Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Tue Jul 17, 2018 7:51 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: LS-CHL V2 auto shutdown
PostPosted: Tue Aug 23, 2011 10:03 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2011 8:02 pm
Posts: 19
Hello all,

After i installed the firmware ls_series-154-mod1 with success my device boots up, blue light flashes, reboots, stays up for some minutes and then shutdown automaticly. can you help me to know what's wrong and how to solve it?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2011 7:49 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:39 am
Posts: 2604
Does it take, by any chance, about 3-4 minutes before your box
shuts down?
Then it could be a missing WoL packet provider (like NASNavigator).
Look at the back of your box and determine if the small black switch
is set to "auto". If yes, this is the "problem".
You either set the switch to "on", or you install a WoL packet provider
on each machine which should access the box.
There are solutions with Python (platform independant) and dedicated
executables from Buffalo for Win and OSX (NASNavigator).

_________________
Please do not use private mail (PN/M) to ask questions. Use the proper forum instead. (me)

If there is no verified backup of a dataset, the dataset, by definition, is unimportant. (c't 2012)

RAID (no matter which level) never ever substitutes a backup. (me)


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2011 7:50 am 
Offline
Regular Member

Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 7:41 am
Posts: 82
Location: Denmark
Does it shutdown or restart? In what position do you have the power switch on the back (down, middle, up)? Can you telnet/ssh to it before it shuts down?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2011 12:59 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2011 8:02 pm
Posts: 19
Hello,

Yes it takes almost 8 minutes until it shutdown. The switch is on the on position (all up).
I can try to ssh it, but i can access the files and the web access so maybe ssh will work to.
What can be causing this? It happens connected to the PC or connected to my router.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2011 2:24 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:39 am
Posts: 2604
Try to switch the box off (switch on the back to "off" position),
when it started successful and before it automatically shuts down.
Then remove power cord, wait a minute, reattach power cord, wait
another minute and then start the box by putting the switch to "on"
position.
And ensure it is the "on" position and not somewhere inbetween "on"
and "auto".

_________________
Please do not use private mail (PN/M) to ask questions. Use the proper forum instead. (me)

If there is no verified backup of a dataset, the dataset, by definition, is unimportant. (c't 2012)

RAID (no matter which level) never ever substitutes a backup. (me)


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2011 11:48 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2011 8:02 pm
Posts: 19
kenatonline wrote:
Try to switch the box off (switch on the back to "off" position),
when it started successful and before it automatically shuts down.
Then remove power cord, wait a minute, reattach power cord, wait
another minute and then start the box by putting the switch to "on"
position.
And ensure it is the "on" position and not somewhere inbetween "on"
and "auto".



Hello,

I tryed to do that but the system still power off. Any ideias?


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2011 7:07 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:39 am
Posts: 2604
Start a shell on your LS box (either via Telnet or SSH).
EVERY three minutes execute the following command:
Code:
pwrmgr -c localhost act

If the box survives the 8 minutes, you have a problem
with the switch (being "auto" even in position "on").
If the box still shuts down, the problem is elsewhere.
Maybe a reflash of the firmware with deletion of the
user config might help then (but do NOT repartition or
ALL of your data is gone).

_________________
Please do not use private mail (PN/M) to ask questions. Use the proper forum instead. (me)

If there is no verified backup of a dataset, the dataset, by definition, is unimportant. (c't 2012)

RAID (no matter which level) never ever substitutes a backup. (me)


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited