Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Sun Nov 19, 2017 6:48 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Dropbear on LS-LGL
PostPosted: Sun Mar 15, 2009 7:10 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 1:18 am
Posts: 5
Hello all, I'm new to the forum. I picked up a handful of LS-L320GL units at the Circuit City liquidation and am hoping to turn them in to an AoE (ATA over Ethernet - aka vblade) SAN. FWIW, I did get vblade running and got around 9MBps throughput in an informal test w/ a 100Mbps LAN connection.

So now my question...

I installed the optware package and then installed dropbear (from ipkg.nslu2-linux.org/feeds/optware/cs05q3armel/cross/stable/). First problem was that the install failed because it could not open the random device (apparently it uses urandom, which is missing on my LS-LGL.) I corrected that with a "mkdev /dev/urandom c: 1 9" and then regenerated the keys. Dropbear now seems to work, but won't let me log in. I keep getting a "bad password attempt" error. I have changed the root password and confirmed it (I can log in just fine via telnetd). I also tried adding a regular (non-root) account and I get the same "bad password attempt" error when I try to log in with that. Anyone have any ideas?

Thanks in advance!

Edit: Forgot to mention - I installed openSSH and that works OK (not sure if it needed the urandom patch or not). The problem is that openSSH uses a lot of memory. I'd prefer dropbear or another ssh server with a small footprint.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Dropbear on LS-LGL
PostPosted: Mon Mar 16, 2009 4:14 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 1:18 am
Posts: 5
I may have found the issue. I believe that dropbear was not complied with support for /etc/shadow. I tested this by blanking the password field in /etc/passwd and then noting that dropbear issued a warning regarding the blank password (the same warning was not issued with a blank password in /etc/shadow).

I'll post over in the optware ARM9 thread (viewtopic.php?f=19&t=4075) and see if a fix is available.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Dropbear on LS-LGL
PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2009 6:16 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 1:18 am
Posts: 5
Just to close the loop on this... I repackaged dropbear with support for /etc/shadow and also addressed /dev/urandom in the config script. Dropbear now works out of the box on the LS-LGL. Many thanks to Brian Z. for guidance along the way.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Dropbear on LS-LGL
PostPosted: Mon Mar 22, 2010 12:12 am 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 12:07 am
Posts: 1
hi!

Just wanted to ask you which version of dropbear you have installed on LS-LGL, I have a 320 gb one, and I wish to install this as well. I am a newbie to NAS and I am frustrated by the limited options on the NAS Navigator.

Could you please direct me in the right direction, what I am looking for is ability to write to it remotely and hopefully write stuff to it without me having to leave a dedicated computer switched on.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited