Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Fri Aug 17, 2018 12:47 pm

All times are UTC+01:00

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2012 8:56 pm 
Total Newbie

[The device is not visible over the network, and there is not a serial port to ssh into, even if Buffalo allowed it, which I doubt they would. tftp only on other devices that had the serial port. The device runs, apparently normal, but simply does nothing at all useful. NasiNav cant see it even with a direct, known-good ethernet cable. Therefore, firmware revision is unknown.]

Backstory:

A User has lost access to data stored on a NAS device drive Buffalo LS-W1.0TGL/R1. THe unit has a default filessystem setup, using the entire available drive space for storage RAID0

Drive contains the primary and only copies of digital photos of her children since their birth, and other sentimental items. She thought bysaving it on the device she was performing a "backup". This is the only copy of the date in existence if the data still resides on the drives. Buffalo support has not been helpful thus far, by phone, according to the User. Therefore, I have ended up with this project.

The partition (table listing is below) uses an XFS file system.

This article practically reiterates the entire problem we are also dealing with. the XFS component has made the project particularly enjoyable for the user and myself! :-)
http://forums.popphoto.com/showthread.p ... alo-drives

I have been using Ubuntu12.04 Secure Remix, installed to a computer, and also Rescue Remix as a LiveCD

ATTEMPTS THUS FAR:

After plugging the drives into Windows7 and MacOS, just to see if I got lucky, I ran Matrox Kryptonite which balked since XFS support is weak. [XFS and Mac's BSD Unix just made my eyes bleed].

So, I rolled up my sleeves and used my trusty Ubuntu 12 laptop. It's an HP laptop, so it keeps the room nice and toasty! ;-)