Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Sun Nov 19, 2017 7:02 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 78 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jul 29, 2007 3:56 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7703
Location: Austria, Vienna
you are definitely right....

compared to my LS Pro:
Code:
root@LS-PRO:~# cat /proc/meminfo
MemTotal:       125844 kB
MemFree:         77248 kB
...


and you have only a little more than 13 MB...compared to 122 on the LS Pro....

but, you wanted to install freelink/debian on the box....i personally think that the lack of memory really does not allow to run some more apps than samba(windows-shares), netatalk (apple-shares), nfs. the webinterface of all other arm9-devices use apache...i think that it would use too much memory...thats why they only distributed it as a simple NAS without anything else.

but you still could use the arm9-FreeLink on your disk maybe...the question is if they changed the initrd much....

_________________
LS1 (2.6 kernel, foonas svn1062, 750 GB, UBoot 1.2) & LS Pro (FreeLink/jtymod/GenLink, changes all the time)
Thx to all donators!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Aug 11, 2007 7:46 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 10:05 am
Posts: 39
Location: Japan
O.K. I have finally disassembled the whole thing except for the board for the power. I don't really think this thing is made to be disassembled. The plastic covers are clipped together and when you try to open them, even very carefully, they bend quickly...

Anyway, here are all the pictures at http://www.flickr.com/gp/10600043@N08/Eh05j2.

The mainboard:

Image
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Aug 11, 2007 1:22 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7703
Location: Austria, Vienna
wow, very minimal board.

thx for the pics.

16 MB really isn`t much. i wonder how samba has enough memory.

jtymod/freelink are no options for you. they would take your box into permanent swap.

i recommend you to connect the LS-LGL disk to your workstation and to make images(norton ghost, acronis trueimage) of /dev/sda1 and /dev/sda2...then you will be able to recover the box easily if you mess up something.

for example you could upgrade busybox.....busybox is a binary which implements functions of many other apps in a small single binary (busybox.net).

do this:
1) download
http://buffalo.nas-central.org/download/Up ... addons.tar
and move it to your share (from workstation)
2) use acp_commander to spawn telnet
3) connect via telnet
4) cd /mnt/disk1
5) tar -C / -xzvf addons.tar
now your box should be able to download from the internet itself. wget is the command for downloading.

A6) wget http://buffalo.nas-central.org/download/Up ... es/busybox
A7) chmod 755 busybox
A8) ./busybox

B6) wget http://buffalo.nas-central.org/download/Up ... s/ctorrent
B7) chmod 755 ctorrent
B8) ./ctorrent

post the output here then. if it works you could use your box at least for some little webserving (httpd is built in into busybox) and torrentdownloading.....or if it isn`t built in we can simply build it on our ls pros for you.

_________________
LS1 (2.6 kernel, foonas svn1062, 750 GB, UBoot 1.2) & LS Pro (FreeLink/jtymod/GenLink, changes all the time)
Thx to all donators!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Aug 11, 2007 3:18 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 10:05 am
Posts: 39
Location: Japan
It is not only a minimal board. It runs pretty slow. Runs at the edge of memory. Can only be configured through NAS navigator. You can change the IP address and the password and set a password for the shared folder. You cannot change the hostname, workgroup name. You have a single share. That's it.

I suppose I will just hack the samba server to give it a proper host name, workgroup and user control. As just one of my USB drives died I use it as replacement. I'll see how fast it transfers data.

That thing definitively won't do what I have intended to do: run a little VPN/AMP/Samba server...


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Aug 11, 2007 3:21 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7703
Location: Austria, Vienna
yeah...you bought the cut down version unfortunately.

the LS-GL would have been the right thing.

_________________
LS1 (2.6 kernel, foonas svn1062, 750 GB, UBoot 1.2) & LS Pro (FreeLink/jtymod/GenLink, changes all the time)
Thx to all donators!


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2007 4:58 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 5:00 pm
Posts: 1029
Location: Ottawa, Canada
well the swap is available...

I can see this working for a person wanting a single server on the box,
like samba, or lighttpd, or slimserver, assuming those are not too slow
when using swap from time to time.

Actually, a lot of people run a box just for slimserver.
I wonder it memory usage is low enough for this box.

Could you figure out the clock speed of the Arm9 ?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2007 7:09 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 4:45 pm
Posts: 105
Location: United States of America
Unless it has a faster clock or more memory than the LSPro slimserver is going to be hard for that box the LSPro will do slimserver however the web interface is very slow and slimserver is a memory hog the mysql that is required is pretty resource hungry.

_________________
Shadowtester
Linkstation Pro Betatester willing to try pretty much anything and not bright enough to know how dangerous it really is :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Aug 14, 2007 4:57 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 5:00 pm
Posts: 1029
Location: Ottawa, Canada
It shows that I truly don't know slimserver :)

mysql is terrible on my LS HG... 35% CPU just for it,
gallery web interface for photo albums slow...
still haven't moved my photos to the LS because of it.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Aug 14, 2007 9:31 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7703
Location: Austria, Vienna
anyway...i will also ask for the GPL-sources of the LS-LGL. its based on linux...thats what we know after the acp_commander test.

here again both outputs of /proc/cpuinfo.

Code:
LS Pro:
root@LS-PRO:~# cat /proc/cpuinfo
Processor       : ARM926EJ-Sid(wb) rev 0 (v5l)
BogoMIPS        : 266.24
Features        : swp half thumb fastmult edsp java
CPU implementer : 0x41
CPU architecture: 5TEJ
CPU variant     : 0x0
CPU part        : 0x926
CPU revision    : 0
Cache type      : write-back
Cache clean     : cp15 c7 ops
Cache lockdown  : format C
Cache format    : Harvard
I size          : 32768
I assoc         : 1
I line length   : 32
I sets          : 1024
D size          : 32768
D assoc         : 1
D line length   : 32
D sets          : 1024

Hardware        : MV-88fxx81
Revision        : 0000
Serial          : 0000000000000000


Code:
LS LGL:
/ # cat /proc/cpuinfo
Processor       : ARM926EJ-Sid(wb) rev 0 (v5l)
BogoMIPS        : 219.54
Features        : swp half thumb fastmult
CPU implementer : 0x41
CPU architecture: 5TEJ
CPU variant     : 0x0
CPU part        : 0x926
CPU revision    : 0
Cache type      : write-back
Cache clean     : cp15 c7 ops
Cache lockdown  : format C
Cache format    : Harvard
I size          : 16384
I assoc         : 1
I line length   : 32
I sets          : 512
D size          : 16384
D assoc         : 1
D line length   : 32
D sets          : 512

Hardware        : Feroceon
Revision        : 0000
Serial          : 0000000000000000


whats that I +D stuff in the end? is this the cache size?
if yes then the LS-LGL CPU also has a smaller cache..it is only half as big as the LS pro one.......and the CPU itself is a little slower.

_________________
LS1 (2.6 kernel, foonas svn1062, 750 GB, UBoot 1.2) & LS Pro (FreeLink/jtymod/GenLink, changes all the time)
Thx to all donators!


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Aug 14, 2007 4:09 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 5:00 pm
Posts: 1029
Location: Ottawa, Canada
How could you tell the clock speed ?
I don't think BogoMIPS tells us exactly what clock speed it's using,
although we can compare this value with the LS Pro (what is it ?)


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Aug 14, 2007 4:22 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7703
Location: Austria, Vienna
the LS Pro is expected to have a clockspeed of 400 MHz.

the one in the LS LGL at least appears to be slower.

_________________
LS1 (2.6 kernel, foonas svn1062, 750 GB, UBoot 1.2) & LS Pro (FreeLink/jtymod/GenLink, changes all the time)
Thx to all donators!


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Aug 14, 2007 6:13 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 5:00 pm
Posts: 1029
Location: Ottawa, Canada
showing the BogoMIPS from the LS Pro's
cat /proc/cpuinfo
would be a fair comparison... but i don't have a LS Pro.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Aug 14, 2007 6:32 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 10:40 am
Posts: 434
Location: Scotland
flavoie wrote:
showing the BogoMIPS from the LS Pro's

Code:
root@LS-250GL:~# cat /proc/cpuinfo 
Processor       : ARM926EJ-Sid(wb) rev 0 (v5l)
BogoMIPS        : 266.24
Features        : swp half thumb fastmult edsp java
CPU implementer : 0x41
CPU architecture: 5TEJ
CPU variant     : 0x0
CPU part        : 0x926
CPU revision    : 0
Cache type      : write-back
Cache clean     : cp15 c7 ops
Cache lockdown  : format C
Cache format    : Harvard
I size          : 32768
I assoc         : 1
I line length   : 32
I sets          : 1024
D size          : 32768
D assoc         : 1
D line length   : 32
D sets          : 1024

Hardware        : MV-88fxx81
Revision        : 0000
Serial          : 0000000000000000


Also here http://buffalo.nas-central.org/index.ph ... #Bogo_Mips

_________________
LS-500GL - Diskless
LS-250GL - Armel, U-Boot NC Enabled
HS-DH320GL - Stock 1.11_1a
LS-H120LAN(PPC) - Dev (foonas)
LS-H120LAN(PPC) - Freelink - 2.6.23.8
LS-H250LAN(MIPS) - Dev (foonas-em, foonas)
LS-HS400DGL(PPC) - Freelink
Thecus N1200 - Ubuntu 8.10


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Aug 14, 2007 6:40 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7703
Location: Austria, Vienna
look at the posting above from 14 Aug 2007 08:31 ....

i already posted both outputs....

_________________
LS1 (2.6 kernel, foonas svn1062, 750 GB, UBoot 1.2) & LS Pro (FreeLink/jtymod/GenLink, changes all the time)
Thx to all donators!


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 2:04 am 
Offline
Total Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 4:07 am
Posts: 2
A comparison to the KB PRO might be helpful. I fired up my new KB PRO with serial console to see the following UBoot verbosity:
Code:
Orion1   CPU =  Low

=== KURO U-Boot. ===
 ** LOADER **
 ** KUROBOX BOARD: KURO_BOX  LE (CFG_ENV_ADDR=fffff000)

U-Boot 1.1.1 (Apr 10 2007 - 18:10:08) Marvell version: 1.12.1 - TINY

Soc: 88F5182 A2
CPU: ARM926 (Rev 0) running @ 500Mhz
Orion 1 streaming disabled
SysClock = 250Mhz , TClock = 166Mhz
<snip>

The interesting part is the 500Mhz CPU clock. After bootup completes, cpuinfo shows the corresponding BogoMIPS:
Code:
~ # cat /proc/cpuinfo
Processor       : ARM926EJ-Sid(wb) rev 0 (v5l)
BogoMIPS        : 266.24
Features        : swp half thumb fastmult
CPU implementer : 0x41
CPU architecture: 5TEJ
CPU variant     : 0x0
CPU part        : 0x926
CPU revision    : 0
Cache type      : write-back
Cache clean     : cp15 c7 ops
Cache lockdown  : format C
Cache format    : Harvard
I size          : 32768
I assoc         : 1
I line length   : 32
I sets          : 1024
D size          : 32768
D assoc         : 1
D line length   : 32
D sets          : 1024

Hardware        : MV-88fxx81
Revision        : 0000
Serial          : 0000000000000000

If the 500Mhz clock listing is correct, then the its equivalant is 266 BogoMIPS.

The odd part is that all KB PRO literature says that it runs at 400Mhz.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 78 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited