Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Mon Nov 20, 2017 8:13 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 36 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: LS-XHL with 3TB disk
PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2011 1:12 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 11:40 am
Posts: 22
Ahh result, I cannot read japanese but remembered the settings tab and could make out a langauge option. I chose English and it now looks ok.

Image


So..., just 2TB of data to copy across now! :o


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: LS-XHL with 3TB disk
PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2011 8:13 am 
Online
Moderator

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:24 am
Posts: 2691
Do not update smartmontools!

otherwise you will get
Code:
root@Nas:~# smartctl -a -d marvell /dev/sda
smartctl 5.42 2011-10-20 r3458 [armv5tel-linux-2.6.31.8] (local build)
Copyright (C) 2002-11 by Bruce Allen, http://smartmontools.sourceforge.net

Segmentation fault
root@Nas:~#


The old tools work.

Code:
root@Nas:/tmp# smartctl -A -d marvell /dev/sda
smartctl version 5.37 [arm-none-linux-gnueabi] Copyright (C) 2002-6 Bruce Allen
Home page is http://smartmontools.sourceforge.net/

=== START OF READ SMART DATA SECTION ===
SMART Attributes Data Structure revision number: 16
Vendor Specific SMART Attributes with Thresholds:
ID# ATTRIBUTE_NAME          FLAG     VALUE WORST THRESH TYPE      UPDATED  WHEN_FAILED RAW_VALUE
  1 Raw_Read_Error_Rate     0x002f   200   200   051    Pre-fail  Always       -       0
  3 Spin_Up_Time            0x0027   253   170   021    Pre-fail  Always       -       2050
  4 Start_Stop_Count        0x0032   100   100   000    Old_age   Always       -       106
  5 Reallocated_Sector_Ct   0x0033   200   200   140    Pre-fail  Always       -       0
  7 Seek_Error_Rate         0x002e   200   200   000    Old_age   Always       -       0
  9 Power_On_Hours          0x0032   094   094   000    Old_age   Always       -       4524
 10 Spin_Retry_Count        0x0032   100   100   000    Old_age   Always       -       0
 11 Calibration_Retry_Count 0x0032   100   100   000    Old_age   Always       -       0
 12 Power_Cycle_Count       0x0032   100   100   000    Old_age   Always       -       105
192 Power-Off_Retract_Count 0x0032   200   200   000    Old_age   Always       -       101
193 Load_Cycle_Count        0x0032   188   188   000    Old_age   Always       -       37119
194 Temperature_Celsius     0x0022   110   098   000    Old_age   Always       -       42
196 Reallocated_Event_Count 0x0032   200   200   000    Old_age   Always       -       0
197 Current_Pending_Sector  0x0032   200   200   000    Old_age   Always       -       0
198 Offline_Uncorrectable   0x0030   200   200   000    Old_age   Offline      -       0
199 UDMA_CRC_Error_Count    0x0032   200   200   000    Old_age   Always       -       0
200 Multi_Zone_Error_Rate   0x0008   200   200   000    Old_age   Offline      -       0

root@Nas:/tmp#


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: LS-XHL with 3TB disk
PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2011 2:11 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 11:40 am
Posts: 22
Oxygen8 - was that response intended for a difererent topic?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: LS-XHL with 3TB disk
PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2011 3:31 pm 
Online
Moderator

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:24 am
Posts: 2691
I had asked you to test this because i had a problem with smartctl on my 3TB HDD.

I flashed the firmware again. Now smartctl works.

I've changed my old post.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: LS-XHL with 3TB disk
PostPosted: Fri Jul 27, 2012 6:27 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2012 6:01 pm
Posts: 1
Hi all,

Please be gentle, first time poster but I thought I’d post my results.

My Buffalo 2Tb LS-XHL NAS box started to flash red, on checking the hard drive was failing :( so I purchased a 3Tb WD Green and installed it.

On installation I got the 6 red flashes, I managed to get buffalo to send me the latest TFTP software (1.56) and followed the instructions sent and found a useful trick that might help if you are struggling.

I broke the switch as well during my removing and installing of the new hard drive so had to use a bit of wire. Procedure I followed below.

1. setup PC IPv4 address to 192.168.11.1 connect PC/Laptop via straight Ethernet cable (I thought it should be cross over)
2. wait for nas drive to boot - get 6 flashes of red continuously
2. start TFTP program
3. short the switch - nas box starts to rapid flash blue
4. TFPT program kicks in and transfers two blocks
5. use the nas navigator to find your nas box, it should be in EM mode
6. change your ip address to the next address in the range as shown in the nas navigator software (something like 169.254.85.9, gateway was 255.255.0.0, No further settings)
7.Start the LSupdater (I got version 1.56 from Buffalo)
8.Start the flash and it will fail….

Edit the LSUpdater.ini file in the firmware folder that says

[Flags]
VersionCheck = 1
NoFormatting = 1

To read

[Flags]
VersionCheck = 1
NoFormatting = 0

Save the file and start LSUpdater again, click the update button and it will force the firmware flash and format the drive, my 3Tb took about 5 minutes then got stuck waiting for reboot.

9. After the reboot, forced by the firmware update the NAS box came up back to 6 red flashes, So I reset my IPv4 address to 192.168.11.1 and ran the TFTP software again, it loaded the two blocks and the box started to flash orange (I25).

10. leave the box alone until the orange flashing changes to blue, I think it took about 20 minutes on mine.

Login to the interface and change to English.

That was it, I then could get back to a blank NAS box that showed 3Tb of free space 

Everything here has already been done so nothing new, the only difference I can see is the editing of the ini file to force a format of the disk which worked for me.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: LS-XHL with 3TB disk
PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2013 9:10 am 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 9:43 pm
Posts: 4
Hi all,

a few additions based on my personal experiences with installing a WD 3TB Red in my XHL.

a problem in my case was that the IP address of the NAS kept changing during my attempts to install the FW, forcing me to constantly update the IP of my PC to the same subnet, or to reboot the NAS. That was solved connecting via a router.

If you install one of the later stock FW mods by Shonk, note that Shonk has removed the the boot partition from the images. So your NAS will not be able to boot on its own, even though the OS works fine if you boot with TFTP.
To solve this, download the offcial stock FW for your NAS and update the boot partition only, using LSupdater under debug mode.

cheers!


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 36 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited