Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Thu Feb 22, 2018 10:01 pm

All times are UTC+01:00

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2012 8:03 pm 
Total Newbie

Hi Everyone

Don't know if I am doing this correctly. If not please advise me so. I am not very good at these things..took me a while to get on this forum, so if anyone can help please give me very easy to follow step by step instuctions.

I have a buffalo linkstation LS-CHLF92. It has a red banner across the top. It is linked to my computer via a Netgear 834 router and that is also linked to a Samsung TV with DLNA capability.

I would like to be able to watch movies, look at pictures, and listern to iTunes from the linkstation on the TV (not all at the same time). I am not sure if this is possible. I have tried Buffalo tech support however "you can see things that are in the shared folder" is not solving the fact that I can not. And where is this shared folder, is it on the NAS drive and how do I set it all up.

I have looked at some of the other things posted and they all look very tech. I am sure that someone can step by step walk me through or guide me to where I can find out how. The manual just does not seem to answer the question

PostPosted: Fri Aug 10, 2012 10:26 am 

Update to the latest firmware (1.60).
If you REALLY have a red Web interface, this should help to get
Samsung TVs recognising the box.
Do not use this firmware, if your Web interface is mostly blue.
Then your box is a LS-CHL V1 and you are lost (according to your
own estimation of knowledge).

If there is no verified backup of a dataset, the dataset, by definition, is unimportant. (c't 2012)

RAID (no matter which level) never ever substitutes a backup. (me)

PostPosted: Fri Aug 10, 2012 2:13 pm 

You should be able to see the shared folder from your PC(to copy film & pictures,....)