Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Fri Jan 19, 2018 8:33 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2015 9:51 am 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 9:01 am
Posts: 2
Hi, I'm new to this forum. I've had a look around and there is loads of great information here.

I have a Buffalo LinkStation Pro 2TB: LS-V2.0-EU sadly its now showing a E30 error. Reading up I believe I need to replace the disk. It is a single disk NAS so I think I will need to buy a new disk and follow some instructions to install and get the partitions and firmware on to it. (I found a link to this in another post http://pastebin.com/5sY24CTQ). I'm not all that technical so this might be a bit of a challenge.

I don't need to recover the data as I backed up the NAS to an external USB drive (thank goodness)!

My question is what would be the best disk drive to buy? Would a solid state drive reduce the change of getting another E30 error in the future?

I was considering just buying a new Buffalo NAS but it looks like you can no longer back up the new ones to an external USB drive.

I would appreciate your advice.
Thank you


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2015 6:41 pm 
Online
Moderator

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:24 am
Posts: 2698
Quote:
My question is what would be the best disk drive to buy? Would a solid state drive reduce the change of getting another E30 error in the future?

No

Use a NAS- Drive

WD Red ...


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Oct 07, 2015 9:34 am 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 9:01 am
Posts: 2
Thanks oxygen8, I appreciate the advice.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2016 8:54 pm 
Offline
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 9:59 am
Posts: 43
Location: Southampton, UK
oxygen8 wrote:
Quote:
My question is what would be the best disk drive to buy? Would a solid state drive reduce the change of getting another E30 error in the future?

No

Use a NAS- Drive

WD Red ...

I upgraded to a WD red 3TB after getting bad sectors and it has been working great for ages. I was able to clone the old disk onto it though. There are guides on the wiki on how to install new hard drives that you can follow.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited