Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Mon Nov 20, 2017 8:12 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2012 4:02 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 3:50 pm
Posts: 5
Hi everyone, I have an LS-XHL 2TB unit which for some reason went booted up into EM mode last week and after doing some reding throught the forum I understood that the solution would be to upgrade the firmware which I downloaded it for the right model etc. During the firmware upgrade I received an ACP-State-Failure error and now the unit doesn't boot into EM mode nor does it do anything else for that matter. All the unit does is power up for about 15-20 sec, the blue status LED flashes up and then restarts into a continuous pattern.
Since I have important data on the HDD i cannot part with, is there anything I could do to recover the data? I have seen on eBAy that they're selling the bare bone unit and I was wondering if I could install my HDD into one of them units, would this work?
I would appreciate any advise you could give me.
Many thanks,
Dan


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2012 6:08 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:39 am
Posts: 2604
The "firmware" is on the harddisk.
Changing the disk to another box will mostly transfer
the problem as well.
Why didn't you tell us, which firmware you used for the
update? It is easier to help when you give us valuable
informations.
Btw. the "solution" would have been to reapply the EXACT
same firmware version, not an upgrade.

_________________
Please do not use private mail (PN/M) to ask questions. Use the proper forum instead. (me)

If there is no verified backup of a dataset, the dataset, by definition, is unimportant. (c't 2012)

RAID (no matter which level) never ever substitutes a backup. (me)


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2012 8:08 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 3:50 pm
Posts: 5
Thanks for replying to my post.
As far as the firmware update goes, unbeknowned to be, al the read up I did was on buffalotech forum and the sugestion to my problem was to upgrade the firmware in order to get out of the EM mode.
After doing some reading on the forum I downloaded the right firmware and linked the NAS directly to the PC.
Obviously the updater found the drive and started the update procedure which went smoothly from one stage to the next.
However, at the end a message popped up stating that the firmware update was cancelled due to ACP-State-Failure.
At this point the status LED turned AMBER and I switched off the unit.

The firmware I tried to upgrade to is 1.56 (Win). I now understand that I shoud've updated/replaced the same version.
Is there anything I could do to get it opperational again or recover my data?
Many thanks.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2012 11:47 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 3:50 pm
Posts: 5
Could anyone give me some help please?
Thanks


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2012 1:46 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:39 am
Posts: 2604
Search for "TFTP" and "1.53" in this forum.
Use this firmware to "recover" your box.
Do not check "rebuild partitions" or your data will be lost
(definitely).
Use (a switch and) a router to connect PC and LS.
Configure the router to be the DHCP server.
Only for the TFTP step, set your PC to the specified fixed IP
address. AFTER the successful transfer of the two boot files,
switch your PC back to DHCP and try to update the
firmware to Buffalos 1.56 (or 1.54Mod1 from Shonk, which
you can find here in the forum).
If you disabled all firewalls and virus-scanner COMPLETELY,
the update should succeed.

_________________
Please do not use private mail (PN/M) to ask questions. Use the proper forum instead. (me)

If there is no verified backup of a dataset, the dataset, by definition, is unimportant. (c't 2012)

RAID (no matter which level) never ever substitutes a backup. (me)


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2012 4:04 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 3:50 pm
Posts: 5
Hi Kenatonline,

I followed your instructions and the FAQs in this forum on using the TFTP to recover the unit. but with no success.
I set up the router (192.168.11.150) to distribute IPs 192.168.11.xxx and also set up the laptop with a fixed 192.168.11.1 address.
Disabled AV and firewall and the wireless card
When starting the TFTP Boot utility, it shows that it is listening on 192.168.11.1:69 and is accepting all requests BUT it does not communicate with the Buffalo unit at all.
At this point the unit does the same endless loop booting procedure.
I have also tried linking the unit directly to the laptop but that failed too.
Looking at the Ethernet status LED on the unit, there is some flickering, however, the laptop's ethernet led is just orange wich I believe means there's no exchange between the two.
Could you/anyone suggest anything else?
Many thanks.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2012 4:55 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:39 am
Posts: 2604
Maybe the "At this point the status LED turned AMBER and I switched off the unit"
killed the firmware on the disk.
The LED cycle of a firmware update is a blinking blue, restart, blinking amber (I25),
restart, blinking blue, steady blue. During the "blinking amber" the firmware is written
to the disk.
You can try to "recover by hand".
Remove the disk from the box and attach it to a PC running a Linux system (e.g.
a Linux Live CD) with XFS filesystem support.
Save your valuable data from the last partition of the disk (just to be sure to have
a backup).
Put the kernel (uImage.buffalo) and the initrd (initrd.buffalo) to the first partition.
Extract the userland (hddrootfs.buffalo) onto the second partition.
Put the disk back into the box and see if it boots.
If not, kill all partitions and restart with TFTP.
Don't forget to save your data from the last partition!

_________________
Please do not use private mail (PN/M) to ask questions. Use the proper forum instead. (me)

If there is no verified backup of a dataset, the dataset, by definition, is unimportant. (c't 2012)

RAID (no matter which level) never ever substitutes a backup. (me)


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2012 7:23 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 3:50 pm
Posts: 5
Kenatonline, thanks for previous posts.

I have now managed to recover my data trough linux and I was in the process of replacing the uimage.buffalo and initrd.buffalo files to the partition in order to be able to get the unit to boot.
Unfortunately the system isn't letting me replace the 2 files as I am not the owner. I tried changing the file/directory permissions on buffalo to do this but the system wouldn't let me change anything on buffalo's partition.
Is there anything else I could try?
Many thanks


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2012 1:46 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:39 am
Posts: 2604
Sounds as if the Buffalo disk was mounted as read only on your PC.
You have to mount read/write to be able to change anything on the
disk.

_________________
Please do not use private mail (PN/M) to ask questions. Use the proper forum instead. (me)

If there is no verified backup of a dataset, the dataset, by definition, is unimportant. (c't 2012)

RAID (no matter which level) never ever substitutes a backup. (me)


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited