Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Fri Feb 23, 2018 3:37 pm

All times are UTC+01:00

Post subject: LS-CH1.0TL-US Crahsed
PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 10:58 pm 
Total Newbie

Hello all. Sorry if there is a thread about this elsewhere but I'm having issues that are making me crazy since I am yet another one that didn't have a backup. It's a long story and I'm going to try to remember everything i did so sit down lol.

I have a 1TB LS-CH1.0TL-US, not sure if its v1 or v2 or the firmware. I got 3 power spikes/outages in a row. Although I was plugged into an APC surge protector which was plugged into an in wall surge protector I still got blasted.

When I went to access my NAS it could not be found by PC (Win7) and had the E06 error.

I then hooked the NAS enclosure via network cable directly into my PC and tried to EM start and load firmware. I've pretty much tried every idea on this site.

Next I purchased Windows UFS Explorer Standard V4. When running it on the drive it stopped at about 6.3% and after letting it sit for about 48 hours and it counting up to an estimated time of 250hrs+ and still wasn't moving past 6.3% I decided to stop it before it damaged the HDD any further.

When nothing I did worked I opened the NAS removed the HDD and hooked it up internally. I purchased 2 new HDDs, on one I installed Ubuntu 11.10 which said it had 1256 bad sectors and needed to be backed up cause failure was immanent. I ran gnu ddrescue to create an image which I saved 2nd new HDD I saved the image on an XFS partition.

I only made an image of the data partition which in Ubuntu is sdb6.

When I tried to mount and read the image I had issues. Possibly because I've never used Linux before and have no idea what I'm doing. Someone from the Ubuntu forum has been helping me with the code.