Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Fri Nov 17, 2017 8:20 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 12:35 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2011 8:45 pm
Posts: 5
I am using firmware 1.56 ver.My box is working very well but when i reboot my linkstation pro or electricity cut off my box going into em mode end blink 6 red led .

i use TFTP Boot Recovery 1.53 for recovery but after the next cut off it again goes into em mode.is there a solution for this or i have to revover my box every time i reboot or electricity cut off ?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 4:00 am 
Online
Moderator

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:24 am
Posts: 2691
NAS without UPS :roll:


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 6:49 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2011 8:45 pm
Posts: 5
but the problem is not electricity problem is everytime my box turn into em mode


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 6:55 pm 
Online
Moderator

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:24 am
Posts: 2691
flash your firmware.
em-Mode will be off

one power cut an you will get em-mode again


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2012 1:46 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2007 1:32 pm
Posts: 2
Location: Vienna
Hello,

I do know, that having a NAS without UPS is not the best idea - but for my second LS-XHL this is exactly the case - because it is placed in a different flat.

Now to my question - is there a way/hack to overcome the problem that the Linkstation falls back into EM mode after a power failure (which only happens once a year - but setting up to Debian is a lengthly procedure)
I am by far no expert - but is there perhaps a switch in the bootloader/kernel I could use to make it boot normally after a power failure?

Markus


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2012 2:00 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:39 am
Posts: 2604
I have not read any research results regarding the causes of EM-mode
for Buffalos NAS boxes. Unless someone is doing some comprehensive
test, we won't know what can be done to "resolve" the EM-mode other
than flashing the firmware again.

_________________
Please do not use private mail (PN/M) to ask questions. Use the proper forum instead. (me)

If there is no verified backup of a dataset, the dataset, by definition, is unimportant. (c't 2012)

RAID (no matter which level) never ever substitutes a backup. (me)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2012 3:13 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2011 8:45 pm
Posts: 5
I solve my problem by reflasing my firmware


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited