Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Mon Aug 20, 2018 6:03 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: LS-QVL help
PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2014 7:51 am 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 7:21 am
Posts: 4
Hi guys, firstly I am quite new to the word of NAS so I'm looking for some help restoring my NAS/RAID back to a working state.

I have been running a LS-QVL firmware 1.68 with 4 x 3tb Western Digital WD30EZRX drives in RAID 5 for over a year without any issues. A few days ago I had a power outage, when I turned the NAS back on after power was restored I was getting an error E30 and a message stating drive 4 had too many bad sectors and the RAID was running in degraded mode. At this point my files were still accessible.

I then purchased a new Western Digital WD30EFRX drive to replace the old one, installed the new drive then hit the rebuild RAID button. This took roughly 24 hours to finish and when complete I was left with another error message this time stating drive 3 has too many bad sectors and again the RAID is in degraded mode. Now whats different this time is that when I open the web settings menu under storage and in the RAID Array section it is saying that Array 1 is not configured whereas last time my RAID 5 array was visible. Above that in the Disks section the status of Disks 1,2, & 4 are Array 1 and Disk 3 says Error.

Currently none of my files are accessible. This has me very worried. :oops: Also it seems because the system is saying Array 1 not configured the "rebuild RAID" button is grayed out and not accessible.

I am wondering if I buy another replacement drive and install it into the NAS will I be able to rebuild my RAID array again without data loss? I would greatly appreciate any help/advice given.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: LS-QVL help
PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2014 9:30 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:24 am
Posts: 2734
after powerfailure do not trust the damaged buffalo firmware

flash the firmware
if you flash the same version you must use force update (debug options)

after that
open ssh

check the real state of your array
Code:
cat /proc/mdstat


check your drives

Code:
smartctl -d marvell -a /dev/sda
smartctl -d marvell -a /dev/sdb
smartctl -d marvell -a /dev/sdc
smartctl -d marvell -a /dev/sdd



check your mount points
Code:
mount



post all outputs here


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: LS-QVL help
PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2014 10:22 am 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 7:21 am
Posts: 4
Thanks for the reply oxygen8, forgive my ignorance but I have no idea how to force update the firmware or do the other steps you have recommended... :oops:


edit: I figured out how to force the firmware to update, waiting on that now.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: LS-QVL help
PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2014 12:54 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 7:21 am
Posts: 4
i have flashed the firmware. now i am following this guide http://josephlo.wordpress.com/2011/04/1 ... as-part-2/ to gain access to ssh, ive made it up to logging in but putty wont accept the password i have chosen so ive stalled. i have repeated the steps again with the same result. is this is an issue with this methods compatibility with firmware 1.68? is there a guide available for the 1.68 firmware?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: LS-QVL help
PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2014 2:48 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:24 am
Posts: 2734
use
http://advanxer.com/blog/2013/02/buffal ... ander-gui/

1. click on "Set root PW"
2. click on "Enable SSH"


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: LS-QVL help
PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2014 10:03 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 7:21 am
Posts: 4
Thanks oxygen, that was much easier :) In the meantime I have removed drive 3 and powered on the NAS, my files are available again. Does this mean simply replacing the drive and rebuilding like I did before will bring me back to normal operation?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: LS-QVL help
PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2014 11:06 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:24 am
Posts: 2734
i do not trust buffalo
ask mdadm and s.m.a.r.t

backup your Data! then rebuild your array again


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited