Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Tue Sep 02, 2014 2:59 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Feb 08, 2010 6:44 am 
Offline
Regular Member

Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 10:56 am
Posts: 702
Firmware
LS-CHL-V2-124-MOD1a

New Features:
- su working
- BusyBox v1.16.0 (2010-02-06 04:21:28 CST)
- Putty in info share

To clear out the root password restore defaults in the web interface

mt-daapd and bojour are default off if you want them comment them back in step 3 and 4 of /etc/init.d/rcS
Removed Japanese files in /mnt/disk1/info
Removed unused sample files in /modules/webaxs/module/www/js/dojo
new scripts in up & down to shut down the web interface for every day use to save ram
just type down or up when ssh'd in
media server id's as %Hostname% intead of %Hostname%:Linkstation

Firmware reduced from 152,358,534 bytes packed 410,777,600 Installed
Firmware reduced to 130,385,776 bytes packed 374,067,200 Installed

Image

Firmware
LS-CHL-v2-124-MOD1

Features:
- ssh enabled and working
- telnet enabled and working
- ability to clear root password
- full ps

A straight firmware update will result in both telnet and ssh being turned on
as control of them is done via /etc/melco/info which isnt overwritten with a normal update
you will need to turn one of them off

to disable any edit /etc/melco/info
TELNET=off
SSH=off

To clear out the root password restore defaults in the web interface
be warned reset to defaults does the following

Clear's root password
chmod 777 /etc/melco
Sets workgroup to Lan
Sets hostname to Nas
TELNET=off
SSH=on
string=
lang=english
timezone=0
ntpserver=uk.pool.ntp.org

ltbootd.sh is commented out in /etc/init.d/rcS
it runs 5 processes which are unneeded and a waste of memory
you can just force em mode if you ever get problems

Image

I have flashed this multiple times and had no problems at all
flashing on your device is on your head
dont come crying to me if you kill your device

I recommend if you are on 1.24 already to just flash rootfs
via the debug menu

http://www.shonk.org/Nas/


remember to ssh or telnet in and change the password with passwd


Last edited by Shonk on Thu Feb 18, 2010 4:26 am, edited 5 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2010 6:14 pm 
Offline
Regular Member

Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 10:56 am
Posts: 702
The rar was corrupt at mediafire im uploading it to my server


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2010 8:42 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 6:26 am
Posts: 29
Thanks, that would have made my life so much easier a few weeks ago when I had to manually open my firmware..

Now I am conflicted about updating, I am not really sure 1.24 really is much of an improvement over the last firmware.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 9:16 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2009 12:50 am
Posts: 15
Big thanks for the SSh Telnet .....

just i have a lot of error with files up 4.0 GB with the 1.21 but no with the 1.24 (Stock) so i think it better .

I test tomorrow your mod ;)

EDIT :

I just update my /rootfs and work fine but i don't know password for SU i can connect with my admin password but no with su can you help me please ?

Thanks

_________________
LS-CH1.0TL Firmware 1.24mod1a by Shonk:D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 11:37 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2009 12:50 am
Posts: 15
I cant connect with root but i test Winscp and work fine :D

Image

_________________
LS-CH1.0TL Firmware 1.24mod1a by Shonk:D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 12:05 am 
Offline
Regular Member

Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 10:56 am
Posts: 702
it works fine as root

did you clear the root password
and set a new one via telnet/ssh

you clear the root password by setting the nas to defaults in the web interface
it doesnt get cleared unless you do that

root 3941 0.4 2.2 4028 1380 ? Ss 23:03 0:00 sshd: root@notty
root 3951 0.0 1.3 2364 808 ? Ss 23:03 0:00 /usr/local/libexec/sftp-server

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 7:04 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2009 12:50 am
Posts: 15
Ok it's necessary to reset config and now work fine thank you very much for this firmware !

_________________
LS-CH1.0TL Firmware 1.24mod1a by Shonk:D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 9:05 am 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2009 9:17 am
Posts: 3
thanks
will try after download

i am a newbie and i want to clear 1st,
i am in 1.24 now, so what i need to do is do a normal uodate or get in to debug mod to update?
thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 9:16 am 
Offline
Regular Member

Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 10:56 am
Posts: 702
go into debug
and only have rootfs and force ticked

you can do a normal update but better to just do rootfs


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 9:42 am 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2009 9:17 am
Posts: 3
got into by telnet
thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 23, 2010 7:58 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 4:24 pm
Posts: 38
Maybe you should add to your guide that this is for cpu version Feroceon-KW which you can find out via
Code:
cat /proc/cpuinfo


Thx for the open stock firmware. Working like a charm on my Linkstation Live CHL2


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 25, 2010 12:50 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2009 12:50 am
Posts: 15
i would like to add ipkg on your modded firmware but i don't know the good source :

ARM
There is an bootstrapping script that allows you to install ipkg on arm-based devices with stock firmware.

Linkstation Pro/Linkstation Live/Linkstation EX
mkdir /mnt/disk1/tmp
cd /mnt/disk1/tmp
wget http://ipkg.nslu2-linux.org/feeds/optware/cs05q3armel/cross/stable/lspro-bootstrap_1.2-7_arm.xsh
sh lspro-bootstrap_1.2-7_arm.xsh

Linkstation XHL/CHLv2
mkdir /mnt/disk1/tmp
cd /mnt/disk1/tmp
wget http://ipkg.nslu2-linux.org/feeds/optware/cs08q1armel/cross/stable/ls-mvkw-bootstrap_1.2-7_arm.xsh
sh ls-mvkw-bootstrap_1.2-7_arm.xsh
mv /etc/init.d/optware /etc/init.d/rc.optware

Linkstation Pro DUO/Terastation Pro v2/Terastation Live/Linkstation Mini
mkdir /mnt/array1/tmp
cd /mnt/array1/tmp
wget http://ipkg.nslu2-linux.org/feeds/optware/cs05q3armel/cross/stable/teraprov2-bootstrap_1.2-7_arm.xsh
sh teraprov2-bootstrap_1.2-7_arm.xsh

I think it's the second but i test and after my hard drive have some read/write error with big files i don't know if it's the result because after i have this problem .

thanks

_________________
LS-CH1.0TL Firmware 1.24mod1a by Shonk:D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 25, 2010 9:19 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 4:24 pm
Posts: 38
mick711 wrote:
i would like to add ipkg on your modded firmware but i don't know the good source :


Hi mick. I had exactly the same problem 2 days ago, you can see my learning process here http://forum.buffalo.nas-central.org/viewtopic.php?f=39&t=21554.

This open stock firmware is for the LS-CHLv2, so you should use exactly the instructions for that one, in other words this:
Code:
mkdir /mnt/disk1/tmp
cd /mnt/disk1/tmp
wget http://ipkg.nslu2-linux.org/feeds/optware/cs08q1armel/cross/stable/ls-mvkw-bootstrap_1.2-7_arm.xsh
sh ls-mvkw-bootstrap_1.2-7_arm.xsh
mv /etc/init.d/optware /etc/init.d/rc.optware


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 04, 2010 10:01 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 10:31 am
Posts: 3
Hi

I flashed the Firmware 1.24Mod1a successfully and my LS works fine. 5 Minutes later i will look at LS and i will the there is no normal LED Colours. The Power LED is turned to Orange (it could also be red) an lights durable. Also the DirectCopy Button lights Blue.

I think that the acoustic level is higher to the Firmware 1.10. The Fan runs consistently.

Have anyone similar Problems ??


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 3:40 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 3:34 pm
Posts: 2
longbow wrote:
Hi

I flashed the Firmware 1.24Mod1a successfully and my LS works fine. 5 Minutes later i will look at LS and i will the there is no normal LED Colours. The Power LED is turned to Orange (it could also be red) an lights durable. Also the DirectCopy Button lights Blue.

I think that the acoustic level is higher to the Firmware 1.10. The Fan runs consistently.

Have anyone similar Problems ??


I have the same problem, the sound is very heavy :oops:


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group