Buffalo NAS-Central Forums
http://forum.buffalo.nas-central.org/

host a website on the NAS
http://forum.buffalo.nas-central.org/viewtopic.php?f=71&t=25003
Page 1 of 1

Author:  quentinH [ Sun Feb 05, 2012 9:29 pm ]
Post subject:  host a website on the NAS

Good evening,

I create an HTML site, and I want to put it on my NAS to host it.
I access my NAS from my mobile connection, but it is the management interface.
How to access to my site?

Author:  kenatonline [ Mon Feb 06, 2012 12:45 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: host a website on the NAS

Assuming you are using a router to access the INet, you need
to set up another "instance" of the web server on the NAS to
serve a port different from port 80 (e.g. 2143).
Then use the port forwarding of your router to pass stuff on port
80 on the INet side of your router to port 2143 of your NAS.

Author:  quentinH [ Mon Feb 06, 2012 8:33 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: host a website on the NAS

I have changed the port redirection but it's the same problem. I didn't have access to my website but to the management interface. I must install debian ?

Author:  kenatonline [ Mon Feb 06, 2012 8:40 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: host a website on the NAS

On which port of the Buffalo box do you have your web site?

Author:  quentinH [ Mon Feb 06, 2012 8:53 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: host a website on the NAS

I don't know. I don't know this NAS. My HTML files was on a folder at the root of my NAS

Author:  kenatonline [ Tue Feb 07, 2012 10:55 am ]
Post subject:  Re: host a website on the NAS

So you think, that somehow "magically" your files will get
served by the web server?
You will have to do some setup within the config of the
web server (or install a second web server).
Unfortunately I didn't tried to use the web server which is
used for the web interface myself. I installed an optware
apache package as a second, unrelated web server.

Author:  quentinH [ Tue Feb 07, 2012 10:13 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: host a website on the NAS

But the web server function is run by the NAS automatically or I must install something more?

Author:  kenatonline [ Wed Feb 08, 2012 8:29 am ]
Post subject:  Re: host a website on the NAS

It seems, you never thought about how a web server is working
actually.
Greatly simplified:
The web server is listening on a specific port and delivers the
ONE configured page for this port (if no specific path is passed
from the client).
If you want a already configured web server to deliver your page,
you have either to setup an additional port or you have to place
your entry/root page into the already configured path of the web
pages, the already configured web server is delivering. For the latter,
you will need to specify the path when requesting the page from
the web server, because the root page is still the same and does not
link to your root page.
So, your choice now.

Author:  bordt [ Sat Sep 22, 2012 3:57 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: host a website on the NAS

Hello I just have setup my NAS to work as a web server.

I do understand that it will work an port 81.
http://xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:81/

If I enter the address in the browser, I do get a page saying "PHP Version 5.3.10 ...."

If I do enter it as http://xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:81/index.html, I do get the message page not found.

Any idear what that could be?

Author:  kenatonline [ Sun Sep 23, 2012 7:35 am ]
Post subject:  Re: host a website on the NAS

There is no page "index.html" in the root directory of your web
servers "delivery" directory tree.

Author:  LSWSGL [ Mon Dec 02, 2013 7:31 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: host a website on the NAS

kenatonline wrote:
So you think, that somehow "magically" your files will get
served by the web server?
You will have to do some setup within the config of the
web server (or install a second web server).
Unfortunately I didn't tried to use the web server which is
used for the web interface myself. I installed an optware
apache package as a second, unrelated web server.



Hi,


could you post a "How To" install optware
apache package onto the Linkstation please?

Author:  kenatonline [ Wed Dec 04, 2013 3:37 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: host a website on the NAS

You are not asking for a "howto" to install optware
on a LS, aren't you?
Neither do you ask for a post of a guide to optware
usage in general, don't you?
Have a look in our Wiki for getting SSH access to the
LS.
The follow the guide to install optware on the LS (this
needs SSH access).
Then call "ipkg list" to get a list of available packages.
Use ipkg to install the packages you want.

Author:  LSWSGL [ Sat Apr 12, 2014 11:34 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: host a website on the NAS

Thank you for pointing me to right direction.

For those who do not want to spend loots of time searching/reading here is how its done.

ssh into your NAS (look for acp_commander_gui_156.exe)

mkdir /mnt/disk1/tmp
cd /mnt/disk1/tmp
wget http://ipkg.nslu2-linux.org/feeds/optwa ... -7_arm.xsh
sh lspro-bootstrap_1.2-7_arm.xsh
ipkg update
ipkg install mc

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC+01:00
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited
https://www.phpbb.com/