Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Sun Nov 19, 2017 8:29 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2010 10:51 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 10:47 am
Posts: 17
Hello everyone!
I just bought the linkstation pro 1 TB , i berlieve the codename is LS-XHL
Since im not an expert i have a few questions.

Is it possible to use the linkstation as download center?
Is only BT downloads supported or also MU/RS and emule?
do i need a particular Fw dto do such things?
Thanks for you help

:up:


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2010 11:16 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 1:46 pm
Posts: 48
HSH wrote:
Hello everyone!
I just bought the linkstation pro 1 TB , i berlieve the codename is LS-XHL
Since im not an expert i have a few questions.

Is it possible to use the linkstation as download center?
Is only BT downloads supported or also MU/RS and emule?
do i need a particular Fw dto do such things?
Thanks for you help

:up:


:D
1. Yes, you can use it as download center (please upgrade to 1.31 to get uTorrent client and better performance).
2. The stock FW only support BT, if you want MU/RS, you can install some Python script (google for them), however, it requires you to update the kernel/modules/lib...etc.... not recommend if you don't get familiar with these things !!! I just did this on my Linkstation Pro LS-GL with stock FW, I didn't do this on XHL since my XHL is running Debian....


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2010 11:27 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 10:47 am
Posts: 17
to ugrade to 1.31 do i need special knowloedge or is it easy?
because i don't want to screw it up since it's brand new.
Will my warranty be still valid wit this upgrade?

what about the Debian installation?
would it make my warranty expire?

thanks again for the quick answer :D


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2010 3:41 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 10:25 am
Posts: 30
I did try to upgrade my lsxhl, it is pretty simple that just run the application provided by Buffalo with the new firmware.

_________________
Welcome to my website running on LXSHL.
Forum | WIKI | BLOG


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2010 4:59 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 10:47 am
Posts: 17
ok, and what about the MU-RS download option?
does it exist a procedure or a guide to enable this?


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2010 5:24 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 10:25 am
Posts: 30
I knows nothing about opened stock firmware, sorry about that.

_________________
Welcome to my website running on LXSHL.
Forum | WIKI | BLOG


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2010 5:57 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 10:47 am
Posts: 17
ok thanks, i'll wait for someone else to enlight me :mrgreen:


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2010 12:02 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 10:25 am
Posts: 30
Have you searched on wiki?

_________________
Welcome to my website running on LXSHL.
Forum | WIKI | BLOG


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2010 6:15 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 10:47 am
Posts: 17
no, but it don't think i will use those features, anyway.

another question: how do i check the integrated HDD health?
i mean, if it's failing how can i know? i searched for a S.M.A.R.T. section but did not find it


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2010 3:03 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 10:25 am
Posts: 30
You cannot find the S.M.A.R.T data? do you have the smartctl installed?

_________________
Welcome to my website running on LXSHL.
Forum | WIKI | BLOG


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2010 9:15 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 10:47 am
Posts: 17
changch841 wrote:
You cannot find the S.M.A.R.T data? do you have the smartctl installed?


i think i don't have this tool installed, because i am using the Buffalo "out of the box"
how so i install it? is it risky ?


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2010 8:30 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:24 am
Posts: 2691
Use Email Notification:
HDD Status Report
Disk Error


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 9:50 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 10:47 am
Posts: 17
So it's already installed or is it a different thing against smartctl ?

and, now i have FW 1.24

if i upgrade to 1.31 which are the improvements? do you have a changelog ?
Do i risk to lose the data?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 14, 2010 2:48 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 10:47 am
Posts: 17
up! :p


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 10:45 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 10:47 am
Posts: 17
Now i also tried to make bit torrent working but torrents doesnt starts
my download manager says "Torrent URL has been sent."
but never shows it on the list.

if i provide the torrent file it remains to zero %

i have FW 1.24

my linkstation pro have IP 192.168.0.47 and the PC that share the internet connection is 192.168.0.5 and is set as primary gateway on the linkstation.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited