Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Fri Nov 21, 2014 7:49 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: Serial port on LS-CHLv2
PostPosted: Mon Feb 08, 2010 12:21 pm 
Total Newbie

Hello everyone!

I've been trying to search information on how to get a serial port to LS-CHLv2. Haven't find anything useful yet, so now I'm asking here if anyone could help me?
Basically, I don't know where the serial port header or pins or solder points are located on the board.
Here's some pics from the board, just in case:
http://fadox.arkku.net/kuvat/LS-CHLv2/

Thanks!

PostPosted: Tue Sep 06, 2011 12:50 am 
Total Newbie

I am trying to figure out this one as well.

The board pictures linked to in the wiki page for this device are not the same as mine.
Your pictures look exactly like mine.

This device (LS-XHL) looks pretty close as well and may be the hint needed to find the solder points.
http://buffalo.nas-central.org/wiki/Ser ... ort_LS-XHL

more looking when i have time

EDIT: I removed the obfuscating resisters and used wire to jump the points indicated on that LS-XHL page but then after that the pins labled TX and RX had a steady 3.3 volts on them and it didn't put anything out to my CA-42 usb ttl/serial adaptor. Its not looking right.

PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2011 12:08 am 

Hello,

I just finished removing the two resistors and bridging the connectors with little wires. Now when I check TX vs GND I have changing voltage levels for a short moment when plugging in the power (I assume for the normal poweron messages) and more when I start up the device (boot log).

I don't have any uart <-> RS232 converter atm so I cannot make the connection with my PC to check for the actual output yet, but I am quite positive that at least for the serial console port the instructions are identical.