Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Mon Nov 20, 2017 1:00 pm

All times are UTC+01:00

PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 6:49 pm 
Total Newbie

Allow me to preface this by saying that I am currently residing in Nowhereville, SW Asia, with filtered Internet access that is spotty at best. I also have to make do with what I have, as IT requisitioning out here is an arduous process.

I have 4 Buffalo TeraStation Duos (TS-WX2.0TL/R1, firmware ver. 1.52). My goal is to connect these to a low-traffic LAN that requires a high volume of storage. The boss would like to see these presented as one giant share accessible by both Windows and *NIX systems (specifically, Mac and Linux).

Problem 1: I need to be able to access them all from a server that has one LAN port free. I do not have any routers, switches, or hubs available at this time.

My initial solution was to daisy chain the routers by bridging LAN1 and LAN2 on each TeraStation. In theory, this should work, but I was unable to find a way to set up bridging (I found bonding) in the web administration system. I then focused on gaining SSH access to the TeraStation, which led me to this site. I wish I could use acp_commander, but alas my proxy blocks the download of binaries. I had hoped that the process described by brighton36 in The Official TS-WX1.0TL/R1 Thread would help, which brings me to…

Problem 2: I need be able to access the TeraStations via SSH, but I cannot download acp_commander.