Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Tue Aug 22, 2017 4:21 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 79 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2012 2:14 am 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2012 9:45 am
Posts: 4
Yep no worries thank you!

I've ran an rsync to backup /* to a folder on the hdd

Code:
rsync -aXv /* /mnt/disk1/share/FILESYSTEM_BK --exclude=/mnt/disk1/*


Hopefully it grabs everything I will also be doing another backup to PC using ftp later on.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2012 5:35 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 11:44 pm
Posts: 27
Could someone tell me how to shutdown the system?

init 0 => does a reboot
shutdown -h now => also reboots the linkstation

if I switch the switch to position "off" nothing happens..


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 04, 2012 12:20 am 
Offline
Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2012 2:12 pm
Posts: 116
yes, shutdown does not work. you can leave the power switch in the off state if you want to keep the device from rebooting.
normally the linkstation is active all the time, so this shouldn't be much of a problem.

power off with switch does not work, because the lsmonitor script does not poll the switch state yet.

_________________
## Linkstation LS-CHLv2 and LS-XHL stuff:
Debian 7 Wheezy - Rootfs
Kernel 3.13


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 04, 2012 10:33 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 11:44 pm
Posts: 27
ok.. thank you.. of course you are right that the nas should run all the time..

just another question..

I try to set up a PPTP VPN and connect with my iphone..

It doesn´t work and I think mppe kernel modules are needed.. how can I install them?


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 04, 2012 11:43 am 
Offline
Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2012 2:12 pm
Posts: 116
mentex wrote:
It doesn´t work and I think mppe kernel modules are needed.. how can I install them?

get 3.6.9-fjen-2 which has support for PPTP.

_________________
## Linkstation LS-CHLv2 and LS-XHL stuff:
Debian 7 Wheezy - Rootfs
Kernel 3.13


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 04, 2012 8:03 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 11:44 pm
Posts: 27
i receive the following error:

Error: could not insert module ppp_mppe.ko: Unknown symbol in module

when I try to "insmod" the kernel module..


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 05, 2012 2:15 am 
Offline
Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2012 2:12 pm
Posts: 116
mentex wrote:
i receive the following error:

Error: could not insert module ppp_mppe.ko: Unknown symbol in module

when I try to "insmod" the kernel module..

why do you insmod that module? install latest kernel+modules and do: modprobe ppp_mppe
that should be done automagically when a programm requests that feature, so no need to do it yourself.

_________________
## Linkstation LS-CHLv2 and LS-XHL stuff:
Debian 7 Wheezy - Rootfs
Kernel 3.13


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 05, 2012 10:25 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 11:44 pm
Posts: 27
fjen wrote:
mentex wrote:
i receive the following error:

Error: could not insert module ppp_mppe.ko: Unknown symbol in module

when I try to "insmod" the kernel module..

why do you insmod that module? install latest kernel+modules and do: modprobe ppp_mppe
that should be done automagically when a programm requests that feature, so no need to do it yourself.



worked!!!! thx


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 25, 2012 12:59 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2012 10:52 pm
Posts: 2
I managed to put a new disk in buffalo and tftp to stock. Then I changed the files to wheezy. Now the light is solid blue, and i can ping it. Problem is ssh-ing to it:
Code:
kaarel@JHL90:~$ ssh root@192.168.4.199
ssh: connect to host 192.168.4.199 port 22: Connection refused

What could be the problem. I cleaned my ubuntu .ssh folder too. :/

_________________
LS-CHL-V2


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2012 11:28 am 
Offline
Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2012 2:12 pm
Posts: 116
check your setup and partitioning. it could be, that the kernel can't find the root filesystem.

_________________
## Linkstation LS-CHLv2 and LS-XHL stuff:
Debian 7 Wheezy - Rootfs
Kernel 3.13


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2013 10:17 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 1:11 pm
Posts: 7
Hi Fjen,

Is this installation for existing debian ? can I install it on a clean hard drive ?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2013 6:15 pm 
Offline
Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2012 2:12 pm
Posts: 116
This is for a clean HDD, yes.

_________________
## Linkstation LS-CHLv2 and LS-XHL stuff:
Debian 7 Wheezy - Rootfs
Kernel 3.13


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2013 8:18 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 5:56 pm
Posts: 6
@fjen: I used 3.7.6-fjen-1 and the partion I do like below

Quote:
root@NasServer:~# fdisk -l /dev/sda

Disk /dev/sda: 500.1 GB, 500107862016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 60801 cylinders, total 976773168 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x00060403

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 63 112454 56196 83 Linux
/dev/sda2 112455 9879974 4883760 83 Linux
/dev/sda3 9881600 974727167 482422784 83 Linux
/dev/sda4 974727168 976773119 1022976 82 Linux swap / Solaris


Quote:
root@NasServer:~# df -ah
Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
rootfs 4.6G 4.6G 0 100% /
/dev/root 4.6G 4.6G 0 100% /
tmpfs 26M 236K 25M 1% /run
tmpfs 5.0M 0 5.0M 0% /run/lock
proc 0 0 0 - /proc
sysfs 0 0 0 - /sys
tmpfs 10M 0 10M 0% /dev
tmpfs 126M 0 126M 0% /run/shm
devpts 0 0 0 - /dev/pts
/dev/sda3 453G 134G 297G 32% /mnt
shm 126M 0 126M 0% /run/shm
tmpfs 126M 0 126M 0% /tmp


Where my sda2 ? I want to compile rtorrent but when I run apt-get command I got no space left on /var/cache. How can I solve it ?
Thanks for your build.

Nevermind, I found out the reason why. There's are too much file in /var/log just delete all of them. Now it's back to normal.

Quote:
Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
rootfs 4.6G 838M 3.6G 19% /


Last edited by bluke on Mon Feb 18, 2013 9:39 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2013 9:10 am 
Offline
Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2012 2:12 pm
Posts: 116
bluke wrote:
Code:
/dev/root       4.6G  4.6G     0 100% /

This is your /dev/sda2. It seems full, cleanup a bit.

_________________
## Linkstation LS-CHLv2 and LS-XHL stuff:
Debian 7 Wheezy - Rootfs
Kernel 3.13


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 20, 2013 3:19 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 5:56 pm
Posts: 6
@fjen: did you successful install lighttpd to this rootfs ? I got this message :
(log.c.118) opening errorlog '/var/log/lighttpd/error.log' failed: Permission denied
everything is default.
Apache2 is ok. I don't know why.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 79 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited