Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Thu Aug 17, 2017 12:39 pm

All times are UTC+01:00

Post subject: CS-WV to LS-WVL
PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2017 11:56 am 
Total Newbie

Hi there,

I've received an old Cloudstation CS-WV unit. I received it without any drives, so had plenty of practice with tftpboot and flashing the firmware. It's all up and running but I'm interested in seeing what features the LS-WVL has over the CS-WV. It's not being used for anything so no concerns with continually wiping it in order to try different things.

I've seen various comments that it's possible to convert the Cloudstation to a Linkstation but nothing detailing how. As both machines are so old and no longer sold, I just wondered if anyone can post how?

Last night I enabled ssh and used the dumpnf command to see what that was. It gave a PID of 0x0000300A as expected. I used setnf to change that to 0x00003008 (LS-WVL) along with a few things such as series and model name. I put a blank HDD in and when I put it in EM, NasNavigator displayed it, but with a name of "None". I tried to flash LS-WVL firmware, which it took but I couldn't get it to boot once it had completed. I switched the HDD back to one with CS-WV firmware and it booted straight into the Cloudstation firmware. I used setnf to restore everything to how it was.
Have I gone about it the wrong way? Or made a silly mistake somewhere?

Post subject: Re: CS-WV to LS-WVL
PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2017 1:30 pm 

try this way

Code:
dumpnf > /tmp/nas_feature

sed -i 's/PID=0x0000300A/PID=0x00003008/g' /tmp/nas_feature

sed -i 's/NAS_FEATURE_VERSION=0.0.0/NAS_FEATURE_VERSION=3.0.0/g' /tmp/nas_feature

setnf < /tmp/nas_feature

Post subject: Re: CS-WV to LS-WVL
PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2017 6:49 pm 
Total Newbie

That did it! I wasn't changing NAS_FEATURE_VERSION. All loaded without a problem.