Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Mon Sep 01, 2014 12:09 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2010 3:00 pm 
Total Newbie

Hello!

I've bought a used LS-XHL which has no harddisk. But I've got 2 hdds which I want to install in the NAS. Unfortunately updating the firmware with LSUpdater does not succeed. I searched many hours in this forum and others but didn't find an answer yet.

The 2 hdds Samsung HD154UI and WD6400-AAKS do not have any partition and are not formatted. When I install a harddisk and start the NAS the red LED flashes 6 times (E06). That means the hdd is recognized but the firmware is corrupted. Then I set on my computer (Win7 / XP) the IP 192.168.11.1 and connect the NAS directly or over a switch with my PC. The firewall is completely off. After starting "TFTP Boot Recovery 1.24 All 4 Models" it waits for reception. Now I press the function button and the LED starts flashing faster in blue color. After 5s TFTP starts downloading the two images:

I close TFTP and start LSUpdater 1.34, downloaded directly from http://www.buffalotech.com/support/downloads/. After 10s the LS-XHL is found and the blue LED glows continuously.

When I connect the NAS directly to the PC the IP is 169.254.25.50 instead of 192.168.139.103 but everything else is the same. In the debug-window I tried nearly all possibilities, also rebuild partition table:

Finally I click Update, but it says "Could not confirm whether the parition exists. Cannot update the firmware. Firmware updating is aborted":

That's the point where I do not know how to continue. Why does it want to confirm that a partition exists? I thought it should be a hdd without partition and formatting! Or should it have a ext3 format?
I have exactly the same error message in Windows 7 and XP and with both hdds. But both hdds are working fine in Windows and do not seem to have any problem. The Samsung is brand new.