Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Mon Nov 20, 2017 12:57 pm

All times are UTC+01:00

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 9:29 pm 
Total Newbie

Hello,

since today I am owner of an TS-XL/R5 NAS and still waiting for the RAID 5 to complete syncing which will take nearly 30 hours :( So I decided to check out how to get root access on this device to modify it a little bit, since I noticed this wasn't possible anymore from an older FW till now. My goal was to run the PS3 Media Server (DLNA) because I couldn't get the built-in one to work with my Samsung D6200 Smart TV for MKV streaming. The Samsung AllShare SOftware works but unfortunately is only available for Windows at the moment and I don't wanted to always have my Laptop running.

Anyway it worked for me with some collected information from all over the web which I wanted to share with you guys. That was the reason for my registration here!

Thanks to all users from all over the web who contributed and especially to "liberado" for his nice findings.
I've merged everything together...

Quote:
ROOT @ TERASTATION 3 TS-XL/R5 (FW1.57)

- Download: http://downloads.buffalo.nas-central.or ... mander.jar

Execute the following commands and replace NAS_IP, ADMINPASSWORD & NEWROOTPASS!
- NAS_IP is the IP of your NAS
- adminpassword is the login password for the webinterface
- newrootpass will be the new root password for the system

1. java -jar acp_commander.jar -t NAS_IP -ip NAS_IP -pw adminpassword -c "(echo newrootpass;echo newrootpass)|passwd"

2. java -jar acp_commander.jar -t NAS_IP -ip NAS_IP -pw adminpassword -c "echo 'UsePAM no' >>/etc/sshd_config"

3. java -jar acp_commander.jar -t NAS_IP -ip NAS_IP -pw adminpassword -c "sed -i 's/PermitRootLogin no/PermitRootLogin yes/g' /etc/sshd_config"

4. java -jar acp_commander.jar -t NAS_IP -ip NAS_IP -pw adminpassword -c "/etc/init.d/sshd.sh restart"

5. java -jar acp_commander.jar -t NAS_IP -c "/usr/sbin/telnetd" -ip NAS_IP