Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Sun May 27, 2018 12:25 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 51 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2009 4:37 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 4:33 pm
Posts: 20
Hi guys
It seems that the tar&gzip of the busybox built in the foonas-em don't like this tarbal, the tar comes out with "tar: short read" after decompressing some files
Are you experienging the same problem?
The problem is that as foonas-em doesn't have any tftp or ftp client, how can I load a fixed tarbal/zip???
Bye


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2009 5:14 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 1:15 am
Posts: 2606
try

Code:
gunzip filename.tar.gz

then

Code:
tar xvf filename.tar


I've recently installed the Lenny tarball in an LS1, so I know it works.

_________________
LS1 (foonas, nfs, Tranmission & p910nd print server, Firefly for my Roku)
LS-HG500 (Lenny)
Various LS-Pros v1,v2 (unbricked w/ serial & jtag)
KuroPro, LS2 & KuroHG (foonas)
Working on davysweather.dyndns.org lately...

=> wooohooo!
wooohooo!
Unknown command 'wooohooo!' - try 'help'


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2009 8:39 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 4:33 pm
Posts: 20
Hi guys
I have Lenny up&running on my KuroHG with Samba, Lighttpd, amule, torrentflux, udev, Webmin etc :D thank to everybody for the precious info!
Just one thing: usbmount seems to don't work properly. Basically it doesn't work at all! The usbmount.conf seems to be ok, vfat is present in the allowed filesystem, but nope!
Has anyone been able to have it working?
Bye


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2009 1:27 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 1:15 am
Posts: 2606
last time I tried it in Etch, it didn't work for me. I never bother to install it anymore. If I need a permanent mount, I just specify it in fstab. I'm thinking that some things will automatically mount if you just have udev installed... ???

_________________
LS1 (foonas, nfs, Tranmission & p910nd print server, Firefly for my Roku)
LS-HG500 (Lenny)
Various LS-Pros v1,v2 (unbricked w/ serial & jtag)
KuroPro, LS2 & KuroHG (foonas)
Working on davysweather.dyndns.org lately...

=> wooohooo!
wooohooo!
Unknown command 'wooohooo!' - try 'help'


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2009 2:41 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 4:33 pm
Posts: 20
davy_gravy wrote:
andre, that helps a lot ...

1. the default 150 ip is a good idea ... I'd missed that ...


2. also, I'll tweak fstab based on what you said regarding checking the rootfs ...

3. I do have fix_ext2_magic included ... sitting at /usr/local/sbin IIRC

4. Does this part below require a 2.6 kernel (like udev?)? In particular the iface eth0:1 inet dhcp?
Code:
# LS standard address
#
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
  address 192.168.11.150
  network 192.168.11.0
  netmask 255.255.11.255
  broadcast 192.168.11.255
  #gateway 0.0.0.0

# default dynamic setup (no adjustment necessary)
#auto eth0:1
iface eth0:1 inet dhcp
  hostname `hostname`

I'm guessing there is something superior about dhcpd vs dhcpclient?

5. I'm also having a look at /dev and nodes ... I want to make sure everything is populated in such a way that it will work w/ the older and newer kernels, and with udev.

If possible I'd like to build the tarballs so that udev is not included... since this is something that needs to be able to run in both 2.4 and 2.6, I want to minimize the footprint, too.


mmmm there is still some problem. With this setup I have two IP bind to the eth0 interface. And the kuro responds to "ping 'hostname'" only on the static IP.... Because of that you can't access to the Kuro via hostname , but only with the IP
Bye


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2009 4:37 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 1:15 am
Posts: 2606
I only use static IP, tbh ... and I only access the boxes by IP addy ... unless it is a Bonjour/Avahi-advertised service (ssh, http, mtdaapd, etc.).

_________________
LS1 (foonas, nfs, Tranmission & p910nd print server, Firefly for my Roku)
LS-HG500 (Lenny)
Various LS-Pros v1,v2 (unbricked w/ serial & jtag)
KuroPro, LS2 & KuroHG (foonas)
Working on davysweather.dyndns.org lately...

=> wooohooo!
wooohooo!
Unknown command 'wooohooo!' - try 'help'


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2009 7:16 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 4:33 pm
Posts: 20
You are right, actually I have a static roule in my DHCP server, so I have both flexibility and "static" IP. And of course, expecially in windows networks, you can use WINS/hostname to access the box....
Nevertheless, I have everything working now, but SAMBA is really slow in the first access/authentication and I can't understand if it could have something to do with the hostname proble... Do you have samba? Is it working nice&fast?
Bye

Found, we completly miss /etc/hosts, a "good" one is:

Quote:
127.0.0.1 localhost
127.0.1.1 hostname

# The following lines are desirable for IPv6 capable hosts
::1 ip6-localhost ip6-loopback
fe00::0 ip6-localnet
ff00::0 ip6-mcastprefix
ff02::1 ip6-allnodes
ff02::2 ip6-allrouters
ff02::3 ip6-allhosts


It also fixes a sudo issue...
Now if anyone knos how to have the box responding to the hostname to the dhcp address.... it would be the best ;)
Bye


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2009 9:20 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 1:15 am
Posts: 2606
I get about 7-8MB/sec max on the LS1, about 12-13MB/sec on the HG & KuroHG... this is on a Gbit network...

(sorry, me saying 12-23MB/sec was _definitely_ a typo...!)

_________________
LS1 (foonas, nfs, Tranmission & p910nd print server, Firefly for my Roku)
LS-HG500 (Lenny)
Various LS-Pros v1,v2 (unbricked w/ serial & jtag)
KuroPro, LS2 & KuroHG (foonas)
Working on davysweather.dyndns.org lately...

=> wooohooo!
wooohooo!
Unknown command 'wooohooo!' - try 'help'


Last edited by davy_gravy on Sun Oct 18, 2009 9:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
typo - meant to say 13MB/sec, not 23MB/sec


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2009 4:27 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 7:08 pm
Posts: 25
Location: United States of America
Hi,


I tried to load the Lenny tar dist onto my LS PPC but it failed to boot. It outputs the following and then stops...


Code:
Boot in 01 seconds ('s' to stop)...
Loading 0:1:boot/uImage

2310126 bytes read

2387 bytes read
## Booting image at 00800000 ...
   Image Name:   Linux-2.6.28.8
   Image Type:   PowerPC Linux Kernel Image (gzip compressed)
   Data Size:    2310062 Bytes =  2.2 MB
   Load Address: 00000000
   Entry Point:  00000000
   Verifying Checksum ... OK
   Uncompressing Kernel Image ... OK
   Booting using flat device tree at 0x7f0000



At that point it does not seem to do much else and the front panel button will not power the unit down (have to pull the plug).


I had loaded uboot a couple of days prior...


Code:
  ###################################################
  #                                                 #
  #        LS1 - LSHG - Kurobox - KuroHG            #
  #  Universal 2.4.33.3-Kernel compiled for UBoot   #
  #                                                 #
  #   www.linkstationwiki.net - www.kurobox.com     #
  #                                                 #
  ###################################################

  You are in EM-Mode!

  There is no root-password. Just enter "root".

  FTP-Access
  User: operator
  Pass: operator

  fdisk is included. use it for custom partition sizes.

  Execute "mount_disk" to mount the system + data partitions
  to /mnt/hdaX. Both partitions can be accessed via FTP then.

  Good Luck!

HD-HGLAN-EM login: root


BusyBox v0.60.5 (2003.07.30-12:03+0000) Built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.



Can someone confirm for me that this particular version of uboot is sufficient to support the Lenny distribution? I thought it was based on all of the articles I read but perhaps I got it wrong. If it is not the correct one then can someone please let me know if a compatible version of uboot is available.

If uboot is not the issue then what else should I be checking? I had previously repartitioned the HDD using knoppix so I think the partitions should be ok. If I load the latest version of freelink then everything works fine but I would prefer to upgrade if possible.


Ken.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 21, 2009 9:58 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 7:08 pm
Posts: 25
Location: United States of America
All,


I finally solved my problem while trying to load the lenny distribution although I am not sure of the root cause. It seems that although uboot 1.2.0 with the firming.bin that includes 2.4 kernel was able to mount /dev/hda1 on my LS1 PPC without any problem, the 2.6 kernel could not mount the same partition. It was getting an error "invalid option" or "invalid argument". I forget which it was since it was a while ago and I did not think to note it down.

While trying to solve the issue I had decided to install foonas-em thinking that perhaps the issue was with my combination of uboot 1.2.0 / firming.bin. Since foonas-em has the 2.6 kernel, it enabled me to see that there was a problem with the partition. Luckily the issue only occurred with /dev/hda1 and not with /dev/hda3 so I did not have to disturb my data. I simply used mke2fs to recreate the file system and the problem was solved. So I am wondering if anybody has any idea why? The partitions were originally formatted using a knoppix CD. I don't think it can be the magic block issue since I was previously running freelink V1.11.

Anyway, it was a good learning experience and I now have uboot 1.2.0 / foonas-em installed which is really nice! I am currently in the process configuring things, installing software etc.


Ken.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 28, 2010 10:21 am 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 10:07 am
Posts: 2
Location: Spain
Hi there,
I'm a happy user of a Kurobox HG since 4 years and I want to thank your Kuro research and specially to davy_gravy, coz I've upgraded my Uboot to foonas-em and installed Lenny following ur instructions and tarballs.

I've upgraded it coz I needed a media server for my PS3 and now I have my Kuro working with uShare and MediaTomb successfully. It would be great if the Kuro transcode mkv files but I think it has no CPU enough.

BTW, thank you all for keeping this forum alive.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2010 7:16 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 7:51 pm
Posts: 30
It is so nice :up:


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2010 3:32 am 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 3:26 am
Posts: 1
I am trying to get Lenny onto my HG which I am reviving after several years. I have flashed to uboot 1.2 and that is working fine. I can boot the 2.6 kernel but seem to be having a problem with avr-daemon bassed on where syslog ends

Apr 13 12:48:32 kurobox kernel: EXT3 FS on sda3, internal journal
Apr 13 12:48:32 kurobox kernel: EXT3-fs: mounted filesystem with ordered data mode.
Apr 13 12:48:32 kurobox avr-daemon[1187]: Linkstation/Kuro AVR daemon Version 1.7.2
Apr 13 12:48:34 kurobox avr-daemon[1192]: Linkstation/Kuro AVR daemon Version 1.7.2
Apr 13 12:48:37 kurobox avr-daemon[1200]: Linkstation/Kuro AVR daemon Version 1.7.2
Apr 13 12:48:37 kurobox linkstation[1201]: Started daemon avr_evtd
Apr 13 12:48:38 kurobox /usr/sbin/cron[1228]: (CRON) INFO (pidfile fd = 3)
Apr 13 12:48:38 kurobox /usr/sbin/cron[1229]: (CRON) STARTUP (fork ok)
Apr 13 12:48:38 kurobox /usr/sbin/cron[1229]: (CRON) INFO (Running @reboot jobs)
Apr 13 12:48:39 kurobox avr-daemon[1274]: [1] Error with configuration file

Fixed it - it was a problem with /mnt

this seems odd since I did nothing to the configuration files. This is the last log entry and I can't ssh into the machine - I have to go back to emboot. Any ideas???


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2010 8:56 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 9:58 am
Posts: 22
After update, rxvt doesn't work anymore.
I need rxvt to launch screen for unicode support.

LS@Linkstation:~$rxvt -e screen
urxvt: can't open display :0, aborting.

My Linkstation HG Version
Linux Linkstation 2.6.30.5 #1 Wed Aug 19 06:29:20 CDT 2009 ppc GNU/Linux

Use blow 2 file.
http://downloads.buffalo.nas-central.or ... 1.0.tar.gz
and apply lsppc-linux-2.6.30.5v1.tar.gz

How to solve this problem?


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2010 5:11 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 4:34 pm
Posts: 5332
Looks like your X server isn't running, at least not on :0


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 51 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited