Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Thu Nov 23, 2017 8:19 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Nov 19, 2010 1:28 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2010 3:12 am
Posts: 10
Holy smokes! It worked! :up: (note, I nearly never use emoticons -- that's how happy I am!)

Two more questions -- the LSUpdater showed some error message when it was done, something about "Unable to verify firmware version, update may have failed". I'm inclined to leave it alone, but I'm willing to try updating again if you think that's wise. When the update happened, I had everything checked off except for Rebuild Partition Table, but it seems to have updated everything.

Also, the version is now 1.31 -- should I try and update to 1.34, which is what Buffalo currently has, or should I leave it alone?

Thanks to everyone for you help and patience!


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Nov 19, 2010 5:36 am 
Online
Moderator

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:24 am
Posts: 2691
Stay on 1.31 from Shonk.
You can telnet as root. Usefull for nassetup.exe (Twonky 6)


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Nov 19, 2010 3:25 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2010 3:12 am
Posts: 10
Sounds good to me. Thanks again!

(now to look up nassetup.exe, on to a new adventure)


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2010 4:07 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2010 1:57 pm
Posts: 5
1 I have deleted all Partitions with Windows.
[*Image
2 LSUpdater has found the ls-chl-em
Image
3 I have seted "Rebuild Partition Table"
Image
4 LSUpdater failed
Image

Why?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2010 4:21 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2010 1:57 pm
Posts: 5
LS-CH1.0TL V2 change new hdd 2TB


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2010 6:22 pm 
Online
Moderator

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:24 am
Posts: 2691
Hi lkkj

LS-CHL-EMXXX -> LS-CHL V1
(LS-CHLV2-EMXXX -> LS-CHL V2)

So use:

TFTP:
http://www.lust-molche.com/discountnetz ... 201.06.exe

FW:
http://www.buffalotech.com/support/getf ... hl-107.zip


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2010 2:22 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2010 1:57 pm
Posts: 5
But my interface is red looked like
Image

use:
TFTP:
http://www.lust-molche.com/discountnetz ... 201.06.exe
FW:
http://www.buffalotech.com/support/getf ... hl-107.zip

After TFTP(1.06), it keeps flashing blue light.

LSUpdater has not found the ls-chl-em.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2010 4:53 pm 
Online
Moderator

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:24 am
Posts: 2691
(LS-CHLV2-EMXXX -> LS-CHL V2)

TFTP: http://www.lust-molche.com/discountnetz ... Models.zip
FW1.37: viewtopic.php?f=68&t=21865


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2011 7:45 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2011 7:31 pm
Posts: 1
Hey,

I know this thread is a little old but wanted to add a thank you for this as it fixed my LS-CHLV2 after nothing else I tried worked.

The only difference I had to do to get it to work was to unplug the power cable, flip the switch to "ON", hold down the function button while plugging in the power cable. Then I just held the function button down until the NAS started to pull the files from the TFTP program. The standard way of holding down the function button then turn the power switch to on, then release then hold the function button again just never worked for me. Doing it this way it booted, then eventually went to a solid blue light, after about 2-3 minutes. Then I put the IP on my LAN back to DHCP then found the NAS in Navi to make sure it could be seen then flashed it with Shonk's 1.37 mod 1 firmware.

I've been fighting with this NAS for about 4 days now after it froze and died while I was flashing it again with 1.37FW following Buffalo's instructions. I had tried every fix I could find, even trying to fix it with the 1.06 TFTP and this is the only one that worked.

So a big thank you from another (now) happy Buffalo Linkstation owner.

:biglol: :up: :biglol:


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2012 5:55 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 9:50 am
Posts: 1
Having trouble with the TFTP part of this equation. Here is what I have done so far.

* Connected LS to computer with network cable
* Set computer IP to 192.168.11.1
* Run TFTP Boot Recovery 1.24 All 4 Models (accepting requests)
* Powered up LS
* uImage.buffalo 4075 blocks served but initrd.buffalo timeout

I am not able to see the LS with the new hard drive using LS updater and Navigator2.

The LS blinks 6 red lights.

Please advise.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2012 7:59 pm 
Online
Moderator

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:24 am
Posts: 2691
Use WinXP and DHCP!


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 7:11 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 10:03 pm
Posts: 1
Hello
I'm responding to this old threat because my problem fits into:

I bought a new hd (3 Tb) for my LS-ch1.0tl-eu (red interface) and tried to flash it.
After several attempts it worked, but when i switch the ls of and start it again, it
flashes 6x red .

After a new tft (192.168.11.1) i have again webaccess and i can write data on the LS.
But after each power off (and on) : 6x red!

what i did:

set pc (windows xp) ip to 192.168.11.1

run tftp 1.24 or 1.53 (sometime the first sometimes the last one works, original 1.06 did not work)

boot nas press button to tftp it

wait for it to finish (still blue light)

when it finishes it got an ip:169.254.159.95 (according nas navigator, no web access or ping)

set pc back to dhcp

run shonk 1.53 LSupdater and update it (with and without format and rebuild part. table)
can't get access
Put pc and LS to router, can get access then and writes firmware.

Everything works well till power off.
The LS is usable but i have less confidence.

What did i do wrong, can i do?

Edit: now Shonk 1.64 on Linkstation; also installed Transmission.
Everything working perfect except after power-on still need to tftp=it.
Is it possible to manualy copy the missing files (which to where?) to the LS ??

thanks,
Peter


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2015 3:56 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 3:49 pm
Posts: 2
I know this is an old topic, but apparently the issue is still quite relevant. Here is my story:

I have a LinkStation ls-ch1 (.0tl, I think) with a 1TB disk in it. It recently became unavailable on my network.

Using NasNavigator, I could see it was in EM mode, so I followed the instructions like many before me. However, after reinstalling the firmware, I was told that the update failed, and I now have the 6 red flashes. Here is where I ended up last night:

1) Connect LS directly to my laptop via ethernet
2) Laptop IP = 192.168.11.1
3) Fire up TFTP boot
4) Power off LS, hold down function, power on
5) The two lines appear in the console, as expected

BUT from here on, I am simply unable to find the LS. Neither the LSUpdater, nor the NasNavigator can locate it, no matter what IP I put my Laptop at, and I cannot ping the LS in any way (not even when pinging 192.168.11.150).

I should stress at this point that what I am really interested in is the data!!!

I recently bought a Synology, which is what I want to move the data to. So I am primarily interesting in getting in contact with my data on the desk. Any advice is greatly appreciated. It seems that the linkstation cannot simply be opened and the disk taken out. If I can get the disk out, is it then possible to connect it as a slave (or whatever the term is in SATA world), so I can access the data and copy it to my synology.

I really hope someone out there can help me out, thanks in advance for any assistance you can provide me.

Brgds,
Kristian


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited