Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Sat Nov 18, 2017 4:00 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 36 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: LS-XHL with 3TB disk
PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2011 8:40 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:24 am
Posts: 2691
Yes. Or connect the point at the center and one of the points beside that.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: LS-XHL with 3TB disk
PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2011 9:33 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 11:40 am
Posts: 22
Ok well ill get a bit of wire today and have a go later tonight thx


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: LS-XHL with 3TB disk
PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2011 11:13 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 11:40 am
Posts: 22
You are a genius! Using the wire worked very simply. All I need now is to find a firmware update to work - i have an old one version 1.37 I think, it didnt like it - is there a newer one for 3TB disks?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: LS-XHL with 3TB disk
PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2011 11:38 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:24 am
Posts: 2691
You need an never then FW 1.41.

Use FW 1.54 Mod1 from Shonk

http://forum.buffalo.nas-central.org/viewtopic.php?f=68&t=23603

realize the bug:

Quote:
It would be a buffalo problem

There also seems to be a memory leak in 1.54 (also buffalo problem)
I have noticed twice now on 1.54 devices with an uptime of a few weeks
are only getting smb transfers of around 20meg
a reboot restores over 70meg transfers
I have noticed this on a VL + XHL + CHLv2's
so i dont think its going to be a hd problem knocking it into pio mode etc..
as all of them do it


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: LS-XHL with 3TB disk
PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2011 12:08 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 11:40 am
Posts: 22
Cool , i tried the 154 mod 1 - it doesnt work as the initial firmware though - it says that it cant confirm if the partition exists and aborts.
i had an old 1.26 firmware that used to allow you to recreate the partition in debug mode - by the looks of it 1.41 did that but doesnt seem to be available any more.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: LS-XHL with 3TB disk
PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2011 12:14 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 11:40 am
Posts: 22
Fingers crossed - stock firmware 1.54 may actually be working!


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: LS-XHL with 3TB disk
PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2011 12:17 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 11:40 am
Posts: 22
argghhhhh - no it didn't work, lsupdater transferred the firmware, rebooted the ls-xhl and then.....6 red lights of death!


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: LS-XHL with 3TB disk
PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2011 12:21 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:24 am
Posts: 2691
Use tftp 1.53 again.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: LS-XHL with 3TB disk
PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2011 12:36 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 11:40 am
Posts: 22
I tried tftp 1.53 - ok and got EM mode, reran stock 1.54 lsupdate in debug mode, recreate partition and force update options ticked.
seemed to be ok, said its transferring firmware and then it said rebooting linkstation. linkstation rebooted but came back with the 6 red leds. confused.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: LS-XHL with 3TB disk
PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2011 12:42 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 11:40 am
Posts: 22
hmmm, tried tftp 1.53 again, its flashing orange now - does that mean something?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: LS-XHL with 3TB disk
PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2011 12:44 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:24 am
Posts: 2691
tftp server is on. You need ip 192.168.11.1 und a 2nd from your network.
After rebooting press the funktion button again. thats it.
Yellow blinking.
Finish.

Do not start flashing firmware again.


translate:

http://forum.discountnetz.com/buffalo-technology-nas-anleitungen/anleitung-tftp-und-firmware-flashen-mit-bildern-t903.html


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: LS-XHL with 3TB disk
PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2011 12:47 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 11:40 am
Posts: 22
Well how weird is that? After a little while of flashing orange it rebooted and its now solid blue - oxygen8 you are a real genius of the linkstation :up:


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: LS-XHL with 3TB disk
PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2011 12:48 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 11:40 am
Posts: 22
I hope this thread helps other people who have a broken function button - keep a bit of wire in your draw!


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: LS-XHL with 3TB disk
PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2011 12:50 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:24 am
Posts: 2691
It is my hobby.

Good luck.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: LS-XHL with 3TB disk
PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2011 1:06 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 11:40 am
Posts: 22
I think I am going to cry.

Image

I wonder, I am pretty sure I had the european 1.54 lsupdater. I can only think that the 1.53 tftp I used was japanese!
Oh well I need sleep now so I think I understand the process - I will search out euroean 1.53 tftp.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 36 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited