Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Fri Nov 17, 2017 8:25 pm

All times are UTC+01:00

Post subject: Help installing new disk
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2012 6:06 am 
Total Newbie

hi all
I have a LS-XH1.5TL with no disk. I am trying to install a Hitachi deskstar 500Gb, but I can't get the Linkstation firmware installed. (The disk is formatted as ext3 on a linux machine, just one partition)
I have it connected to my laptop, the network adapter is set to 192.168.11.1
I have tftp boot 1.41, it starts, I hold down the function button, and get the ..$kernel, 5337 Blocks Served and .......$initrd, 21348 Blocks served messages, and the light blinks blue.
This is where the problems start. I have tried firmware 1.24 and the latest 1.56, with varying success - sometimes it starts with the 6 red led flashes, sometimes it just continually flashes blue and eventually changes to amber with error 25.
Also sometimes during update, the linkststion decides to go look for a new ip address and because it can't find a dhcp server, changes to a 169.x.x.x address,and the update fails. I tried to set the ip through NAS navigator, but it also fails and reverts back to dhcp. As a kind of kludgy workaround, I set up a dhcp server on that network adapter to give a 192.168.11.x address.
Could someone kindly tell me exact procedure to get it up and running, and also links where necessary? This is driving me nuts
Thanks!

PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2012 10:39 am 

Amber (orange) 25 would have meant "firmware update" and is NOT
an error.
If you interrupted the box during that, you need to recover again.
There are (at least it feels that much) hundreds of questions and
answers in this forum regarding replacing the disk of a Linkstation.
How about using the search function?

If there is no verified backup of a dataset, the dataset, by definition, is unimportant. (c't 2012)

RAID (no matter which level) never ever substitutes a backup. (me)