Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 8:09 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Feb 25, 2009 8:03 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 5:45 pm
Posts: 15
I have written a guide for this here: viewtopic.php?f=52&t=15741

Hi, I recently bought a Linkstation EZ 320GB (LS-L320GL) from CircuitCity for a very low price.

I wanted a basic network drive so that's why I got it. Then I wondered if my xbox360 could recognize it in the network and I could stream movies from the LS to the xbox360. But it doesn't recognize it out of the box.

I've done a lot of searching and browsing through forums (this and others) and I can't find specifics.

(I'm new at all this so bear with me please)
From my understanding, the LS-LGL runs Linux and there are some modifications that can be done to it. Also, I understand there is software like Twonky, uShare (??), Firefly (??), that can enable media sharing with the xbox360.

I have seen some tutorials but they all refer to the Linkstation Live/Pro and I understand the EZ (LS-LGL) has significantly less RAM.

Can I do anything to my LS-LGL to stream movies to the xbox360 without having to have a computer on?

If so, pointing me towards the right direction would help a lot. I've seen this asked before but nothing was clear and I would get confused whether it was LS Pro/Live only or it also worked with the LS-LGL.

Thanks[quote][/quote]


Last edited by Bernok on Wed Mar 04, 2009 8:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2009 3:21 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 5:45 pm
Posts: 15
I managed to use acp_commander and access the LS-LGL via telnet.

I also disabled the annoying trashbox and modified the configure function inside /etc/init.d/smb.sh.

I read about some people installing uShare into the LS Live/Pro, does this also work for the LS-LGL?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 02, 2009 10:49 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 1:15 am
Posts: 2606
I'm thinking that someone (monsta?) experimented w/ bootstrapping one of these units and installing items from the Optware feed... you might want to see the Optware feed thread and see if you can find mention of that. If I remember correctly there may have been some workarounds needed for the optware feed on these boxes... read and proceed w/ caution, of course.

AFAIK, ushare should be in the optware feed... I currently run ushare 1.1a, but it is compiled by Bitbake, not from the Optware feed, so I can't vouch for that particular package.

_________________
LS1 (foonas, nfs, Tranmission & p910nd print server, Firefly for my Roku)
LS-HG500 (Lenny)
Various LS-Pros v1,v2 (unbricked w/ serial & jtag)
KuroPro, LS2 & KuroHG (foonas)
Working on davysweather.dyndns.org lately...

=> wooohooo!
wooohooo!
Unknown command 'wooohooo!' - try 'help'


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 02, 2009 11:29 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2006 12:20 pm
Posts: 48
Location: United Kingdom (Great Britain)
Bernok wrote:
I managed to use acp_commander and access the LS-LGL via telnet.

I also disabled the annoying trashbox and modified the configure function inside /etc/init.d/smb.sh.

I read about some people installing uShare into the LS Live/Pro, does this also work for the LS-LGL?


Hi,

could you explain a bit more in detail what you did?
I found the Trashbox on my Drive as well and it got quite a lot of Data in it were I am unsure if I can delete it

_________________
Try out my Dbox Helpfile
You find it HERE


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 02, 2009 5:22 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 5:45 pm
Posts: 15
davy_gravy wrote:
AFAIK, ushare should be in the optware feed... I currently run ushare 1.1a, but it is compiled by Bitbake, not from the Optware feed, so I can't vouch for that particular package.


I bootstrapped the unit. I put Optware in it and I was able to install ushare 1.1a as well. However, after configuring the file a couple of times it would not show up in my xbox360.

I could see the Media Unit in my network from my Windows Vista computer. But when I tried to access the files through windows media player it would show it as empty, "No media found".

I will post exactly what I did once I get home.

UPDATE:

This is what I did so far:
1) Spawn telnet using acp_commander
Code:
java -jar acp_commander.jar -t xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx -o

2)Access via telnet
Code:
telnet xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx

3)Downloaded http://buffalo.nas-central.org/download ... addons.tar into /share and typed
Code:
tar -C / -xzvf /mnt/disk1/share/addons.tar

4) Fixed a DNS issue in the LS-LGL (I never had an issue but did it anyway, I'm also not sure what this does if anyone can explain to me I would appreciate it.)
Code:
echo "hosts: files dns" >/etc/nsswitch.conf

5) Bootstrapped
Code:
mkdir /mnt/disk1/tmp
cd /mnt/disk1/tmp
wget http://ipkg.nslu2-linux.org/feeds/optware/cs05q3armel/cross/stable/lspro-bootstrap_1.2-5_arm.xsh
sh lspro-bootstrap_1.2-5_arm.xsh

6) Exited telnet, and re-entered.
7) updated
Code:
ipkg update
ipkg upgrade

8) Installed ushare
Code:
ipkg install ushare

9) Configured ushare
Code:
vi /opt/etc/ushare.conf

configured to look like this
Code:
# /etc/ushare.conf
# Configuration file for uShare

# uShare UPnP Friendly Name (default is 'uShare').
USHARE_NAME=uShare

# Interface to listen to (default is eth0).
# Ex : USHARE_IFACE=eth1
USHARE_IFACE=eth0

# Port to listen to (default is random from IANA Dynamic Ports range)
# Ex : USHARE_PORT=49200
USHARE_PORT=49200

# Port to listen for Telnet connections
# Ex : USHARE_TELNET_PORT=1337
USHARE_TELNET_PORT=1337

# Directories to be shared (space or CSV list).
# Ex: USHARE_DIR=/dir1,/dir2
USHARE_DIR=/mnt/disk1/share/Videos

# Use to override what happens when iconv fails to parse a file name.
# The default uShare behaviour is to not add the entry in the media list
# This option overrides that behaviour and adds the non-iconv'ed string into
# the media list, with the assumption that the renderer will be able to
# handle it. Devices like Noxon 2 have no problem with strings being passed
# as is. (Umlauts for all!)
#
# Options are TRUE/YES/1 for override and anything else for default behaviour
USHARE_OVERRIDE_ICONV_ERR=yes

# Enable Web interface (yes/no)
ENABLE_WEB=yes

# Enable Telnet control interface (yes/no)
ENABLE_TELNET=no

# Use XboX 360 compatibility mode (yes/no)
ENABLE_XBOX=yes

# Use DLNA profile (yes/no)
# This is needed for PlayStation3 to work (among other devices)
ENABLE_DLNA=no

10) Also did (according to my network settings)
Code:
route add -net 192.168.1.0 netmask 255.255.255.0 eth0

11) Then I ran ushare by doing the following command
Code:
 /opt/etc/init.d/S99ushare start

I got a response saying something like "Starting ushare media server blah blah"

However, nothing would show up in my xbox. My computer was there but not the uShare.

Like I said earlier I could see the uShare media server under windows vista, but none of the files would show up.


Last edited by Bernok on Mon Mar 02, 2009 8:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 02, 2009 5:24 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 5:45 pm
Posts: 15
PTone wrote:
could you explain a bit more in detail what you did?
I found the Trashbox on my Drive as well and it got quite a lot of Data in it were I am unsure if I can delete it



You can delete the trashbox but I find it annoying having to delete everything twice, especially since these drives arent particularly fast.

When I get home I'll post here the steps i did to disable the trashbox.
Update:
1) Spawn telnet using acp_commander (need to disable firewall)
Code:
java -jar acp_commander.jar -t xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx -o

2)Access via telnet
Code:
telnet xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx

3)Edit smb.conf
Code:
vi /etc/samba/smb.conf

For the commands used by vi you can google "vi commands"
edit out the following lines. (put a # at the beginning of each line)
Code:
recycle:repository = trashbox
recycle:keeptree = 1
recycle:versions = 1
recycle:directory_mode = 777

4) restart samba
Code:
/etc/init.d/smb.sh restart


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 02, 2009 8:32 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 5:45 pm
Posts: 15
updated previous 2 posts


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2009 3:38 am 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 3:20 am
Posts: 4
Hello, I also got one at CC at a substantial discount! I could not pass it up... So far I replacement the 300gb with a 1tb hard drive and it seems to be working almost "out of the box" with my vista laptop and Popcorn hour media player. Mostly I just play .avi, divx and .mkv's for videos and they are doing fine.

BUT my next chore will be getting my Xbox 360 to work... If you don't mind I would like to tag along and see if we can get them to play nice?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 04, 2009 5:23 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 5:45 pm
Posts: 15
It works now. I had to modify a file for it to show up in the xbox. I will post a guide showing step by step how to make it work as soon as I get it to start automatically.

Can anyone help me figure out how to make ushare start up automatically everytime I turn on my NAS?

EDIT: Nevermind. apparently ushare starts by itself after installation.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 04, 2009 8:34 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 5:45 pm
Posts: 15
It's working now and ushare starts up automatically.


I wrote a guide on how to do it: viewtopic.php?f=52&t=15741


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited