Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Sat May 26, 2018 3:29 am

All times are UTC+01:00

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2011 2:05 pm 
Total Newbie

Hi,

I'm getting really upset with the problem I've tried figure out for 3-4 days now. The problem is that I'm totally unable to connect my LS-CHLv1 both with Ubuntu Linux & Windows 7. The linkstation is not recognized on my local network, no matter whether it is connected to router (Telewell TW-EA510v4) or straight to computer with ethernet cable. I've tried connection with 3 different computers; 2 laptops (Ubuntu 10.04 + Win7) and my desktop PC (Ubuntu 11.04). I've used also 2 ethernet cables.

On Ubuntu, I've used nmap -sP 192.168.0.0/24 command in terminal to ping my network devices. Every other device is recognized but not the Linkstation. While taking a look into Linkstation's ethernet connector, I can see green light blinking as it should do. However, I can't see any activity on the other side of the cable; no packages received on computer, and connection light at the router's side stays idle. SSH connection is not possible either (~Ubuntu/Win7 + Putty).

Because of this problem, I'm unable to have any connection to my Linkstation. As a possible solution, I've looked for making serial port connection to get inside the box and see what is the real problem there. Another solution is to buy a new Linkstation but I really don't like to do that due to high prices (~114€).

This linkstation unit has not been used for a half year and I've handled it with care as well. The last time I used this Linkstation (early 2011), I didn't have any problems with connections.

I checked the microchip (MVKKT-BB). It seems not to be damaged and capacitors are OK, too. No a sign of scorches either. The linkstation runs fine and blue light blinks normally while booting up. The only, and only problem is that I can't connect the Linkstation through network in any case.