Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Sat Jan 20, 2018 4:08 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: disk replacement
PostPosted: Thu Nov 21, 2013 6:04 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2013 5:48 pm
Posts: 2
Hi
Do you have to have specific Buffalo drives to replace the ones in the Linkstation or can you use any suitable Seagate barracuda ones?

Thanks

Rob


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: disk replacement
PostPosted: Fri Nov 22, 2013 12:40 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:39 am
Posts: 2604
If you really have a LS-QL out of the Orion series, you will
have to take a 512k sector disk, not a 4k sector disk.
And you are limited to 2TB per disk.

_________________
Please do not use private mail (PN/M) to ask questions. Use the proper forum instead. (me)

If there is no verified backup of a dataset, the dataset, by definition, is unimportant. (c't 2012)

RAID (no matter which level) never ever substitutes a backup. (me)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: disk replacement
PostPosted: Fri Nov 22, 2013 2:56 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2013 5:48 pm
Posts: 2
Thanks for the reply,
How can I tell if the LS-QL is Orion or not?
Also what should I be looking for on the drives as an indication of the sector size?, are there specific model numbers I should look for.

The LS QL is a 4TB, I just want to replace a couple of drives that "seem" to be bad, I just want to make sure the drives I get are compatible.

Thanks in advance

Rob


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: disk replacement
PostPosted: Sat Nov 23, 2013 12:31 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:39 am
Posts: 2604
Take "acp_commander.jar" and determine via "-c 'uname -a'"
which kernel is used.
You will need to use "-t" AND "-ip" to be able to get a respond
from "-c".

_________________
Please do not use private mail (PN/M) to ask questions. Use the proper forum instead. (me)

If there is no verified backup of a dataset, the dataset, by definition, is unimportant. (c't 2012)

RAID (no matter which level) never ever substitutes a backup. (me)


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited