addresses.

The very second I changed my workstation's IP to 192.168.11.149, it sprang to life and started booting. I do have netcat for OS X installed now, but I am not able to reach it via netcat.

Is the correct/default ip address for the LS-HG 192.168.1.150? port 6666 ?

Code:
nc -u -p 6666 -v 192.168.11.150 6666


On my workstation I enter the above command, then immediately power on teh LS-HG. I wait for output, but none comes...


Code:
nc -u -p 6666 -v 192.168.11.150 6666 
192.168.11.150: inverse host lookup failed: Unknown host
(UNKNOWN) [192.168.11.150] 6666 (?) open
   





and then nothing... Is there a primer out there for communicating w/ my box via uboot? I think I'm close here,but missing something.

It shuts down immediately if the ethernet cable is removed, and will not boot without being connected to an awake workstation at the expected address (is this a bug?)... not able to see it on the network scanner.

I must need to set something so it will boot normally...but first I have to communicate w/ it...


tips?

_________________
LS1 (foonas, nfs, Tranmission & p910nd print server, Firefly for my Roku)
LS-HG500 (Lenny)
Various LS-Pros v1,v2 (unbricked w/ serial & jtag)
KuroPro, LS2 & KuroHG (foonas)
Working on davysweather.dyndns.org lately...

=> wooohooo!
wooohooo!
Unknown command 'wooohooo!' - try 'help'


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2006 7:28 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7703
Location: Austria, Vienna
at first:

1) which UBoot-flash-image did you use?

2) you can control in which mode you want to boot as long as it is blinking slowly.
just push the power button.

1 blink -> hddrootfs, use /boot/vmlinux.UBoot
2 blinks -> kernel from firmimg.bin, hddrootfs
3 blinks -> EM Mode

info is from http://www.linuxnotincluded.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/linkstation/u-bootinstall.html
search for "blinks"

if you flashed the firmimg.bin above then you should
use the 2 blink mode....it should boot to 2.4.33.3 + hddrootfs.

if something does not work you can do the following:
1) try to get into EM Mode (with the 3 blinks..caution, EM Mode means 192.168.11.150)
2) login as root by hitting enter,
3) mounting the hdd by executing "mount_disk",
4) connect via ftp to the LS (user: operator, pass: operator),
5) create the directory /mnt/hda1/boot if it isn`t already existing
6) transfer the vmlinux.UBoot of your choice to /mnt/hda1/boot/
7) reboot the box, choose one blink mode
8) boot to hddrootfs + kernel in /boot

but normaly you do not need this extra hdd-kernel to start as it should fallback to the flash kernel if no kernel is there.

_________________
LS1 (2.6 kernel, foonas svn1062, 750 GB, UBoot 1.2) & LS Pro (FreeLink/jtymod/GenLink, changes all the time)
Thx to all donators!


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2006 7:52 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 1:15 am
Posts: 2606
thanks, mindbender


mindbender wrote:
1) which UBoot-flash-image did you use


uboot for HG

Ok , it is going to take me a bit of time to get thehang of this, but...

Code:
******* Product Information ******* 
----------------------------------
Product Name: HD-HGLAN(IEMITSU)
VER: 2.08
Date: 2006/2/9 12:0:6
----------------------------------
Verifying checksum... OK
Uncompressing kernel...done.
Loading Ramdisk at 0x07C6C000, end 0x07E6E31E ... OK
Booting the kernel


currently

Will read over it and try again

_________________
LS1 (foonas, nfs, Tranmission & p910nd print server, Firefly for my Roku)
LS-HG500 (Lenny)
Various LS-Pros v1,v2 (unbricked w/ serial & jtag)
KuroPro, LS2 & KuroHG (foonas)
Working on davysweather.dyndns.org lately...

=> wooohooo!
wooohooo!
Unknown command 'wooohooo!' - try 'help'


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2006 8:38 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 1:15 am
Posts: 2606
mindbender wrote:
4) connect via ftp to the LS (user: operator, pass: operator),


I'm getting a permission denied problem here . I did use operator operator as mentioned. ??

Code:
operator 
331 Password required for operator.
Password:
230- Linux 2.4.17 ppc unknown
230 User operator logged in.
Remote system type is UNIX.
Using binary mode to transfer files.
ftp> put linux-2.6.17.1-uboot.tar
local: linux-2.6.17.1-uboot.tar remote: linux-2.6.17.1-uboot.tar
500 'EPSV': command not understood.
227 Entering Passive Mode (192,168,11,150,4,8)
553 linux-2.6.17.1-uboot.tar: Permission denied.
ftp>


root has no password in this ftp situation, right?

_________________
LS1 (foonas, nfs, Tranmission & p910nd print server, Firefly for my Roku)
LS-HG500 (Lenny)
Various LS-Pros v1,v2 (unbricked w/ serial & jtag)
KuroPro, LS2 & KuroHG (foonas)
Working on davysweather.dyndns.org lately...

=> wooohooo!
wooohooo!
Unknown command 'wooohooo!' - try 'help'


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2006 10:00 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7703
Location: Austria, Vienna
mindbender wrote:
4) connect via ftp to the LS (user: operator, pass: operator),

davy_gravy wrote:
root has no password in this ftp situation, right?

Image

if you would have tried to telnet into the box you would know why it does not work.

but please do not execute this wirte_ng stuff...

_________________
LS1 (2.6 kernel, foonas svn1062, 750 GB, UBoot 1.2) & LS Pro (FreeLink/jtymod/GenLink, changes all the time)
Thx to all donators!


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2006 10:48 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 1:15 am
Posts: 2606
Well, I tried 5 times to use

user operator
password operator

to ftp into the HG while it was in EM Mode.
I could ftp in and cd to where I wanted to put things, but I couldn't write (no permission to, it seemed). I did not misspell the user & pass. I'm not understanding what's missing for me to be able to ftp in to put files. What have I missed? I'm accustomed to do it frequently on my KuroHG...?

I did read in the reference page by Linuxnotincluded. That was helpful - thanks. I had read the other wiki UBoot page, and somehow had missed some of those details.


Anyway I ended up putting one of the kernel from the uboot downloads in - took the HG & attached it to my old G4 & booted Ubuntu to do it.

Code:
uname -a 
Linux freelinkstation 2.6.17.13-kuroboxHG #16 Sun Sep 10 02:32:18 CEST 2006 ppc GNU/Linux


So, I've got it to boot, which is great. Now I need to figure out how one gets it to boot if it isn't connected to the worksstation w/ the original workstation IP. Is there a way to change this setting?

_________________
LS1 (foonas, nfs, Tranmission & p910nd print server, Firefly for my Roku)
LS-HG500 (Lenny)
Various LS-Pros v1,v2 (unbricked w/ serial & jtag)
KuroPro, LS2 & KuroHG (foonas)
Working on davysweather.dyndns.org lately...

=> wooohooo!
wooohooo!
Unknown command 'wooohooo!' - try 'help'


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2006 10:56 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7703
Location: Austria, Vienna
davy_gravy wrote:
uboot for HG


this link maybe leads to an older version (2.0.0) of UBoot. the first version of linuxnotincluded suffered this bug.

this was fixed with 2.1.0.
just look at the changelog:
http://www.linuxnotincluded.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/linkstation/u-boot.html

i think it should be safe to use the image from kurobox.com....the same image you used on the KuroHG.

_________________
LS1 (2.6 kernel, foonas svn1062, 750 GB, UBoot 1.2) & LS Pro (FreeLink/jtymod/GenLink, changes all the time)
Thx to all donators!


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2006 11:04 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 1:15 am
Posts: 2606
Thanks.

How is 2.1.0 ?

& which do you use?

_________________
LS1 (foonas, nfs, Tranmission & p910nd print server, Firefly for my Roku)
LS-HG500 (Lenny)
Various LS-Pros v1,v2 (unbricked w/ serial & jtag)
KuroPro, LS2 & KuroHG (foonas)
Working on davysweather.dyndns.org lately...

=> wooohooo!
wooohooo!
Unknown command 'wooohooo!' - try 'help'


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 98 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 57 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited