Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Mon Aug 20, 2018 6:03 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2014 2:43 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2014 2:32 pm
Posts: 4
Hey there,

posted this problem on german nas-hilfe.de forum already. But this circumstance makes me crazy, so posted here, too. Sorry for crosspost :|

I installed Debian Wheezy on my LS-QVL with this HowTo:
http://buffalo.nas-central.org/wiki/Deb ... _others%29

and considered following aspects for wheezy instead of squeeze:
viewtopic.php?f=68&t=27791

My system has an array (RAID5) and no single disks.

The installations seems broken, my linkstation doesn't boot. Perhaps it's only a corrupted/wrong fstab, but I can't correct this now.

Is it possible to recover the system to the previous condition, which is 1.65-MOD1b by shonk?

In my opinion I only changed the used initrd, to boot Debian instead of 1.65-MOD1b

Do I have any change to recover the initrd via TFTP? Do I have to reflash the firmware in any case?

How is the procedure? Which version of (buffalo) TFTP do I need? And which firmware do I have to flash afterwards? The original buffalo firmware or the moddet one?

How can I make sure that my data on my RAID array stay untouched? Is this possible?

Any answers appreciated

Thanks and best regards

Lacunoc


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2014 5:50 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2014 2:32 pm
Posts: 4
When the Linkstation is starting, the power led is flashing "blue" without any code. The drives are first flashing and then glowing green.

A recovery with pressing the function button before powering on the linkstation do nothing then flashing the function LED, too.

A recovery with TFTP boot (Computer IP 192.168.11.1), network cable directly linked to the linkstation has no success, too. The TFTP Server is waiting for any connection but there isn't any coming from the linkstation.

Do I miss something? Is it hard bricked? Only because of replacing an initrd file?


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 8:56 am 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2014 2:32 pm
Posts: 4
bump :?

Any chances to get this working no matter how?


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 1:05 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:39 am
Posts: 2604
Put two EMPTY disks into the box (read: disks without any
partitions) and then try TFTP with the matching firmware
for your box, which is, by the way, no Orion but a Kirkwood
based box.
If you are unsure about the TFTP package for your box, get
in touch with Buffalo support. They should be able to provide
the TFTP package.

_________________
Please do not use private mail (PN/M) to ask questions. Use the proper forum instead. (me)

If there is no verified backup of a dataset, the dataset, by definition, is unimportant. (c't 2012)

RAID (no matter which level) never ever substitutes a backup. (me)


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2014 7:01 am 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2014 2:32 pm
Posts: 4
Thanks for your answer kenatonline!

I called buffalo support last week and tried several things. They told me, that because of the circumstance, that I have the enclosure version without disks, it's not possible to do a TFTP boot or to recover the OS, because it's separated on a chip. I have to return the linkstation for a replacement.

Is this correct?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2014 12:47 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:39 am
Posts: 2604
I doubt, but if THEY say it is this way....
Never had a Buffalo RAID box (read: box with more than
one disk) and never will. So maybe there is a difference
between the single disk and multi disk boxes.
Strange thing is, that they share the same firmware files.
Ymmv.

_________________
Please do not use private mail (PN/M) to ask questions. Use the proper forum instead. (me)

If there is no verified backup of a dataset, the dataset, by definition, is unimportant. (c't 2012)

RAID (no matter which level) never ever substitutes a backup. (me)


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited