Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Mon Nov 20, 2017 12:56 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jan 16, 2010 6:50 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 5:42 pm
Posts: 6
I was able to spawn telnet on my TS III I can log in as admin but i can not clear the root password. Anyone else get past this point yet to offer some assistance?

This is what i did.

$ java -jar acp_commander.jar -t 192.168.1.103 -c "/usr/sbin/telnetd" -ip 192.168.1.103
ACP_commander out of the nas-central.org (linkstationwiki.net) project.
Used to send ACP-commands to Buffalo linkstation(R) LS-PRO.

WARNING: This is experimental software that might brick your linkstation!



Please enter your admin password for "192.168.1.103":
Password: **********
Using random connID value = FD0AFBABE7EB
Using target: 192.168.1.103/192.168.1.103
Starting authentication procedure...
Sending Discover packet...
Found: STORAGE3 (/192.168.1.103) TS-XL(sakura) (ID=003211) mac: 00:
1D:73:DF:3F:4A Firmware= 1.200 Key=7B80863E
Trying to authenticate EnOneCmd... ACP_STATE_OK
Trying to authenticate with admin password... ACP_STATE_OK
>/usr/sbin/telnetd
OK (ACP_STATE_OK)
Changeing IP: ACP_STATE_PASSWORD_ERROR
Please note, that the current support for the change of the IP is currently very
rudimentary.
The IP has been set to the given, fixed IP, however DNS and gateway have not bee
n set. Use the WebGUI to make appropriate settings.



java -jar acp_commander.jar -t 192.168.1.103 -o

$ java -jar acp_commander.jar -t 192.168.1.103 -o
ACP_commander out of the nas-central.org (linkstationwiki.net) project.
Used to send ACP-commands to Buffalo linkstation(R) LS-PRO.

WARNING: This is experimental software that might brick your linkstation!


Using random connID value = 5EB83E968A98
Using target: 192.168.1.103/192.168.1.103
Starting authentication procedure...
Sending Discover packet...
Found: STORAGE3 (/192.168.1.103) TS-XL(sakura) (ID=003211) mac: 00:
1D:73:DF:3F:4A Firmware= 1.200 Key=1EA6CBB9
Trying to authenticate EnOneCmd... ACP_STATE_OK
start telnetd...
Reset root pwd...

You can now telnet to your box as user 'root' providing no / an empty password.

BUFFALO INC. TeraStation series

STORAGE3 login: root
Password:
Login incorrect

STORAGE3 login: admin
Password:
No mail.
-sh: /etc/profile: Permission denied
-sh-3.2$


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Feb 06, 2010 5:05 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2010 4:56 pm
Posts: 1
I circumvented the root password problem by putting a ssh key in the /root/.ssh/authorized_keys file. The way I did it was to pull the first hard drive and mount it on my Linux workstation. I went to the /root directory and created a .ssh directory. Then in the .ssh directory, I created a authorized_keys file and put my public key into it. I then put the drive back into the TeraStation as the only hard drive and booted it up. It worked as expected and I could log in via ssh using my public private RSA key pair. I also used the web GUI to reset the configuration to factory default and it didn't delete my public key so I could still log in. Finally, I inserted the remaining three hard drives one at a time and reformatted them (this was a brand new system so I didn't have any data to loose).

Julian


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Feb 08, 2010 1:49 am 
Offline
Regular Member

Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 10:56 am
Posts: 714
take a look at

viewtopic.php?f=68&t=21494

it should work on ts also


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2010 2:49 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 2:01 pm
Posts: 3
I realise this post is a few months old but maybe you can help. It seems a few of you have successfully "opened" your Terastation III. I have a the rackmount model (TS-RXL) which I've just updated with the 1.32 firmware and would very much like to have ssh access to in order to fix some of the many issues with the stock firmware. Unfortunately acp_commander fails to start a telnet server --

Code:
carl@dell-desktop:~/Documents]% java -jar acp_commander.jar -t xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx -o
ACP_commander out of the nas-central.org (linkstationwiki.net) project.
Used to send ACP-commands to Buffalo linkstation(R) LS-PRO.

WARNING: This is experimental software that might brick your linkstation!

Using random connID value = 4B875A0985DA
Using target:   hostname/xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
Starting authentication procedure...
Sending Discover packet...   
A SocketTimeoutException usually indicates bad firewall settings.
Check especially for *UDP* port 22936 and make sure that the connection to your LS is working.
ERROR: Exception: SocketTimeoutException (Receive timed out) [ACP Send/Receive (Packet:8020 = ACP_Discover)]



Someone suggested a slightly different set of options but this fails too --

Code:
[carl@dell-desktop:~/Documents]% java -jar acp_commander.jar -t xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx -c "/usr/sbin/telnetd" -ip xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
ACP_commander out of the nas-central.org (linkstationwiki.net) project.
Used to send ACP-commands to Buffalo linkstation(R) LS-PRO.

WARNING: This is experimental software that might brick your linkstation!

Please enter your admin password for "xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx":
Password: **********
Using random connID value = 69FF9819E612
Using target:   hostname/xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
Starting authentication procedure...
Sending Discover packet...   
A SocketTimeoutException usually indicates bad firewall settings.
Check especially for *UDP* port 22936 and make sure that the connection to your LS is working.
ERROR: Exception: SocketTimeoutException (Receive timed out) [ACP Send/Receive (Packet:8020 = ACP_Discover)]


I ran the first command while I was directly connected to the TS, after updating the firmware. Now I'm on another part of the network but I don't think there is any firewall between us (communication with another server using netcat on UDP port 22936 works fine).

Any ideas why this isn't working for me? Is there another port I should be using on this model?

Thanks.

-- Carl


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Aug 02, 2010 2:44 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 2:33 pm
Posts: 2
I have the same problem as carl with a new Terastation III TS-RXL with firmware 1.30.
Everytime i got the "SocketTimeoutException". I tried the acp-commander direct connected and over a switch, i tried it from MS-Windows an from Linux, nothing works.
Is there anybody who has a solution? Is it possible to downgrade to an older telnet-running firmwire?

Thanks a lot

Eberhard


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2010 4:05 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 9:00 am
Posts: 2
hi guys,
i have the same problem with a Terastation Pro 2 Rackmount FW 1.33.
See here:
http://forum.buffalo.nas-central.org/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=22159

There is no success in connecting via acp_commander. If anybody has advice how to solve this problem, i would be very happy.

thanks in advance :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Sep 06, 2010 10:18 pm 
Offline
Developer

Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 6:05 pm
Posts: 613
Location: Germany
Hi,

the DiscoveryPacket is just the same the buffalo software uses to detect the linkstations/terrastations. So if that doesn't work, either buffalo has significantly changed something or you're facing connection problems. In that case I'd suspect that the firmware updater doesn't see the box either.
But Carls post "updated the firmware" reads different. Could one of you run a packet sniffer while the buffalo firmware updater searches for the box?

Cheers,
Georg

_________________
acp_commander users note: from ver. 0.4 on the correct ACP authentication method is used, avoiding possible side effects.
Download: http://sourceforge.net/project/showfile ... _id=167037


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2010 2:33 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 2:01 pm
Posts: 3
Unfortunately the Terastation is on a separate network only accessible from a locked room which I don't have access to at the moment.

I have logged the packets sent by the Buffalo updater program and acp_commander -f while searching for Terastations. The data fields are slightly different.
For acp_commander the data field is
20:00:00:00:08:00:01:00:20:80:28:00:00:00:00:00:43:24:98:6d:6f:e4:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:00:00:00:00:00:00:00:00:00:00:00:00:00:00:00:00:00:00:00:00:00:00:00:00:00:00:00:00:00:00:00:00:00:00:00:00:00:00:00:00:00:00:00:00
For the Buffalo updater the data field is
20:00:00:00:08:00:01:00:20:80:00:00:00:00:00:00:00:0e:7b:00:14:5f:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:00:00:00:00

However this may not be relevant because I think acp_commander was able to detect my Terastation using the -f option but not connect to it when I specified the IP address as indicated in my previous post.

When I get the opportunity I'll log the packets for the full connection of the Buffalo updater to the Terastation but that may not be for a while.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 6:57 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 2:01 pm
Posts: 3
If anyone is still interested, I ran Wireshark during the firmware upgrade (1.32 to 1.54). I've cut it a few seconds into the actual firmware transmission or it would be too big, but I've left enough that I hope all the relevant packets are still included.

http://eis.comp.lancs.ac.uk/~carl/terastation_start.pcap

169.254.147.124 is the Terastation.
169.254.147.55 is the Windows machine running the updater.
Packet 39 looks like the discovery packet broadcast by the updater to find the Terastation.
Packet 155 looks like the magic packet sent to the Terastation on port 22936.
There's probably a lot of junk at the beginning as I had to restart the updater after changing some network settings on the computer.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2016 10:23 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2016 8:23 am
Posts: 8
I understand this thread is quite old, but I have found a solution that worked painlessly in under one minute on my TS-X/R5, firmware 1.66.

Please look at this thread. You can easily activate SSH and set the root password.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited