Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Thu Nov 23, 2017 10:37 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Mar 03, 2012 11:44 am 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 11:40 am
Posts: 3
Hi all, possibly a dumb question but here goes :)

I wish to replicate a large folder (200Gb in size) on my LS-XH1.0TL. Doing this via Win7 suggests 22 hours. Does anybody know a better way of doing this which might be a lot quicker?

Many thanks
Steve


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2012 9:53 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:39 am
Posts: 2604
You only told us your source for replication (LS-XHL) but not the destination.
Do you want to replicate to the Windows box or to an external disk on the
Windows box or to another folder on the LS-XHL or to another LS-XHL or ....
A little bit more information would make it easier to help.

_________________
Please do not use private mail (PN/M) to ask questions. Use the proper forum instead. (me)

If there is no verified backup of a dataset, the dataset, by definition, is unimportant. (c't 2012)

RAID (no matter which level) never ever substitutes a backup. (me)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2012 1:02 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 11:40 am
Posts: 3
So sorry, yes I didn't exactly supply everything needed did I!

OK, essentially what i would like to do is to make a copy of this 200Gb folder which resides on the NAS on the NAS itself. Simply a duplicate copy of the same folder on the same disc.

Thanks
Steve


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2012 2:23 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:39 am
Posts: 2604
Then the most efficient way is root access and a simple command line operation
like this:
Code:
cp -r <source dir> <destination dir>

e.g.:
Code:
cp -r /mnt/disk1/share/myStuff /mnt/disk1/share/myStuff.bak

This would copy the content of directory myStuff to the directory myStuff.bak.

_________________
Please do not use private mail (PN/M) to ask questions. Use the proper forum instead. (me)

If there is no verified backup of a dataset, the dataset, by definition, is unimportant. (c't 2012)

RAID (no matter which level) never ever substitutes a backup. (me)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2012 3:11 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 11:40 am
Posts: 3
Ah sounds a plan, not played with the unix command line for many a year now! I will have a look at doing the copy this way, presumably there is an easy way to get to the command line from the web interface, if not I'll read the manual :)

Many thanks mate
Steve


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2012 10:39 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:39 am
Posts: 2604
You will need to read about "opening the firmware" and "acp_commander" in
conjunction with "-c" parameter.
It is not hard to gain root access, but it is a little bit of work to do.
Out of the box, Buffalo "bulkheads" the command line.

_________________
Please do not use private mail (PN/M) to ask questions. Use the proper forum instead. (me)

If there is no verified backup of a dataset, the dataset, by definition, is unimportant. (c't 2012)

RAID (no matter which level) never ever substitutes a backup. (me)


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited