Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Thu Nov 23, 2017 10:18 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2017 2:43 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2017 11:56 am
Posts: 28
Thank you

Seems all the good documentation is in German :)
Too bad it's needed to peel the rubber bands on the bottom of the unit. Do you know any replacements for them?

If so I will try to dissasemble it, I am still waiting for Buffalo's answer to see if they can repair it as well.

Thanks for all the help you provided!!!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2017 2:55 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:24 am
Posts: 2691
Quote:
Do you know any replacements for them?

No.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2017 11:48 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2017 11:56 am
Posts: 28
Thanks for all your help! :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Feb 06, 2017 11:18 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2017 11:56 am
Posts: 28
Hello Oxygen8

I wanna thank you for your super amazing help
I opened the NAS today.

I checked the RJ45 port, including all the connectors and everything seemed right to me so I cleaned it

For some reason now the network interface boots up as soon as I turn it on and negotiates at 1Gbps after cleaning it.
I suppose it could have been dust, as dust drives electricity so I guess I guess it could have been a short?

Anyways, I will keep testing the NAS and see what happens as I didn't use it much yet

Thanks!


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2017 12:55 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:24 am
Posts: 2691
try contact spray


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2017 1:31 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2017 11:56 am
Posts: 28
Oki

I will try some if it fails again. I tried to clean it pretty well. Seems the NAS is alive for now :) It works pretty fast now. Read and write speeds are the same as others users.

Thanks for your help!


Last edited by albertocastillo2001 on Tue Feb 07, 2017 4:45 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2017 4:41 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2017 11:56 am
Posts: 28
I noticed something

I seem to not be able to update the DTCP-IP firmware for Media Server. It's not able to contact the server. Maybe Buffalo took it out?

Code:
While firmware updating, Media Server update can not be updated completely. Please click 'Update DTCP-IP' button after establishing Internet connection.


However, I think it got enabled as on System Information it now displays this:
Code:
Firmware version:
1.71
(DTCP-IP:1.65-20130731)


And one last question. When my NAS is off, the ethernet port light on my router is still on. Does it happen to yours as well? It didn't do this before I cleaned it. So seems good news!

Thanks


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 26, 2017 10:23 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2017 11:56 am
Posts: 28
Today it started doing the same thing, it negotiates at 10mbps and is extremely slow.
I tried opening it but I didn't see it too dirty, I can try contact spray and see if that helps but I guess the problem is somewhere else..

It's not a software issue but a hardware issue somewhere. I looked at the board and everything seems ok, capacitors don't seem to be blown.
I will order a HN1874CG voltage regulator and see if that helps, as they are very cheap, but I will need to find someone who can solder it

Anyways, has anyone had this issue? the device won't negotiate at full speed and the function button will have an abnormal behavior when pressed.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2017 1:49 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2017 11:56 am
Posts: 28
I cleaned it last week with contact spray. So far it has been working fine for the whole week.

Thanks


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 23, 2017 9:32 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2017 11:56 am
Posts: 28
Seems it fails again. It does this once in a while. Cleaning it or disconnecting it for sometime seems to solve the issue. But it's not a solution after all.

I wonder is there any way I could get another board? otherwise I might try to check the capacitors there


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited