Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Fri Nov 17, 2017 11:49 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 78 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2007 5:18 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 2:37 am
Posts: 1652
Location: United States of America
Yeah, that's the guide. :-)

Sure, it could be an actual updater package; no one bothered to make one, that's all.

_________________
http://www.opifer.net


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:02 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 5:00 pm
Posts: 1029
Location: Ottawa, Canada
which is why freelink wasn't so popular on LS2 before it was made into
an updater package.
cool, thanks for the info !


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 11:04 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 10:05 am
Posts: 39
Location: Japan
mindbender wrote:
is there anything you are interested in gvd?


Thx, mindbender. I think I will use the LS-LGL as replacement for the USB drive that crashed a couple of days ago. I have originally bought the LS-LGL to evaluate it for a AMP setup for someone else. The LS-LGL won't do it but this way now I can make some good use as replacement.

I have managed to hack the smb.conf file in the box to change the workgroup name from "workgroup" to my own. I have also managed to have the box synchronize its clock with ntp. I think it won't be hard to set up a few shares and get proper user/password access to the shares.

The only thing which I haven't got changed yet is the hostname. The box uses a fixed hostname 'ls-lgl' with the last three digits of the mac address. It is hard-coded into /etc/init.d/sethostname.sh. This script is replaced after each reboot, overwriting any hostname I have set before.

I haven't looked into it yet but can you give me a pointer where I can replace the script to get it back working the way it works on other linkstations reading the hostname from the /etc/melco/info file? I'd really appreciate it.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 3:25 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7703
Location: Austria, Vienna
test if this busybox works on your box.

http://buffalo.nas-central.org/download/Up ... es/busybox

just download it, chmod 777 it and execute it. if it works then you can easily start a small webserver...the built-in httpd can even execute some cgi-scripts.

then you automatically have wget available...and you can download big direct downloads via
wget <downloadlink>
from the internet.....

both together would allow
http://irodov.nm.ru/wget4web/

....then you could at least use the thing as a direct download machine....and you can pass links via the webinterface.

in case wget isn`t included, in this tarball the full version is included :
http://buffalo.nas-central.org/download/Up ... addons.tar

_________________
LS1 (2.6 kernel, foonas svn1062, 750 GB, UBoot 1.2) & LS Pro (FreeLink/jtymod/GenLink, changes all the time)
Thx to all donators!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Sep 02, 2007 10:07 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 10:05 am
Posts: 39
Location: Japan
Thx, mindbender.

I think I won't modify the LS-LGL much more. The only thing that is important for me at the moment is to learn how to replace the scripts on the box. During boot it replaces the scripts in /etc/init.d/ and elsewhere. I have to modify at least the sethostname.sh to set a different hostname. I don't need a webserver on the box. It will serve as NAS and I am happy with configuring the samba server through the smb.conf file...

I will just get another Linkstation for my little AMP server which I have to setup for someone else. BTW, which Linkstation (or Kurobox) is best suited for a Apache, MySQL, PHP, file server box at the moment?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Sep 02, 2007 1:30 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 5:00 pm
Posts: 1029
Location: Ottawa, Canada
gvd,

i you wish to use MySQL, then go with the latest Linkstation with the best CPU and RAM.
MySQL is a bit slow on my Linkstation HG, so I suggest you go with a Linkstation Pro or Kurobox Pro,
which are CPU (400MHz) and RAM (128M) equivalents, although, to be confirmed,
the Kurobox Pro might be a 500Mhz vs a 400MHz LS Pro; something is unclear in the specs here.
http://www.kurobox.com/mwiki/index.php/KuroBoxPro
in a table it says:
CPU Type Marvell 88F5182 (400MHz)
CPU Speed 400MHZ
then later states:
One point of interest is the CPU clock @ 500Mhz

...probably just a case of us needing to fix a Wiki, or Buffalo using a 400MHz CPU overclocked to 500.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Sep 02, 2007 1:55 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7703
Location: Austria, Vienna
i think it only has 400 MHz.

we need to benchmark a little...there isn`t enough info about the real speed of the Kurobox pro available here:

http://buffalo.nas-central.org/index.php/Benchmarks

someone wants to benchmark the kuropro?

_________________
LS1 (2.6 kernel, foonas svn1062, 750 GB, UBoot 1.2) & LS Pro (FreeLink/jtymod/GenLink, changes all the time)
Thx to all donators!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Sep 02, 2007 8:40 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 9:20 pm
Posts: 366
Location: Chicago USA
it seems sylver has done at least one benchmark with comparable results to the LSPro.
viewtopic.php?p=37089#p37089

_________________
1 LS-GL: (FreeLink - 2.6.22 kernel)- backup and media server...
As of June 11, 2010:
admin@LS320:~$ uptime
20:23:40 up 417 days, 20:09, 1 user, load average: 0.20, 0.21, 0.30

That's only because I had to move that time ago. Love this box and this community, wish I had more time to dedicate to it.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2007 12:23 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 11:26 am
Posts: 3701
Location: JAPAN
See my posting I made some time ago on this:-

viewtopic.php?f=39&t=1968&p=35302&hilit=nbench#p35302

Here you can see both LS-PRO and KuroPRO nBench results.

_________________
LS used as PVR and streaming source


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2007 1:02 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7703
Location: Austria, Vienna
unfortunately these benchmarks cannot be compared to the ones made on the other boxes.

i posted it to the other thread....

_________________
LS1 (2.6 kernel, foonas svn1062, 750 GB, UBoot 1.2) & LS Pro (FreeLink/jtymod/GenLink, changes all the time)
Thx to all donators!


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2008 3:41 pm 
Offline
Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 7:08 am
Posts: 95
Location: Munich
ramuk wrote:
gvd wrote:
For the MRP in Japan see http://buffalo.jp/products/catalog/storage/hd_lan.html.

In the shops it is cheaper. You get a LS-L250GL for 19800 Yen and a LS-250GL for 26800 Yen at http://www.yodobashi.com. The shop in Akihabara will be cheaper.


How many of these new things are there?!?:

New Tera in rack mount format:
but up to 4TB storage.. maybe different hardware??
http://buffalo.jp/products/catalog/stor ... index.html

New ??? I think it's a SAN device also with USB access (NDAS??)
http://buffalo.jp/products/catalog/item ... index.html


Hi Folks

please note, that HD-HBGLU will never be available outside Japan. LS-LGL is a lowcost version of LS-GL, at the moment only available in UK.
Rackmount-TeraStation will be available all over Europe in some weeks... if somebody want to take about during CeBIT in Hannover, please send me a PM ;)

Cheers
Joergl


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2008 4:01 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 10:05 am
Posts: 39
Location: Japan
joergl wrote:
please note, that HD-HBGLU will never be available outside Japan. LS-LGL is a lowcost version of LS-GL, at the moment only available in UK.

The HD-HBGLU is end of sales.
The LS-LGL is available as LS EZ in the U.S.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2008 5:20 pm 
Offline
Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 7:08 am
Posts: 95
Location: Munich
Hi gvd

sorry, I was not exact enough: LS-LGL in Europe is available only in UK, but not in Central Europe. In US seems to be available.

Cheers
Joerg


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2008 8:59 pm 
Offline
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2007 5:10 am
Posts: 46
Location: Tempe, Arizona
Hi gvd,

I couldn't see any SDRAM ICs on the mainboard (after looking at your photos). Do you think that the Marvell processor uses embedded DRAM (which would explain the small system memory size)? There are many pins needed for an external SDRAM interface, and Marvell could make a much smaller die by eliminating that interface (even though they add the eDRAM).

I was looking at the smallnetbuilder website, and it had the linkstation EZ performance as very poor.
http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/component/option,com_nas/Itemid,190/chart,13/

I also checked out the LS-LGL's popularity on kakaku.com, and they rate it very high.
http://kakaku.com/item/05384012684/

I guess people in Japan aren't interested in using their linkstations for downloading torrents... is that because bandwidth is so high that they can use their PC, and download the torrent very quickly?

Sorry for all the questions, I'm trying to understand why this product would be more popular that the LS-GLs.

_________________
LS Pro (1.11-1a, JTAG flashed, serial port added, Freeagent backup)


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2008 11:24 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 10:05 am
Posts: 39
Location: Japan
I don't know about the SDRAM. I guess it is integrated.

I also don't think people here download many torrents. ADSL is at 50Mbit/s and I think many people now opt for FTTH with effectively 90MBit/s. Download speeds in Japan are extremely fast. You have PTV, ODTV, IP phone, etc. through the fiber. Routers are included if you use any of those additional services. The LGL is very small and cheap and shares between multiple computers...

But that's only my guessing...


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 78 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited