Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Mon Jul 23, 2018 6:04 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2011 5:13 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2011 5:07 pm
Posts: 1
Hi,

I have followed numerous instructions for accessing telnet on my drive but cannot telnet into it. I have allowed Putty through my firewall, have tried MS telnet client, and just get 'could not open the connection on port 23'. I have run jarcommander standard telnet start command and with addons numerous times and it says it was successful but no telnet. Can anyone please help me? Is there an issue with this firmware?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2011 1:26 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:24 am
Posts: 2731
This is the wrong thread. 1.54 is for Kirkwood not Orion.

There is no telnet on 1.54.
Use Mod 1 with telnet.
viewtopic.php?f=68&t=23603


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2011 7:00 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:39 am
Posts: 2604
If you had researched a little bit harder, you should
have recognised that your LS is NOT Orion based but
Kirkwood. And there are endless threads that the "old"
way to open a LS via acp commander is not working
anymore for Kirkwood based boxes.
You were fooled by the marketing name of Buffalo for
their lowcost LS series "Live". There are several LS-Live
with different hardware and your "guide" was for an old
hardware.
If you have firmware 1.54, you have a Kirkwood based
one.
You need to follow the guide for a LS-XHL or LS-VL, to
open your box yourself.
Or you take the easy way and use an already opened
firmware from Shonk.
You can find this firmware in the general section of the
Kirkwood forum.
If you prefer to open it yourself, look into the Wiki into
the LS-VL section.

_________________
Please do not use private mail (PN/M) to ask questions. Use the proper forum instead. (me)

If there is no verified backup of a dataset, the dataset, by definition, is unimportant. (c't 2012)

RAID (no matter which level) never ever substitutes a backup. (me)


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited