Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Mon Jun 18, 2018 10:24 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Nov 12, 2011 9:12 am 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 9:04 am
Posts: 1
I recently upgraded my MacBook Air to Lion (10.7). Now, when I open NASNavigator2, my LS-CHL NAS appears as usual, but when I click 'Open' in order to access its contents, the software closes (no message or anything).

I'm happy to provide more details to help with troubleshooting, but the OS upgrade is the only thing that I can think of that has changed since the last time I successfully opened it.

Thank you in advance.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Nov 12, 2011 10:15 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:39 am
Posts: 2604
What can one do with NasNavigator2, what can't be done via Finder?
I am just wondering.
Did you checked Buffalos site for a more recent version of NasNavigator
for your box? Maybe they had to make some "adjustments" due to Lion?
I never used NasNavigator on Mac myself, so don't expect valuable
comments from my side. :D

_________________
Please do not use private mail (PN/M) to ask questions. Use the proper forum instead. (me)

If there is no verified backup of a dataset, the dataset, by definition, is unimportant. (c't 2012)

RAID (no matter which level) never ever substitutes a backup. (me)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Nov 12, 2011 9:01 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:39 am
Posts: 2604
Quote:
I'm sorry - I don't know what PN is. However, I also don't know how to use Finder to access data on my NAS without first 'opening' it using NASNavigator2. If you could teach me, then I probably don't actually care about my issue with that software.

Thank you in advance.

Please do not ask questions or continue threads via PN (private mail). Use the forum instead.
In the most left column of the finder, you can find the shares if you configured your LS correctly.
Alternatively you can use the Go to -> Connect to server and use smb or afp as protocol.

_________________
Please do not use private mail (PN/M) to ask questions. Use the proper forum instead. (me)

If there is no verified backup of a dataset, the dataset, by definition, is unimportant. (c't 2012)

RAID (no matter which level) never ever substitutes a backup. (me)


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 5:16 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 2:56 am
Posts: 28
I also upgraded my macbook air to lion. Now the SMB (SAMBA) shares do not work. Apparently Lion no longer supports SMB as they did before. You can type Command-K to connect to the shares but it will no longer be automatic. Also, XBMC on the Air no longer sees the shares even after I log on. I have read much on how there are work arounds from the MAC side but I thought I'd see something here for the NAS point of view. I think my solution will be to go to a different share mechanism, e.g., DLNA or PNP. I will still miss the SMB shares. So far, I have not seen anything that indicates Apple will fix this. Kind of a surprise.

In a nutshell streaming via a samba share no longer works transparently under Lion.

Paul


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 6:26 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:39 am
Posts: 2604
Not Apple has to "fix" something, but should provide a possibility
for a user to decide to connect "unsafe" like before.
Apple "disabled" an insecure (read: not secure anymore) protocol.
Unfortunately the Buffalo LS uses this insecure protocol and does
not support the more secure one with older firmwares.
Someone here wrote, that 1.54 firmwares should contain an updated
netatalk version and that it should be possible to connect from a Lion
based Mac to boxes running this firmware.
I can't verify this myself, because I am not in reach of my LS atm.

_________________
Please do not use private mail (PN/M) to ask questions. Use the proper forum instead. (me)

If there is no verified backup of a dataset, the dataset, by definition, is unimportant. (c't 2012)

RAID (no matter which level) never ever substitutes a backup. (me)


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited