Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 9:44 pm

All times are UTC+01:00

PostPosted: Wed Jan 22, 2014 10:21 pm 
Total Newbie

Hi all
I am a complete novice with buffalo gear but my Ls chlv2 is about to go out of the window.

Bit of background. I was given the unit by a mate who had it on his work network for a short while but had fired his it guy and diddnt know the IP or password. Tried to find it but no luck so before I found out about the TFTP boot loader I had whipped out the hdd chucked it into my XP machine and cleaned and reformatted it as NFST. I then gave up and called tech support who told me about the boot loader and what to do.

I can now boot load it to the point of doing the firmware update. I have modified the lsupdater to debug and tried to remove partition table and unclicked everything else. It will start to format and approx half way through the power led goes red and the function button goes solid blue. The format bar on the PC continues to fill to the end and I get format failed update cancelled.

I have tested the drive and it has no bad sectors and have tried no format and fat 32 using device manager and the supplied formatter from buffalo all with the same result.

All updates and software are from buffalo tech support and up to date and correct for my unit. I have tried a direct link and going through a router with dhcp on. Firewall is off antivirus is off.

I am stuck

Any advice would be gratefully received.

PostPosted: Thu Jan 23, 2014 10:01 am 

No partitions on the HD seems to be a critical MUST for TFTP.
Then do a TFTP and LS update with formatting and partitioning.
This will fail and you should wait a fairly long moment and then
repeat the LS update, but WITHOUT partitioning and formatting.
At least this helped some guys in this forum to solve the problem.

If there is no verified backup of a dataset, the dataset, by definition, is unimportant. (c't 2012)