Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Sat Nov 18, 2017 3:56 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jan 21, 2016 1:40 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2016 1:06 pm
Posts: 13
Buffalo LinkStation LS-WX2.0TL/R1-EU

I have above given model of LS, on the box states 2TB, so it is supposed to be the model that can support upto 2TB storage.
I currently have one 160GB and one 250GB hard disk installed and it is working fine (Thanks a lot to user oxygen8 on this forum).

I was thinking about replacing it with a larger hard disk. my questions therefore are:
1- What if I install 1 HD of 2TB capacity?
usually I believe it should work fine when it the only drive. but I guess it is better to ask.

2- Does that means it will only support the storage of 2TB?
What if I install 2TB on one side and keep one of the currently in use drives?

3- What if I insert a drive that is let's 3TB storage, what can possibly happen?


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 21, 2016 6:15 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:24 am
Posts: 2691
LS-WXL with FW greater then 1.40 can use every SATA- drive.
at this moment max 8TB per drive

You can use 2 drives with different size as normal mode (JBOD)
Every drive will use a share.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 21, 2016 6:52 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2016 1:06 pm
Posts: 13
OK if I am understanding it right, I can install
8TB + 250GB
Or
8TB + 8TB
on the Buffalo LinkStation 2TB having firmware 1.71

Image

In any case I don't need RAID, I want simple JBOD.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 21, 2016 6:58 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2016 1:06 pm
Posts: 13
But just in case I want to replace both disks with new disks, let's say

4TB + 4TB
or say
4TB + 3TB

wouldn't I have to install the firmware again?
which means perhaps at the moment when I have not yet installed any Firmware, it will be on some kind of default which is supposed to support upto 2TB only? just asking!
or even if I have removed the disks from it, it will still have something from last installed firmware? which right now is 1.71!


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 21, 2016 7:06 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:24 am
Posts: 2691
replace one drive and format the new. now you have the firmware on the new drive.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 4:39 am 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 3:23 pm
Posts: 2
@oxygen8, I have a LS-WX1.0 and LS-WX2.0 which were gathering dust after a drive on each had failed and the stock firmware (stuck at 1.54) would not update, nor am I able to get a new SATA drive (500GB or 1TB respectively) to install.

I would like to upgrade these to 2x2TB each for a lab we are teaching on NAS devices. Each of these boots on the one good drive and is accessible, BUT I cannot "format" any drive put into the drive bay 2 of either NAS. The LED comes on RED for drive 2 and stays on. When I try using the firmware updater, I get a pop-up message "Partition not found. Aborting firmware update."

? What can I do to get the 2nd drive formatted correctly where the first drive is working?

[update 01-22 2322ET] using the process described here, I was able to get a 2nd drive formatted IF I had a drive that was still OK and could boot, and if the 2nd drive was the same size.

So the following question still remains:
? How can I replace and put 2 x 2TB drives in each of these NAS LinkStations ?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 10:31 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:24 am
Posts: 2691
If you use 2 drives with different size, you can only do this with "Normal Mode" (Jbod)

Before you remove a demaged drive you have to use "Remove Disk" on the Webinterface.
Delete the Shared Folders and the Array first.

Delete all Partition on the new drive.
The old and the new drive have to use both GPT or both MBR

So you can not put a new 3TB Drive with GPT to an old 500GB drive with MBR.
You have to flash the Firmware again with both drives with the debug option "rebuild partition table"


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 10:32 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:24 am
Posts: 2691
Quote:
So the following question still remains:
? How can I replace and put 2 x 2TB drives in each of these NAS LinkStations


Delete all Partition on this drives.
Set GPT with Windows
Start with E06
TFTP
LSUpdater


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2016 6:58 pm 
Offline
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 5:19 pm
Posts: 7
Hi,
I know I might be labouring the point BUT the LS-WXL has my wife's photos on it - The LS-WXL is reporting errors on drive 1, I have downed the NAS drive and taken the HDD out. There are a pair of Western Digital 2.0TB WD20EARX inside. So far I have not found a local supplier with this model in stock. Am I correct in thinking that any HDD from Buffalo's 'Supported Hard Drive List for LS‐WXL' list would work with the other WD20EARX without errors?
Thanks
Doc


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2016 7:00 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:24 am
Posts: 2691
there is no SATA drive available that is not supportet by LS-WXL
firmware newer then 1.40!!!


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2016 7:04 pm 
Offline
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 5:19 pm
Posts: 7
Thanks very much - The Firmware is 1.71.

Doc


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited