Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Tue Oct 21, 2014 11:31 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Dec 01, 2013 12:43 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 12:29 am
Posts: 7
I bought a LinkStation Pro Quad last week and have had enough problems with it that I want to return it. Before I do, however, I want to securely wipe the drives. I've deleted the quarter-million files I had on it, and now i want to wipe all the space not presently occupied by the OS. Is there a way of doing that? I can connect to it with SSH.

Thanks in advance,
Joe


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 01, 2013 7:10 pm 
Offline
Regular Member

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:24 am
Posts: 1868
with ssh on your box

search your devices with
Code:
mount


Code:
/dev/md21 on /mnt/disk1 type xfs (rw,noatime,usrquota,grpquota)
/dev/md22 on /mnt/disk2 type xfs (rw,noatime,usrquota,grpquota)
/dev/md24 on /mnt/disk4 type xfs (rw,noatime,attr2,usrquota,grpquota)


in my example i have to overwrite disk1, disk2 and disk4
disk3 removed

Code:
dd if=/dev/random of=/mnt/disk1 count=1 bs=512

dd if=/dev/random of=/mnt/disk2 count=1 bs=512

dd if=/dev/random of=/mnt/disk4 count=1 bs=512


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 01, 2013 8:09 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 12:29 am
Posts: 7
Does that leave the operating system files intact, or does it wipe everything? (I don't want to return the device in a non functioning state.)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 01, 2013 8:22 pm 
Offline
Regular Member

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:24 am
Posts: 1868
only use the data partition

/mnt/diskX or /mnt/arrayX


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 01, 2013 8:40 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 12:29 am
Posts: 7
Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 01, 2013 11:27 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 12:29 am
Posts: 7
"mount" produces the following:

Code:
rootfs on / type rootfs (rw)
/dev/root on / type ext3 (rw,relatime,errors=continue,barrier=0,data=writeback)
proc on /proc type proc (rw,relatime)
sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw,relatime)
udev on /dev type tmpfs (rw,nosuid,relatime,size=10240k,mode=755)
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,relatime,gid=4,mode=620)
/dev/ram1 on /mnt/ram type tmpfs (rw,relatime,size=15360k)
/dev/md0 on /boot type ext3 (rw,relatime,errors=continue,barrier=1,data=writeback)
usbfs on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (rw,relatime)
/dev/md2 on /mnt/array1 type xfs (rw,noatime,sunit=1024,swidth=3072,usrquota,grpquota)
tmpfs on /mnt/ram/com.kernel.org type tmpfs (rw,relatime,size=8192k)


It seems that /dev/md2 on /mnt/array1 is what I'm looking for, especially since it contains the directory name "share".

So, is that it? Or are there more? If so, how do I identify them?

Thanks in advance,
Joe


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 01, 2013 11:39 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 12:29 am
Posts: 7
Also:
Code:
dd if=/dev/random of=/mnt/array1 count=1 bs=4096

produces:
Code:
dd:can't open '/mnt/array1': Is a directory

What now?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 02, 2013 12:00 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 12:29 am
Posts: 7
OK. I tried
Code:
dd if=/dev/random of=/dev/md2 count=1 bs=4096

It returned immediately with the output
Code:
0+1 records in
0+1 records out

Then, using df -k, I determined the number free 1K blocks in /dev/md2, and tried:
Code:
dd if=/dev/random of=/dev/md2 count=5814802432 bs=1024

It's still busy. Seems to be working!
Stand by. I'll let you know. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 09, 2013 4:33 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 12:29 am
Posts: 7
Well, after a week I had a closer look. The process was still running (I had launched it under nohup as a background process). Suspecting that it should have finished by now, I had a closer look, and found its status was "sleeping".

I have no idea how long it had been sleeping, but I fear it was from the beginning. Bummer. I'm returning the box tomorrow, files deleted but not wiped.

Can anyone tell me what, if anything, went wrong?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 09, 2013 8:46 am 
Offline
Regular Member

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:24 am
Posts: 1868
i use sreen tu run processes with disconnecting my pc

Package: screen
Version: 4.0.3-2
Depends: termcap
Section: term
Architecture: arm
Maintainer: NSLU2 Linux <nslu2-linux@yahoogroups.com>
MD5Sum: d4163843e36e60dcabfcfe9a2b8a9a92
Size: 541331
Filename: screen_4.0.3-2_arm.ipk
Source: ftp://ftp.uni-erlangen.de/pub/utilities ... 0.3.tar.gz
Description: A screen manager that supports multiple logins on single terminal


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group