Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Tue Oct 24, 2017 1:24 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 79 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Feb 16, 2014 11:51 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2014 11:26 am
Posts: 13
Great Work! Thanks to fjen!
Wheezy installed and work very well. :up:


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 16, 2014 12:31 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 5:24 pm
Posts: 20
Hi, i think that removing the bad lsmonitor removed also yours :(
Have you got the sources(or another packet that i can simply extract :mrgreen: )?
Maybe you remember what the gpio numbers are...

if i get from your archive the files i deleted, should work again?

Thanks very much for the help! :biglol:


Last edited by aleale97 on Sun Feb 16, 2014 12:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 16, 2014 12:57 pm 
Offline
Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2012 2:12 pm
Posts: 116
aleale97 wrote:
Have you got the sources(or another packet that i can simply extract :mrgreen: )?
Maybe you remember what the gpio numbers are...

put this in /etc/init.d/lsmonitor (with execute permission):
http://neboola.de/fjen/lschlv2/lsmonito ... _kernel3.8
and remove /etc/default/lsmonitor
There are no gpio numbers anymore, it's all controlled via sysfs.

_________________
## Linkstation LS-CHLv2 and LS-XHL stuff:
Debian 7 Wheezy - Rootfs
Kernel 3.13


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 16, 2014 1:01 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 5:24 pm
Posts: 20
Just that? Do i have to update rc.local?

I'll build a statue for you :lol:


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 16, 2014 1:10 pm 
Offline
Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2012 2:12 pm
Posts: 116
aleale97 wrote:
Just that? Do i have to update rc.local?

I'll build a statue for you :lol:

You could take a look in the image archive, the rc.local there does nothing.
An "update-rc.d -f lsmonitor defaults" would also be good, as i do not know what your blstools installation looked like.

_________________
## Linkstation LS-CHLv2 and LS-XHL stuff:
Debian 7 Wheezy - Rootfs
Kernel 3.13


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 16, 2014 1:15 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 5:24 pm
Posts: 20
I've done it becouse in the installation of bls there was update-rc.d remove lsmonitor... Anyway when i try to start with "/etc/init.d/lsmonitor start" it gives me:
/etc/init.d/lsmonitor: 73: .: Can't open /etc/default/lsmonitor
becouse i deleted it...


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 16, 2014 1:24 pm 
Offline
Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2012 2:12 pm
Posts: 116
sorry, the file must be there but can be empty. "touch /etc/default/lsmonitor" should do it.

_________________
## Linkstation LS-CHLv2 and LS-XHL stuff:
Debian 7 Wheezy - Rootfs
Kernel 3.13


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 16, 2014 1:49 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 5:24 pm
Posts: 20
Thank you, it works now :)
Let's make a monument to this person :D


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2014 10:56 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 10:39 am
Posts: 56
Hello,

and first of all thanks for your all hard work.
I am very tempted to give this ago, I have a new HDD, so I can just take existing out, keep as backup and try this on the new HDD.
first question, if I wanted to incorporate your latest "Kernel 3.13.7", can I do it while portioning and copying files to HDD or it has to be done later?
Second question, Can I install Webmin on this?
and lastly how do I found out what packages are already installed? i.e is transmission already installed or not?

Thanks


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2014 12:23 pm 
Offline
Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2012 2:12 pm
Posts: 116
It is possible to install the new kernel by copying files, but i would recommend to go the clean way through dpkg. It takes only 3 commands to upgrade it, which are descripted in the kernel thread.
Webmin installation is possible. I do not recommend it. The lschlv2 only has 64 MB of ram and i don't know about webmin's ressource usage. But you can try.
I forgot to provide a package list for the latest wheezy image. Expect a minimal installation. You can have a look at the info file for my changes to the debootstrap. The package list of my 2012 wheezy image should be fairly close except for the versions.

_________________
## Linkstation LS-CHLv2 and LS-XHL stuff:
Debian 7 Wheezy - Rootfs
Kernel 3.13


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2014 11:41 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 10:39 am
Posts: 56
Thank you, thank you, thank you :)

I now have this up and running and with help of "aleale97" I have installed Samba, minidlna and transmission, although not configured them yet, not had time to read and do it properly

Meanwhile I have a quick question, Personally because of my lack of experience in linux, I don't feel safe to have my data on same partition as the system.
Following the guide, I have two partitions, one 128MB and second one rest of the Disk
Can I create a new partition to put data on it, if so what ext should I use to format it? and how big the "Root" partition needs to be?

Thanks


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2014 12:39 pm 
Offline
Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2012 2:12 pm
Posts: 116
foxy6800 wrote:
Following the guide, I have two partitions, one 128MB and second one rest of the Disk
Can I create a new partition to put data on it, if so what ext should I use to format it? and how big the "Root" partition needs to be?

It has no negative effects having your data on the root partition. If you want to create a dedicated one and your second partition takes up the complete drive, you would need to resize it at a pc first. Ext4 should be fine.

_________________
## Linkstation LS-CHLv2 and LS-XHL stuff:
Debian 7 Wheezy - Rootfs
Kernel 3.13


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2014 4:41 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 11:44 pm
Posts: 27
hello,
how can i easily resize my partitions..

df -h says
rootfs 5,8G 5,4G 137M 98% /
/dev/root 5,8G 5,4G 137M 98% /

rootfs and /dev/root is almost full..

thx


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2014 1:51 pm 
Offline
Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2012 2:12 pm
Posts: 116
mentex wrote:
how can i easily resize my partitions..

connect your drive to a pc and resize with gparted or similiar tools.

_________________
## Linkstation LS-CHLv2 and LS-XHL stuff:
Debian 7 Wheezy - Rootfs
Kernel 3.13


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2014 2:57 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 5:25 am
Posts: 4
Hi fjen
Great job, thanks for all your hard work! I have managed to get Wheezy on to my LS-XHL without much trouble, but I'm having a little trouble with ssh - I can connect ok, enter the username as 'root', however it won't accept 'toor' as the password - I just get access denied.
Would that be the permissions on the ssh config file?

Thanks
Bill
EDIT - I started the whole procedure again from scratch, and it works fine now...just one of those things I guess! :roll: :roll:


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 79 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited