Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Fri Aug 22, 2014 8:48 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Aug 12, 2008 3:49 pm 
Offline
Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 3:23 pm
Posts: 160
Location: Kobe, Japan
:!: :!: :!: :down: :D

HOWTO add serial port to Linkstation Mini


Last edited by LaitrKeiows on Tue Sep 09, 2008 12:38 pm, edited 6 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2008 9:43 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2008 11:16 am
Posts: 34
Location: Somewhere over the hill
Are you sure you really need Vcc? I've never connected it using usb-serial adapters on other hardware.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 23, 2008 10:39 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2008 11:16 am
Posts: 34
Location: Somewhere over the hill
I can't seem to get it to work either. I'm using a usb/serial adapter I use for other hardware: I know it works properly.

I too have tried to switch tx/rx, but to no avail. I've also measured vcc/gnd: they are correct on pins 3 and 4 respectively. Pin 4 being the longest of the four copper pads and pin 3 the second longest.

We could look into uboot to see what's going on, but I can't seem to find them on the buffalo's gpl web site: http://opensource.buffalo.jp/. Aren't they gpl?

Hmm, do they need pull-ups? I'll try that later...

_________________
LS-WSGL/R1 Linkstation Mini (stock, not for long...)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 23, 2008 10:56 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2008 11:16 am
Posts: 34
Location: Somewhere over the hill
I was unable to measure any continuity, to neither gnd nor vcc. Normally one would be able measure something, anything. I even swapped the probes, but also a nogo. Shouldn't I be able to measure a diode in the cpu, or something other than nothing. Endless resistance to gnd/vcc and no diode anywhere.

I guess, I'll have to take another look at the kernel gpp configuration...

_________________
LS-WSGL/R1 Linkstation Mini (stock, not for long...)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 23, 2008 3:07 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 1:15 am
Posts: 2606
Is it the correct port/location on the board?

Also, do you have minicom configured correctly?

(I realize these are very basic questions... just thinking out loud... I've read about UBoot versions in Linksys units that don't allow the user to halt the boot process. But what you are experiencing is _not being able to see anything_...)



http://www.yamasita.jp/linkstation/ doesn't seem to have one yet...

_________________
LS1 (foonas, nfs, Tranmission & p910nd print server, Firefly for my Roku)
LS-HG500 (Lenny)
Various LS-Pros v1,v2 (unbricked w/ serial & jtag)
KuroPro, LS2 & KuroHG (foonas)
Working on davysweather.dyndns.org lately...

=> wooohooo!
wooohooo!
Unknown command 'wooohooo!' - try 'help'


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2008 1:52 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2008 11:16 am
Posts: 34
Location: Somewhere over the hill
Looking at the kernel configuration for ls wsgl (mini) that the rx (mpp16) / tx (mpp 17) pins are configured for other purposes: BIT_USB_PWR, BIT_AUTO_POWER respectively.

Code:
BIT_USB_PWR        -> MVPG3[01] pin 10(?) (shutdown)
BIT_AUTO_POWER -> switch position 2


The MVPG3[01] are buck (step-down) regulators to enable software power off capabilities to the minis. AFAICS, they're for sata[01] and usb. Maybe, just maybe we can get the minis' console to work during boot. I wish I had an oscilloscope to take a look at those pins during the boot sequence...

Code:
 #elif defined(CONFIG_BUFFALO_LINKSTATION_LSWSGL_R1)
   #define CONFIG_BUFFALO_USE_LED_POWER_REVERSE
   #define BIT_LED_RESERVE1   0
   #define BIT_HDD_PWR        1  // BuffaloGpio_HddPowerO[fn]f?
   #define BIT_LED_ALARM      2
   #define BIT_LED_INFO       3
   #define BIT_LED_FUNC       9
   #define BIT_LED_ETH        11 //dummy
   #define BIT_LED_PWR        14
   #define BIT_LED_RESERVE2   14
   #define BIT_LED_RESERVE3   14
   #define BIT_LED_RESERVE4   14
   #define BIT_FUNC           15
   #define BIT_USB_PWR        16
   #define BIT_AUTO_POWER     17
   #define BIT_POWER          18
   #define BIT_HDD_PWR1       19 // BuffaloGpio_HddPowerO[fn]f?
 #endif

_________________
LS-WSGL/R1 Linkstation Mini (stock, not for long...)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2008 2:00 pm 
Offline
Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 3:23 pm
Posts: 160
Location: Kobe, Japan
From this guide: http://buffalo.nas-central.org/index.ph ... inkstation
Quote:
6. Connect together rxd and txd (just twisting them together is fine), and type some more. The characters which you see should appear back in the terminal window... Congratulations, you have just made a "loop back cable", and you have got the pin assignments correct.

I found that SCON-KIT/PRO I have does not pass this test, so I bought and prepared a DKU-5 cable, confirmed to be working.
johnbock wrote:
Looking at the kernel configuration for ls wsgl (mini) that the rx (mpp16) / tx (mpp 17) pins are configured for other purposes: BIT_USB_PWR, BIT_AUTO_POWER respectively.

Should I try with a new cable, or it won't work out either?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2008 3:41 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2008 11:16 am
Posts: 34
Location: Somewhere over the hill
LaitrKeiows wrote:
johnbock wrote:
Looking at the kernel configuration for ls wsgl (mini) that the rx (mpp16) / tx (mpp 17) pins are configured for other purposes: BIT_USB_PWR, BIT_AUTO_POWER respectively.

Should I try with a new cable, or it won't work out either?


I don't really know yet. This evening I will take a few measurements and eventually try these pins.

_________________
LS-WSGL/R1 Linkstation Mini (stock, not for long...)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2008 7:19 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2008 11:16 am
Posts: 34
Location: Somewhere over the hill
johnbock wrote:
Code:
BIT_USB_PWR        -> MVPG3[01] pin 10(?) (shutdown)
BIT_AUTO_POWER -> switch position 2



BIT_USB_PWR goes to the ap1212 an usb power switch and pin 1 is controlled by the processor.

_________________
LS-WSGL/R1 Linkstation Mini (stock, not for long...)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2008 9:23 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2008 11:16 am
Posts: 34
Location: Somewhere over the hill
I wasn't able to get the console working. I guess it's gonna take someone better as myself...

_________________
LS-WSGL/R1 Linkstation Mini (stock, not for long...)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 6:42 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2008 11:16 am
Posts: 34
Location: Somewhere over the hill
Anybody have any ideas???? Please!!

_________________
LS-WSGL/R1 Linkstation Mini (stock, not for long...)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 7:06 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 1:15 am
Posts: 2606
I emailed yasunari at yamasita.jp about this and unfortunately he doesn't have a LS Mini, so unfortunately that is a dead end (unless he picks one up or hears from someone else...)

I will keep my eyes open, though...

_________________
LS1 (foonas, nfs, Tranmission & p910nd print server, Firefly for my Roku)
LS-HG500 (Lenny)
Various LS-Pros v1,v2 (unbricked w/ serial & jtag)
KuroPro, LS2 & KuroHG (foonas)
Working on davysweather.dyndns.org lately...

=> wooohooo!
wooohooo!
Unknown command 'wooohooo!' - try 'help'


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 8:10 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2008 11:16 am
Posts: 34
Location: Somewhere over the hill
Cool thanks bud!

Is there any way to disassemble the boot image with mkimage, perhaps a few uboot cmds embedded in an uImage would help?

_________________
LS-WSGL/R1 Linkstation Mini (stock, not for long...)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2008 4:34 pm 
Offline
Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 3:23 pm
Posts: 160
Location: Kobe, Japan
davy_gravy wrote:
I emailed yasunari at yamasita.jp about this and unfortunately he doesn't have a LS Mini

I could mail him mine, if he would return it after all (I live in Japan).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2008 4:46 pm 
Offline
Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 3:23 pm
Posts: 160
Location: Kobe, Japan
johnbock wrote:
Anybody have any ideas???? Please!!

Can you check voltage on TXD? There must be Can you check voltage on TXD? 3.3V.

My does not have any on both contacts.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group