Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Tue Nov 21, 2017 4:43 pm

All times are UTC+01:00

PostPosted: Sat Oct 29, 2011 12:41 pm 
Total Newbie

This is a repost of a question in another subforum. Its now a week old and has had no responses yet.

My apologies if this isn't allowed. I checked the rules and could not find anything about it.

By the way, when searching for the rules I encountered a topic about an Example of Serious Rule Violation by someone named 'CameljockeyBoy', but do not really see what he did wrong to warrant that one-year ban. As an example it does not really do its work ...

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

I've recently aquired a LS-320GL as a hand-me-down -- the origional owner (a friend of mine) thought it was broken, but it was nothing TFTP and a new firmware could not fix. He did not need it back though, so I'm now stuck with it :-)

And as I'm a bit of a hobby-programmer (Strictly Microsoft DOS/Windows I'm afraid) I thought this would be a good moment to see how SMB/Samba works. I've googled for and found multiple documents on the subject, and thought to start with building a minimal client using the most basic protocol of them all: PC NETWORK PROGRAM 1.0.

Alas, although I can successfully negotiate that protocol, a subsequent tree-connect (to "\\LS-GLxxx\share") is met with the (quite uninformative and not understood by me) "access denied" status (ERRDOS, 0x0005).

Also, I get a Flags2 contents of 0x4001. And that is odd, as those flags are, as far as I can tell, only meaningfull in the NT LM 0.12 and above dialects.

So, there I am: up a creek without a paddle. :-\

The question is : Am I forgetting something/doing something wrong, and if so : what ? Does the NAS expect some other (not specified in the PC NETWORK PROGRAM 1.0 (corep) document) commands ?