Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Sun Nov 19, 2017 6:48 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 78 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 7:02 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 5:00 pm
Posts: 1029
Location: Ottawa, Canada
allright thanks all, and mindbender i apologize i didn't notice you had posted _both_ .
LGL CPU doesn't look bad.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 7:19 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 5:00 pm
Posts: 1029
Location: Ottawa, Canada
http://opensource.buffalo.jp/

looks like it contains the LGL source code already :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 12:41 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7703
Location: Austria, Vienna
true.

funny that it uses a newer samba than all other devices by buffalo:
http://opensource.buffalo.jp/ls-lgl-100.html

it uses 3.0.24 compared to 3.0.21c.....

hmm.....what about if you really only want to use the box as a NAS?
i just checked with foonas SVN 794 on my LS1.....when transferring with about 6 MB/Sec via samba i have a load of 41 % CPU (200 MHz PPC) and 5 % Memory (64 MB).

the CPU is not the problem as my LS1 CPU is inferior to the one in the LS-LGL i think....

5 % of 64 MB means 3.2 MB. but this is only one smbd process...and there are several always.

but i just restarted my svn794 again....it uses 28 MB constantly...

it would mean that the box runs permanently in swap.
i personally think it does already with the stock firmware.

the only way to might get some more performance out of this box would be to stop samba and get nfs running instead...it does not have that overhead....there is so few memory, i ask myself if they run the OS maybe straight from a initrd instead from /dev/sda2?

_________________
LS1 (2.6 kernel, foonas svn1062, 750 GB, UBoot 1.2) & LS Pro (FreeLink/jtymod/GenLink, changes all the time)
Thx to all donators!


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 3:06 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 5:00 pm
Posts: 1029
Location: Ottawa, Canada
We should add the LGL to the LinkStation Variants page seen inside the front Wiki page.
(having trouble finding how...)
Also, we could probably merge some table comparisons of all Linkstations together.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 3:21 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 10:05 am
Posts: 39
Location: Japan
I think they have managed to get it running without a lot of swapping:

Code:
~ # cat /proc/meminfo
MemTotal:        13632 kB
MemFree:           796 kB
Buffers:          1232 kB
Cached:           4788 kB
SwapCached:          0 kB
Active:           7776 kB
Inactive:         1768 kB
HighTotal:           0 kB
HighFree:            0 kB
LowTotal:        13632 kB
LowFree:           796 kB
SwapTotal:      136512 kB
SwapFree:       136484 kB
Dirty:               8 kB
Writeback:           0 kB
Mapped:           7268 kB
Slab:             2036 kB
CommitLimit:    143328 kB
Committed_AS:    22072 kB
PageTables:        320 kB
VmallocTotal:   491520 kB
VmallocUsed:       464 kB
VmallocChunk:   491056 kB


I have not used the drive that much but even with several connections from several computers at a time the amount of free memory remains about the same.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 3:26 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 5:00 pm
Posts: 1029
Location: Ottawa, Canada
i'm sure there's a way to configure samba for lower memory usage...
which is likely what they did. Plus use busybox...


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 12:50 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7703
Location: Austria, Vienna
think so too.

that would let me think of a smaller build of foonas....the only thing that i do not like is that it has very few memory.....at start i thought about putting the complete system on a initrd....but the inird needs to be mounted so it can be used...which of course eats up memory. so we have to go the harddrive way.

we need to add it to the main page...thats for sure.

can anyone tell me: how much is an LS-LGL compared to an LS-GL?

_________________
LS1 (2.6 kernel, foonas svn1062, 750 GB, UBoot 1.2) & LS Pro (FreeLink/jtymod/GenLink, changes all the time)
Thx to all donators!


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 1:29 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 10:05 am
Posts: 39
Location: Japan
For the MRP in Japan see http://buffalo.jp/products/catalog/storage/hd_lan.html.

In the shops it is cheaper. You get a LS-L250GL for 19800 Yen and a LS-250GL for 26800 Yen at http://www.yodobashi.com. The shop in Akihabara will be cheaper.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:55 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 1:33 pm
Posts: 1082
Location: United States of America
gvd wrote:
For the MRP in Japan see http://buffalo.jp/products/catalog/storage/hd_lan.html.

In the shops it is cheaper. You get a LS-L250GL for 19800 Yen and a LS-250GL for 26800 Yen at http://www.yodobashi.com. The shop in Akihabara will be cheaper.


How many of these new things are there?!?:

New Tera in rack mount format:
but up to 4TB storage.. maybe different hardware??
http://buffalo.jp/products/catalog/stor ... index.html

New ??? I think it's a SAN device also with USB access (NDAS??)
http://buffalo.jp/products/catalog/item ... index.html

_________________
-Ramuk

LinkStation HG *250 Uboot - Foonas-EM - Freelink
Kuro HG *750 Uboot - Foonas-EM - Debian Squeeze
Kuro HD *60 Uboot - Foonas-EM - Debian Squeeze (For Sale)
KuroPro *2TB Debian Lenny Armel- Kernel 2.6.26
KuroPro *1TB Debian Lenny Armel- Kernel 2.6.25.6


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Aug 23, 2007 10:43 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 10:05 am
Posts: 39
Location: Japan
There is now a firmware upgrade available for the LS-LGL at http://buffalo.jp/download/driver/hd/ls-lgl_fw.html


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 12:36 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7703
Location: Austria, Vienna
cool!

looking into it!

it is quite small...27.8 mb is about half the size compared to all other firmware updates.

_________________
LS1 (2.6 kernel, foonas svn1062, 750 GB, UBoot 1.2) & LS Pro (FreeLink/jtymod/GenLink, changes all the time)
Thx to all donators!


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 1:02 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7703
Location: Austria, Vienna
debug mode works as well with the japanese updater.

just add
Code:
[SpecialFlags]  
Debug = 1


and you can select a different option if you left click on the top left icon in the window.

then i looked at the rootfs....it seems as if it has the same bootup mechanism as the other arm9-boxes...uboot which loads an initrd and then the rootfs....and i saw this rootfs_ok fils there as well.

to be honest....16 MB RAM is crap. really. i ask myself what these japanes guys thought when building this.

12 are left for userspace apps....rest is most likely used by the kernel itself?

anyway.

so what could be possible?

i think it would be possible to at least add NFS-support...and you could install wget...we could replace busybox.....then start the built-in webserver so we can install wget4web ( http://irodov.nm.ru/wget4web/screen.htm )

then this box could be used at least for downloading normal files...from the usenet or just big files..

is there anything you are interested in gvd?

_________________
LS1 (2.6 kernel, foonas svn1062, 750 GB, UBoot 1.2) & LS Pro (FreeLink/jtymod/GenLink, changes all the time)
Thx to all donators!


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 2:56 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 5:00 pm
Posts: 1029
Location: Ottawa, Canada
cost... that's what they were thinking...
From a cheap to mid to highly expensive box, they'll cater to more markets.
Normal users who don't hack their boxes and wish limited functionality will likely be happy
with the savings. We're not.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 7:51 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 2:37 am
Posts: 1652
Location: United States of America
A few asides here (in response to some postings in this thread):

First, the best way usually to determine the clock speed is to just access the uboot console. The kuro pro however seems to have a bug, as it is not a feroceon 500 Mhz processor, but rather a 400 Mhz (according to the spec sheet).

As for mysql, flavoie, you might want to consider debootstrapping ubuntu. I don't have specs available yet, but mysql appears to be running a lot smoother on my LS HG.

_________________
http://www.opifer.net


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2007 5:41 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 5:00 pm
Posts: 1029
Location: Ottawa, Canada
jonli447, is this "debootstrapping ubuntu" on the HG covered only here ?
http://buffalo.nas-central.org/index.php/Ub ... tion_guide

You know how mediawiki search is not so great, so i am curious why/how
ubuntu can't just be provided as a package using the firmware updater.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 78 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited