Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Fri Nov 17, 2017 10:25 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: usb-devices
PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2012 8:18 am 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 8:05 am
Posts: 2
Hi,
I just bought a LS-CHLv2 and are now investigating....
I installed the firmware 1.60 from Shonk, Optware and succeeded to install NFS.

What I still want do to is to have multiple usb-disks mounted by the system.
It should be by the sytem, so that I can use the webui to check the disk and setup the share to the network.
I also found this other thread, but that didn't help me.

I tried to change the nas_feature and saved it back with setnf, but that didn't work. Well the save was ok, but something overwrites the file within a reboot. Then I tried to manipulate the nas_feature in S25_start_disk_array.sh. That worked, but the second usb-disk is not automaticly mounted. I only can see 4 usb disks in the web-ui (system/storage), but only the first is mounted.

So, if there is anybody who can help me with changing that?
What I tried is to set a blank initrd.buffalo to /boot, but when I do this, the box is not booting anymore. What I read here was that this initrd has some buffulo related checks and is not essential to run the box. My idea was that in this initrd the nas_feature is been copied.

Well, if there is anybody who can help me with multiple usb-devices and perhaps can explain the initrd-thing. That would be great.

Thanks a lot and have a nice weekend.
Regards from Germany.

killah78


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: usb-devices
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2012 5:34 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 8:05 am
Posts: 2
really nobody has an idea how to change a usb hotswap file to mount a second usb-drive automaticly. ???

killah78


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: usb-devices
PostPosted: Sat Oct 20, 2012 10:09 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:39 am
Posts: 2604
Find the buffalo script, which is doing the mount stuff.
Adapt the principle for more than one disk and patch
(or copy and replace) the original one late in the bootup
process (but maybe it is one of the scripts NOT observed
by Buffalos sanity app? Then you need only to replace it
once).

_________________
Please do not use private mail (PN/M) to ask questions. Use the proper forum instead. (me)

If there is no verified backup of a dataset, the dataset, by definition, is unimportant. (c't 2012)

RAID (no matter which level) never ever substitutes a backup. (me)


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited