Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Mon May 28, 2018 11:04 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 4:18 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2010 4:11 pm
Posts: 2
Hi all,
Hoping someone can realy help me.
I've bought a new LS-XHL device.
I put it on our network, but it was causing an IP conflict.
Therefore stupidly when I next logged onto it I deleted the "share" drive.
Now, no matter how many times I do a factory reset, when I go into the create shared folders tab, I'm not able to create a shared space for data, the Volume drop down tab doesn't offer me any choices.
When I look at "Storage" on the left hand side of the web interface it says "not available" - but it was there first thing this morning before I removed/deleted it.
I've tried doing a firmware update, but even that won't see my device (I have two other fully working Linkstation devices working on my network) so I do have a little experience of working with them, but for the life of me, I can get the "share" folder to re-appear.
Can anyone out there offer advice to get this back up and running? I would really appreciate it. :D
Sven


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2010 8:39 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:39 am
Posts: 2604
If you don't mind to loose any data on the box, you
can do a "real" reset to revert the box to the state
it left the factory.
Add this to your LSUpdater.ini:
[SpecialFlags]
Debug=1

When started the LSUpdater.exe, click left on the two
golden rings in the upper left. Choose the menuitem
"Debug (D) ...".
Select to rebuild the partitions, to not check the version
at least and then start the firmware update.
This should revert the box to factory standard.

_________________
Please do not use private mail (PN/M) to ask questions. Use the proper forum instead. (me)

If there is no verified backup of a dataset, the dataset, by definition, is unimportant. (c't 2012)

RAID (no matter which level) never ever substitutes a backup. (me)


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2010 9:31 am 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2010 4:11 pm
Posts: 2
Thanks for replying.
I've downloaded the correct .exe file for my Linkstation
However, it doesn't see it on the network or even when I physically connect it to my PC.
What am I doing wrong?
Thanks in advance


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2010 2:15 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:39 am
Posts: 2604
Because you said in your first post, that a IP conflict existed,
I assume you configured the box to have a static IP address.
Is your PC configured to be in the same subnet when you
connect the box to the PC? Is the netmask identical?
Did you add the entry into the LSUpdater.ini?

_________________
Please do not use private mail (PN/M) to ask questions. Use the proper forum instead. (me)

If there is no verified backup of a dataset, the dataset, by definition, is unimportant. (c't 2012)

RAID (no matter which level) never ever substitutes a backup. (me)


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited