Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Thu Aug 16, 2018 12:47 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2016 11:29 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2016 10:31 pm
Posts: 8
I try to recover data from a linkstation mini LS-WS configured in RAID 5

To do that I use a Live USB key with Knoppix and I have connected the two disks with a SATA/USB adaptator on my PC

When I try to find the device I see nothing

In this context anyone could tell me what type of Unix command I must use to retrieve the data ?

Thanks


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2016 1:21 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:24 am
Posts: 2734
LS Mini is able to run raid 0 or raid 1.

1. check your drives with crystal disk info
do not start tests!!!
read the actual status.
if one drive is not GOOD make a clone of this drive


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2016 5:10 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2016 10:31 pm
Posts: 8
oxygen8 wrote:
LS Mini is able to run raid 0 or raid 1.

1. check your drives with crystal disk info
do not start tests!!!
read the actual status.
if one drive is not GOOD make a clone of this drive



Thanks for your update .

I have tested the disks with crystal disk . The two disks are good

Do you know what type of tools I could use for retrieve the data ?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2016 5:24 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:24 am
Posts: 2734
are you root?

if not try
Code:
su -


post the output from

Code:
cat /proc/partitions


and

Code:
cat /proc/mdstat


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2016 7:53 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2016 10:31 pm
Posts: 8
major minor #blocks name

240 0 2014208 cloop0
8 0 488386584 sda
8 1 512000 sda1
8 2 487872512 sda2
11 0 1048575 sr0
251 0 2330948 zram0
8 16 488386584 sdb
8 17 1004931 sdb1
8 18 5004247 sdb2
8 20 1 sdb4
8 21 1004031 sdb5
8 22 480480021 sdb6
8 96 15325844 sdg
8 97 15325828 sdg1
8 112 488386584 sdh
8 113 1004031 sdh1
8 114 5004247 sdh2
8 116 1 sdh4
8 117 1004031 sdh5
8 118 480480021 sdh6

root @Microknoppix :~# cat /proc/mdstat
cat: /proc/mdstat : No such file or directory
root@Microknopp ix :~#


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2016 8:49 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:24 am
Posts: 2734
install mdadm


Code:
apt-get install mdadm 


from
http://forum.buffalo.nas-central.org/viewtopic.php?f=61&t=27565
then start your raid


Code:
mdadm --assemble /dev/md0 /dev/sd[bh]6



mount the raid
Code:
mkdir /tmp/test

mount /dev/md0 /tmp/test

ls -l /tmp/test


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:31 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2016 10:31 pm
Posts: 8
as result I obtain :

2 root root 6 Oct 31 2007 share
4 root root 28 Oct 31 2007 spool

but I see no data


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2016 9:11 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:24 am
Posts: 2734
maybe you have create a new raid over your old


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 07, 2016 8:01 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2016 10:31 pm
Posts: 8
How can I identify my two disks in the list "cat /proc/partitions" ?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 07, 2016 9:48 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2016 10:31 pm
Posts: 8
I have reboot my system and think that I have identified the partitions in relation with the two disks

the first disk has the partitions
sdb
sdb1
sdb2
sdb4
sdb5
sdb6

the second disk has the partitions
sdi
sdi1
sdi2
sdi4
sdi5
sdi6

in this context could you tell me what assembly syntax I must use ?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 07, 2016 9:54 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:24 am
Posts: 2734
Code:
mdadm --assemble /dev/md0 /dev/sd[bi]6


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2016 6:43 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2016 10:31 pm
Posts: 8
When I excute the mdadm --assemble I see only two folders (share and spool)

That means that I have losted my data ?

I think my linksatation was not configured in RAID 5 but in RAID 1 because I had two devices
of same size, configured in mirrors mode


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2016 8:57 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:24 am
Posts: 2734
Quote:
LS Mini is able to run raid 0 or raid 1.


Quote:
maybe you have create a new raid over your old


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2016 10:16 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2016 10:31 pm
Posts: 8
there is an solution to retrieve the old raid ?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2016 11:22 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:24 am
Posts: 2734
if you need the data, use a restoreservice

you can delete the raid and build a new one

which raid is running?

Code:
cat /proc/mdstat


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited