Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Sat Nov 18, 2017 10:28 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2016 7:45 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 5:33 pm
Posts: 4
Navigator 2 works perfectly on my PC W10 whereas on my laptop on W7 LS-CHL-V2065 appears in the panel but, when I click the icon, a new window opens with all the shares under the heading Internet\192.168.1.17. The IP is the fixed address of my Linkstation.

Explorer\Internet shows my Laptop and the modem but no Linkstation. Consequently Macrium is unable to find \\LS-CHL-V2065 and I am unable to save a disk image. The usually mentioned services are started, Workstation, NET-BIOS..., Service, Computer Browser, DHCP Client and COM+ Event...

I have obviously missed something and would appreciate some help.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2016 12:09 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:24 am
Posts: 2691
do not use fixed ip adresses
with dhcp and a short name like chl you will have success


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2016 5:25 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 5:33 pm
Posts: 4
Thanks for your suggestions. I changed the name to CHL, disabled the fixed address from my modem and rebooted it. Navigator2 can now no longer find the icon for CHL let alone the shares. I have reinstalled the fixed address and the icon appears. I assume something in Windows services needs a tweak. What do you say?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2016 7:48 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:24 am
Posts: 2691
Quote:
disabled the fixed address from my modem


what is the name of your router?
fritzbox and speedport are able to set dhcp-adresses#
your linkstation have to use dhcp


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2016 8:05 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 5:33 pm
Posts: 4
My router is Tp-Link Archer D9. My PC connected to this same router has no trouble finding the Linkstation.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2016 5:50 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 5:33 pm
Posts: 4
"Network" now shows my Linkstation since following this advice:
"Control Panel - Administrative Tools - Local Security Policy - Local Policies - Security Options
Network security: LAN Manager authentication level
Set to Send LM & NTLM responses only
Set the Minimum session security for NTLM SSP
Disable Require 128-bit encryption"

The problem was solved when I implemented that disable, and I can now use Macrium.

The icon in Navigator2 still opens up a new window but that is not a real problem.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited